Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: PRESIDENT BUHARI CALLS GOLDEN EAGLETS, EXHORTS THEM TO VICTORY AGAINST MALI

Saturday, November 07, 2015

PRESIDENT BUHARI CALLS GOLDEN EAGLETS, EXHORTS THEM TO VICTORY AGAINST MALI

For about 25 minutes on Saturday evening, President Muhammadu Buhari spoke with the Golden Eaglets and their officials, urging them to strive for victory tomorrow in the final of the Under-17 FIFA World Cup holding in Chile.

Nigeria first won the same tournament in China in 1985, when President Buhari was military head of state, and he urged the team to repeat the same feat tomorrow against Mali, to make it the fifth time Nigeria will win the trophy.
Starting with the head coach, Emmanuel Amuneke, President Buhari congratulated him for leading the team to the final, and then said:"Your victory tomorrow will remind Nigerians of what happened in China 30 years ago, and it will raise the morale of Nigerians, especially the youths. We're praying for you. We are anxiously waiting to receive the cup. Please put us on the world map of soccer again."

Speaking to Udoh Akpan, the goalkeeper, President Buhari said he was a very strategic member of the team, noting:"If you don't let in the goals, then none will be scored against us. We look forward to lifting the cup."

To John Lazarus, a defender, the President said, "don't allow anybody to penetrate the defense," while charging Tobechukwu Ibe, another defender to "rest well today, because a lot of Nigerians will be depending on you tomorrow."
To top striker, Victor Osimhen, who has scored 9 goals so far, President Buhari said:"Strike like thunder tomorrow. I believe you will bring us victory."

The captain of the team, Kelechi Nwakali, was charged to maintain his winning leadership , while Joel Osikel, a midfielder, was told by the President that he was "the jewel of the team," and challenged to contribute his quota towards victory.
Apart from the 21 players and head coach, President Buhari also had encouraging words for other members of the technical team, the team doctor, physiotherapist, media officer, and other officials.

Both Coach Amuneke and the team captain thanked President Buhari for his support, and promised not to let him and the country down.

Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
November 7, 2015

I hope they will still be welcomed warmly if they lose?I am not being negative but i look at the two sides of a coin when it comes to football cos of the hypertension it gives..lol

34 comments:

1. Very nice of him, they need all the encouragement and support they can get.
    May the best team win.

2. I pray they win tomorrow.
    Thanks Mr president for the encouragement.

1. Whenever our boys are motivated by presidos ds way,they usually loose...
      Na jaaz?

3. Ok. Stella you should know that in Naija, losing in football matches is never swallowed like a chilled pill. Winning is all we always want to see or hear

4. Good for him.
    But
    When will he finally bring down the price of dollar to one naira as he promised?

1. And start paying us our 5k

2. When ur English gets better

3. And wen can we buy fuel at N40 per litre

4. My English language is impeccable

5. Stella, how many times I call u?.....eeeehh

6. Hahahahahaha...
    This man is so local...
    See how he is holding his tablet like a village head master...
    Well what do I expect from a cattle rearer...aboki buno aboki till tomorrow ..

1. See how uneducated your comments make you appear? How else should he hold the tablet? You people must sha comment.

2. Hehehe. He's scared his fingers could break d tablet na

7. My bubu. My only pain be say u Don old. My ma'le dey talk say na old firewood dey catch fire well cos it's dried already.

8. Nice one Mr. President
    The trophy belongs to us.

9. Femi,you are doing this job very well oooh

I love the way Mr President addressed each one of them, you know...like he actually knew them personally... Very nice and motivating.

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I pray they win though....

11. Mtchewww!!! So this is news? Hian!!!

12. Stella! Of cos now
    I also pray they win

13. I pray he doesn't jinx the match with his calling

14. Stella well said. Lol, but let's be optimistic.

15. OK Baba, let's be positive.... hopefully they will win.

16. These young lads have really tried...may the gods favour them

17. Awwwww! So sweet. Words that penetrates.

18. I really pray they win because i have been praying hard for them to bring home the trophy.

Today is Adult harvest grand Finale St louis here i come!

19. I wish them the best today and pray they bring home the trophy. Good luck guys.

20. Sai Baba holding a tablet like it is a slate. Small time now he will ask for chalk to write

21. Pls when is the match