Imo State Governor and Chairman of the Progressive Governors’ Forum, Chief Rochas Okorocha, will meet with other governors in the South-east, the leadership of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, and other stakeholders in the geo-political zone to talk and agree on how to check the activities of pro-Biafra groups in the area.
The meeting is expected to take place this weekend in Owerri, the Imo State capital. Already the governor has begun to make all the necessary contacts to ensure that all those expected at the meeting, would be in attendance.
Okorocha had earlier, while taking exception to the pro-Biafra violent protests in some of the South-east states and few other neighbouring states, disassociated the governors and leaders in the South-east states from the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) protest describing the whole exercise as embarrassing, disturbing, counter-productive and to a large extent, distracting.
According to Okorocha, the pro-Biafra protests could not be in the interest of the South-east people but were only sending wrong signals to the rest of Nigerians, stating it has become increasingly necessary for the governors in the zone, Ohanaeze leaders and other stakeholders in the area to meet, to call a spade, a spade.
It is also expected that at the end of the Owerri meeting, the governors and other leaders will take a common position and will also invite the leaders of the pro-Biafra groups for a meeting, to let them know the socio-economic and political implications of their activities including their demand for sovereignty in a united Nigeria.
Okorocha said the governors and leaders in the zone could no longer sit and watch the whole situation degenerating and also noted that the Igbos as a people cannot afford to have its own kind of Boko Haram.
He wondered why the pro-Biafra apologists kept quiet all these years only to resume their violent protests and activities this time and few months after the new administration in the country came on board.
According to him, the governors are going to take the bull by the horn in the overall interest of Ndigbo in particular and Nigerians in general.
Meanwhile, the governor had also met with the security chiefs in the state on how to ensure that the pro-Biafra protests across the South-east states at the moment won’t be experienced in Imo State.
The governor had also been met with certain categories of the citizenry in the state that may have the temptation of joining the pro-Biafra protest to let them know the futility of such action.
Thisdaylive cullage
Is Okocha not one of those against the quest to make the Land of the rising sun a reality?
ReplyDeleteTalking keyboard.... Way do u have to say when your keys ain't organized
DeleteGood 4 them.
DeleteHe is just making a noise. Biafra is here to stay whether they like it or not. Nothing can stop us. Chukwuokikeabiama will help us win this battle cos so far as am concerned. There is nothing like one nigeria.
ReplyDeleteAsk yourself this question
DeleteWhen we get our own nation then what??
Remember part of delta and porthacourt are not Igbo
So when we all go back to those little space how do we all survive??
How do we trade??
Who will buy from us
How do we survive??
Who will lead us??
What exactly would be our major trade??
The best thing for us is to keep doing business and enjoying how we have been doing
You are here making noise about biafra but inside your house during protest
Those instigating it our abroad cooling off
Ojukwu surrendered because there was no way about it
Why don't we give it a rest
Do you want to watch innocent lives been killed??
Have you even read of the genocide that the armies carried out that time??
Like my grandfather would say, what was victory for the ndi igbo was despite it all, they came out and continued with life. Most of them lost a lot of money and properties. My grandfather lost a lot of properties in the north and West and money too
Because at the end they were giving little or nothing to start all over and he did. And he got back in 1000 folds all he lost. That to him is victory.
Please yall should keep calm and keep succeeding.
Anonymous. You are right thou
DeleteYou're very intelligent
DeleteOKOROAWUSA AND OHANEZE OSHI WE DONT NEED U . GO AND PAY IMO WORKERS . MY FATHER DIED WITHOUT HIS PENSION . U ALL WILL ROT IN HELL. THE CRY OF MY FATHER WILL VISIT U ALL. WICKED PEOPLE. EAT DEAD MAN PENSION AND SEE . WHO CALLED U OKOROAWUSA .
ReplyDeleteI am not pro Biafra but I do not like the idea of a Rochas acting as some sort of intermediary or mediator in this matter. I believe majority of Ndigbo aren't stupid so the fear that the SE could produce a boko type of outfit is far fetched. The reason I believe is that the average Igbo man loves nothing more than being alive and well.
ReplyDeleteHowever, the FG should look for respectable persons in the SE that could assist them because Rochas is just an opportunist trying to profit from the agiation. Also if progress is to be made made during dialogue just exclude politicians and see how fast issues get resolved.
Mission dead on arrival. This ppl should just rest.
ReplyDelete"also noted that the Igbos as a people cannot afford to have its own kind of Boko Haram' lol why not? The South East should have a go and see the carnage, loss of life, property and suffering the North East has seen in the last few years. Rochas should leave them to fight and protest in their states biko kwa! Igbo kwenu
ReplyDeleteKo
ReplyDeleteKan
Aye.
Eyaaaaah.
ReplyDeleteHe has been given the yeoman's task of tackling Biafra.
Okorowhite,I do not envy you at all
I hope they settle this once and for all. It is getting too much. I need to be in the villa soon
ReplyDeleteI hope they hear
ReplyDeleteWhat is this corrupt man saying?
ReplyDeleteGo and develop Imo state. Create employment for youth. Develop good road network. Pay your workers their salaries. Stop naming buildings after your fat daughter. You are one of the reasons these dumb people are fighting for an utopia city named "Biafra" because you eastern governors just wont develop your state. They are just not smart enough to realize that if governors cant develop their states, how can they develop Biafra if they are mistakenly granted a secession?
To show you the mindset of some Igbos, who in their right senses voted you as a governor for the second time ? You must have fooled them with your whirlwind philanthropic gestures the first time but the second time...
In their bid to chase away Ohakim, they jumped inside fire.
You are doing this so President Buhari will thank you abi. The sponsors of Pro-Biafra are some present and past eastern governors who have embezzled so much money.When they are prosecuted, then Pro-Biafrans will find another handiwork.
XOXO MYSTERY
To be free there will has to be collateral damages so leave us in pro biafrans
DeleteFellow Bv's please give me names of female nigerian celebs that have round face..does Anita okoye have a round face?
ReplyDeleteI wish them a fruitful meeting so that this Biafra protests will come to an end before matters will get worst.