Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: MTN Board Fires Group CEO Over $5.4billion Fine, Replacement Appointed

Monday, November 09, 2015

MTN Board Fires Group CEO Over $5.4billion Fine, Replacement Appointed

The Group CEO of MTN, Sifiso. Dabengwa, is expected to resign over the recent $5.4billion fine by Nigerian Communication Commission for failing to cut off customers with unregistered SIM cards.

The telecoms company said in a statement on Monday that Mr. Dabengwa will resign immediately and will be replaced by non-executive chairman Phuthuma Nhleko as the company continues to dialogue with the Nigerian government over the fine.

Nigerians on their part have been divided over the propriety of the NCC sanction against MTN.
Senator Ben Murray Bruce last week in a series of tweets, asked President Muhammadu Buhari to intervene as safe the country from what he termed to be a bad sign to would-be foreign investors. He argued that NCC in trying to be firm and carry out its regulatory functions have shown Nigerian to be unfriendly to investors.

But there are those who oppose any compromise in the resolution of the issue, insisting that NCC as a regulatory agency must be seen to bite and not just bark. They argue that apart from MTN, there are at least two other telecommunication companies that are foreign. MTN according to these group of people play by the rules of the country where they operate.

-Homeland News

32 comments:

1. Eeya Pele!
    Whr will he start from now?

1. U think he's like You? Jobless and chewing crackers on a blog?

2. Buahahhhahahahhahahaha
      Anonymous with bad mouth

1. OK wetin, Ben Murray is totally clueless about governance. Foreign investors that go against regulations are moles in our security and financial system.

Imagine this Ben, going to constituency with Aero helicopter, wasting tax payers money. No road ba? Clueless region

3. Did dey fire him or he was forced to resign? Na dem know. Dave

1. Next should be dstv..those guys are crooks

2. I dey tel u.
      We want pay as u watch....shikena.

3. Stupid. Is cable tv a social amenity? Must you have dstv to survive? Is it food, health care, or any indispensable infrastructure? It is people who have enough to spare after satisfying their basic needs who subscribe to cable tv. If you cannot afford it, watch NTA and other local stations. Nobody forces you to patronize dstv please.

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This news is just everywhere i swear... Na this dude be the first person wey them sack neh......

6. How does dt change the price of milk in the market?

7. Reasons why we should strife to be entrepreneurs no matter how much we make

8. My own is DSTV. Something should be done about them. The money they are charging us is just too much. They better do as NEPA with prepaid metre.

I am awaiting DSTV fall. Let me go and pray for them to enter one chance in this our great country

9. Am totally with ncc on this.
    These multinationals need to adhere to our laws

10. Hmmmmm dunno how I feel anymore about dis.

But wait oo!wot am i even talking about sef?in another country,will a Naija-owned company flout orders and get away with it? The answer is No.

So Please let d rules of d Land be obeyed.
    @ Ben Murray,dey should pay d fine.

11. They should pay the fine joor. Wicked and stingy network. DSTV, your own koboko is warming up.

12. They should quickly and quietly pay the money. Why won't those senators make noise when almost everything they use is FOC, useless people. Am seriously praying for dstv to fail or a stronger competitors should come.

13. MTN is a fraudulent organisation and they need to even be fined double of dat amount!is it because we nigerians are so docile that pple just let a lot of things slide?they keep messing up and nothing happens.they have even resorted to lies and advertising non existant packages as promos:'...encountered that just last month, they claimed they had cheaper call package for intl calls,i used like 5days calling MTN customer service to activate this package,they keep telling me they have forwarded my request to technical dept,btw for each call u will talk to a different customer service official,lol!(another level of scam so u can't indict anyone with anything).when I got tired I had to keep using my credit like that to call hubby if it was urgent till he came back,or he called more often..because calling btw is like 3000k credit to get 7mins of calltime only!!bloody f##kers!infact govt should double dis fine,their cup don full.
    Stellastic don't swallow dis comment oo,cos I had to run out of d office to d ladies so I can send dis message!pple need to know they are not dat innocent anyway.

14. The wickedness mtn meted out to the public is what is catching up on them. Plus how they treat their staff. They should go and pay their fine jor. Sacking will not remove it.

15. Fg shld do something abt MTN n dstv
    #my2cents

16. Hmm...Senator Bruce should really be careful on what he is asking PMB to do,why go lenient on a company cos they are foreign,when we very well know that such wouldn't be tolerated outside the shores of our country.
    We are meant to strengthen our institutions,and not create more loopholes,so as not to be seen as 'unfriendly.'

17. See his yellow face like mtn**May God punish mtn for all their wickednessessss....LMAO