Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's U17 Coach In Cautious Mood Over World Cup Hopes

Wednesday, November 04, 2015

Nigeria's U17 Coach In Cautious Mood Over World Cup Hopes

Nigeria Under-17 coach Emmanuel Amuneke has praised his World Cup semi-finalists but says there is still a lot to do to retain their title.
The Golden Eaglets, who play Mexico in the last four on Thursday, have impressed and striker Victor Osimhen is the standout player in Chile.

Amuneke told BBC Sport: "Victor is a very important but the team is doing well by playing collectively.
"We are confident we can retain the title but must not get carried away."
He added: "Right from our first game in Chile we believed in ourselves. But the journey and the road is long and the only time we could relax would be after the final if we have achieved our objective."

Nigeria brushed aside Brazil 3-0 in the quarter-finals, with Osimhen helping his side to victory by scoring his eighth goal in the five games.
Amuneke is confident both Osimhen and the team can continue to develop at the tournament.

"The challenge is for them to grow and I am happy that they have channelled their thoughts and belief towards collectiveness," he said. "This is what we have to continue to do.
"Victor can become a better player in the future. It is good that he is making his mark and we will guide him to become a better player.

"The expectations will be high for him to go to do well on a bigger stage. Hopefully he can keep his head and stay calm. He has to embrace the moment and make the most of it for his country and for himself."
BBC Reportage

10 comments:

1. We are carrying the cup. What we did for the last 20 years will happen again. God is with Nija on this.

2. Surely the Golden Eaglets are doing well..they will bring the trophy home.

3. if they win eventually then we have gotten a place in history winning the world cup for the fifth time iwatago

#GODWIN™

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This niggas is no doubt doing us proud abeg..... #NowPlaying>> slayer: aq....

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This niggas is no doubt doing us proud abeg..... #NowPlaying>> slayer: aq....

6. All success through foe eaglet. Go naija, we are proud of u guys. May God be with you.

7. God bless the team dev av really tried.
    Bring back our cup

8. The cautious optimism is very good,lest complacency sets in and all that has been achieved so far comes nothing.
    All the best to the Golden Eaglets!