Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Doctor And Nurse Wife Guilty Of Keeping Man As Slave For 24 Years

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Nigerian Doctor And Nurse Wife Guilty Of Keeping Man As Slave For 24 Years

A doctor and his nurse wife have been found guilty of keeping a man as a slave for 24 years at their home.
Ofonime Sunday Inuk, now 40, told Harrow Crown Court he arrived in the UK from Nigeria in 1989 when he was 14 and made to look after the couple's home and children.

Emmanuel and Antan Edet, from Perivale, north west London, were found guilty of three slavery and cruelty charges.
The couple, who had denied the charges, are due to be sentenced on 18 November.

'Total psychological control'
During the case, Mr Inuk told the court he had been promised an English education, but was instead made to work, with the warning that if he left the house or went to the police he would be arrested for being an illegal immigrant.

The court heard he had made attempts to escape and spoke to the police in 2005, but was left "a bit dejected" after being told by an officer it was a "family matter".
Ten years later he contacted the Metropolitan Police again when he saw media reports about modern slavery and realised the life he was being made to lead was wrong.

He also emailed the charity Hope for Justice, which in turn contacted Scotland Yard to co-ordinate his release.
Prosecutor Damaris Lakin told the court: "Emanuel and Antan Edet have cruelly robbed this victim of 24 years of his life. They have treated him with complete contempt.

"Not only did the defendants have total psychological control over the victim, but they also had control of his passport and identity documents.
"This was a shocking case of modern day slavery which has no place in our society."

The couple were found guilty of child cruelty, slavery and assisting unlawful immigration.

Victim now studying
Det Ch Insp Phil Brewer said: "They controlled what he wore, what he did and how he spoke for the majority of his life.
"Today, the victim is living a new life in the UK. He has a job, a home with his own bed and freedom to move, and he is studying."
Edet, 60, is a trained obstetrician and gynaecologist and his wife has worked as a senior sister at a hospital.
Ben Cooley, from Hope for Justice, said the victim's story was "saddening" but "unfortunately, not surprising" and the charity had liberated more than 70 slaves since January.
He said: "To all those others still out there I say, please have the confidence to come forward, we will do all that we can to help you."

BBC.com reportage.

Wow,they finally found them guilty!....I still dont understand how they could have manipulated him for so long unless he wasnt a part of it.HE DIDNT TRY TO RUN?..I dont understand.

57 comments:

1. Some humans are worse than the Devil in fact devil learns from them. They'd surely pay for their crime.

1. @doppelganger, I tell u. The devil will be their apprentice. Imagine the wicked for 24 years! Thank God for his life.

2. Na wa. It is bad. There r many ways they could have gotten help without threats n manipulations

3. Stella, it isn't that easy o. Imagine a naive young lad from the village being promised a "city life"... not only that, was taken abroad and was promised a better life than he had back home. Of course it's only natural he'lld become subservient and at their mercy. It's a mental monopoly and oppression. It took him time to understand his rights, which I applaud, cos not many would have emancipated themselves the way he did. Many like him are still living in fear, some have refused to speak up becos of threats to the lives of the families they left back home, should they runaway or involve the police. Very wicked couple. See their faces.

2. The guy is cool calm and humble sha....it pays to be tough rough and mean @times. Thank God he is finally free

3. Oh! This story! Finally the boy/man's nightmare is over.

Man's inhumanity to man!!!

*Ghanaman signing out*

Una gud mornin!

4. Hmmmm...they deserve d sentence.. D heart of man his desperately wicked..24 yrs nor be beans ooh..

1. They also should be sentenced to 24 years imprisonment. Shikena

5. Man's cruelty to a fellow man.
    Africans enslaving and selling their brothers off to slavery since 16-00AD.
    As educated as they are, they still sold their consciences to the devil. Shame on them!!!!

6. I don't believe this guy sha. He's a grown Nigerian man to start with! Some things doesn't add up here!

1. Na normal 9ja man wey dey bring come uk say come do houseboy work....but d guy probably saw d good things of life and wanted to leave.

7. Eeyah! Free at last. How could he be a part of it when he had no place or who to run to. His passport seized, he made no frirnds. When the news first broke out didn't you read how he was treated like an animal. Am hdppy for him but people will say their good turned bad abi. Treat someone's child same way you would treat yours, nobody is a slave the road is just far, that's all

1. Biko they did him no good. He would have been better off at home.. at least his destiny would have taken shape by now. But now he has to start all over again like the teenager he was when he first arrived the UK. Mega setback if u asked me.

8. Modern day slavery, may God save us all. Thank God he is free at last.

9. Na their pot of kunu be that...

10. They chained him or what?

11. A slave for 24 years, was he under a spell? thank God for his freedom at last.

12. It's not surprising he wasn't able to run for so long.

The mind is extremely powerful, best believe.

It's the same way most people stay in extremely abusive relationships, till they are killed.
    Without trying to walk away.

It's all in the mind. He was psychologically manipulated and threatened. Remember, he started living with them as a child, so they more or less, moulded his personality.

Scared him to death. Probably made him equate freedom to death, deportation, racism or something worse.

Thank God it's over now.
    But what a waste ; someone who wasn't in an actual prison, or a coma.

I hope the two monsters are given life, without the option of parole.

1. For this abroad wey I dey........ Hefty lie

13. Deal gone wrong. Good for them. I wonder why Nigerians will always be in the news for evil.

14. Stella they had his passports and documents, I am sure they told him he will be arrested and deported if he ever ran away.
    Slavery is more psychological than anything else,they will make you believe they are " helping " and you are worse off away from them.

A lot of women here are keeping children enslaved in the name of house helps hopefully Nigerian law will soon mature to this level and deal with them. Being a domestic help should be a honorable job not this nonsense going on now

15. Psychogical slavery more or less. I guess if he wanted to run he would have. Even if they threatened him deportation, if he really needed it, he would have damned all consequences and returned, but no he didnt. But in all honesty, most Nigerians who carry helps over there feel more like they are doing you big favours forgetting its a two- way traffic. I know of one who was paying her nanny (a mother of 3) £50. And feeling they were evwn helping her by bringing her to the UK. The woman complained that she cant feed her kids back home on such amount and they told her they even tried for her, afterall she was feeding from their house. Meanwhile they fill in her form that she was earning £300.She later left their employ and got a better job that they are paying her higher.

16. Serves them right,
    Wicked couple

17. People are so wicked....we have thousands of them in our society today living as an housemaid for the rich.

If these charges are to be implemented so many rich men here would be found in Jail in few minutes. They don't allow house made to go to school.

Click: Good reasons why some men Cheat In Relationship

Click: 3 things you Must not do on Facebook as a married woman

18. Stella truely.I don't understand
    How can he not have escaped it's not like they tied him.either he is a big mumu or the mind control programming they did to him na on another level

1. Understand that he was mentally imprisoned and not physically. And that is even worse.

19. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Wickedness of the highest order....

20. People can be cruel ,how can you run a persons life for 24 years ,even america gave blacks freedom after slavery

21. Man's inhumanity to his fellow man!

22. Such a pity. This is very common practice. They will aid u to come 'abroad' and live with dem promising u heaven and earth, at the end of the day u will be trapped in their house, serving dem, if u utter a word in protest, u will be reminded dat u are an illegal immigrant and that they can av u deported anytime. You on d other hand, will not want to come back to Nigeria empty handed and so will be forced to endure hoping dat one day, it will end and u will be free. Some are being used as sex slaves over dere.

23. Sooooo sad that this couple are passing through this cos they took ds guy abroad. It has become complicated. I don't know this couple from anywhere but I know that Inuk will not go scotfree for biting the finger that fed him. It's shocking that the article stated all the victim said but not one line stated what the couple said. E don tay wey ds obodo people dey fuck up.

1. Just shut up,so becos they took him abroad then it gives them the right to turn him to their slave,I'm sure u have never been to the airport before,that's why abroad seems like a big deal to u,ode.

2. Montreal: For cew of us that live abriad, we understand dis game.
      They will beg u to take them abroad as nannies, theyll then turn around to say slavery just fir the papers.
      Think about it, He list his brain fir so many years then woke up oneday. He wasnt scared to go to the police 10 years ago.
      I tell u he had a plan, he went to the police 10 years ago (14 years in jand) knowing fully well that you get a stay If you can prove youve lived in London for 14 years. (Thats the law).
      Now the police turned him away, he went back home to Slavery.
      I cud win this case, was he paid monthly? Was he given upkeep allowance? Money sent to families? Thats not slavery
      He had access to computer hence the mail he sent or he had cash to pay for cyber use.
      Im not a lawyer but this is just reading outside the lines.
      Abegi

3. Anonymous 10:32. You can say this because you are outside there. Biko leave this Montreal that's Montfake in the real sense. You are the real odestic ode.

4. What are u saying Mr/ms anonymous? If he staged this from the onset, why would he wait 24years before speaking up? What u described up there may have happened,.or can happen with one who already understands the logistics of using this sort of opportunity to travel abroad, and thereafter elope from his host. But he was a 14 year old child, and couldn't have anticipated this sort of life. So ur argument may be valid for another issue, but definitely not on this one.

24. Na wah o!
    Why do I feel something is "off" about dis case and now,d verdict.

1. Honestly, I don't understand the story too.
      So when the couples kids were grown, what exactly was he still doing for them ? Hmm.

Whirlwind

2. I too feel there is more to the story. Oh well I guess anything is possible with nigerians

25. See my Calabar people, why na? A diog eti eti. But some pple here in Nigeria will prefer to be slaves in the UK than remain here.

26. Stella, run to where? It is not easy to be psychologically dominated by someone else. It is also the reason why some women can't leave their husbands or boyfriends who spitefully maltreats them.

27. Thats just it! Nigerians will beg u to employ dem as nannies, u take dem to London and they turn around to say "slavery".
    Was he being paid to work for them? If Yea then its not a case of slavery.
    These people say al sort if things just to get papers.
    Abegggiiiii

28. See the height of wickedness. They kept him for 24 solid years so that they won't need to pay for the services of a maid, making his people back home feel like their child is safe and doing well abroad. Their punishment won't be complete if they don't pay the guy the services rendered for those 24 years of his life. Yes! that will be a plus cos if they had employed a maid, they would have paid for the services rendered. Wicked lots.

29. You are right Uthman, some will go to their village to get kids to help them in the city but they'll only tell their parents that those kids will go to school or those that wants to learn a trade will be promised settlement after some years but the moment they move in with them, the story becomes different.
    Those promised education will be made to work without fulfilling the promised made to their parents and those learning a trade won't be settled when the agreed years are over. That's life for you.

30. Calabar people are always cool when they do their Master's bidding. The guy tried self. 24 years no be moi moi. How can you stay with this useless family for 24 years. No Gratuity, no pension.

Thank you Lord, Lock the idiots up for 34 years.

31. To all of you acting shocked, I hope that you treat (treated) your househelps better?

32. See? Thank goodness for stories like this so I can show my mum. She keeps insisting I bring someone over to care for the home, clean, cook etc. I tell her, once their eyes are opened, they would twist the story around and say you've kept them as a slave with no free will.
    Another post to justify my reasons for always declining. I don't want wahala...