Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Remanded In Prison For Love Scam...

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Man Remanded In Prison For Love Scam...

An Isolo Magistrates’ court sitting in Lagos, has remanded a 42-year-old man, Onuimo Gerald in prison, for allegedly dumping his 49-year-old lover, Ojukwu Christiana, to secretly marry another woman.

P.M NEWS reports that Gerald met his ex-lover several years ago at Fasehun Street in Ago Palace Way Okota, Lagos where both resided until he allegedly left her. He had allegedly given Christiana false hope of marrying her, which prompted her to give him the sum of N450, 000 to invest in his business.

Reports reveal that when Gerald’s business eventually started booming, he secretly went and married another woman without his supposed fiancĂ©’s knowledge and later informed her that he had gotten married to another woman.

Christiana, who felt betrayed, asked Gerald to refund the money she gave him to equip his shop in 2011 since he had breached their agreement but he reportedly refused to refund the money and told her that he had offered her services worth more than the said amount over the years.

Christiana was said to have reported to the police at Ago Palace Way and Gerald was arrested and charged to court.
Speaking in court, Gerald who pleaded not guilty, alleged that there was no such agreement between them.

Meanwhile, reports claimed that Gerald, allegedly spoke on why he breached the supposed agreement, had said Christiana was far older than him and too fat, as such, his family did not want her.

The presiding Magistrate, Mrs. Joy Ugbomoiko, granted him bail in the sum of N 100, 000 with one surety in like sum.
Ugbomoiko charged the accused with obtaining under false pretence.

He was remanded in prison custody at Kirikiri pending when he will perfect his bail condition and the matter was adjourned till 12 December for mention.

Dailypost report.

*This is so wrong,took her love and her money under false pretences?.so wrong!
This kind of crime should be grouped alongside 419 cos its the same thing and is very rampant in Nigeria.
I know for sure that this is a crime anywhere else and attracts jail term.
Dont get me wrong oh...women are also guilty of this!

59 comments:

1. I miss Ago palace way

I miss Eko

Back to the matter, why will you give a man money cause he promises marriage?
      The babe no sharp.
      Her loss mehnn

1. Abi O, bitchpls. The man wanted to play a fast one, but the woman no gree. Women, make una learn O.

3. False relationship,why not allow the 49 years old woman to be if yu re so wise and very sure yu ll never be her husband, serves him right for deceiving her.

4. If dats d case! I suppose sue dat bastard Wale for wat he did to me in d past! After using me and I was faitful to him, he left me for a richer lady, who latter dumped him for a richer guy! Nemesis I guess! Fool is begging! God catch am.

Any guy wey try dat stunt wit me again, I go put my hand for toto curse am! Idiot!

1. Ur toto abi public service commision? D curse nor go work o jare

2. @ makaveli, woman don use toto curse u jare, y u dey fear! U better go beg d woman or else ur life go scatter finish! Cus as I see am e don dey scatter ooooo! Mumu! Golddigger like u! Shuurrrr

3. Na mumu you be to give guy money

Tueehhhh!

5. Correct! Enuf of all dis onijibity guys

6. Some women with dia desperate attitude.... Good for d 419 of a man.

7. Stella its so rampant here ooo! Heartless dudes everywere! He didn't know she was fat nd older b4 he took her money ni? Tommorow tins won't work well for him, he would be saying witches in his mother's village is doing him
    I also fell victim! But mine was dat I wasn't rich enuf! Dis idiot would be collect d small change I av nd promising heaven on earth! Me as a novice na I would be giving! After d fool travel abroad with my money. Came back without telling me nd went to engage another lady! Far richer dan me! Well God. Don catch am na! D girl leave am, and now he is back to square one!
    End up marrying one village looking lawyer!
    God no dey leave him own!

8. That's men for you! End time men *in one trillions voice*

9. She wasn't old and fat before u collected the money abi.

10. Some people can lie o!..Linda eze on Ihn said Chuks is a gold digger that's why she deleted him.Why did you have to lie,he was not your type so you deleted him,why add that gold digger part.Liar!

11. Good for her
    @ 49 why won't she go find a widower or divorcee to marry
    Btw! What was she doing till 49?
    I don't blame the man at all
    He saw her desperation for a man and capitalizes on it
    Its not the man's fault that She allowed herself to be used!
    Is it?
    Kasaaa!!!!!

1. Pray you marry on time, if you are not married already. If you are married, pray that it lasts. It's easier to judge things from the outside.

2. Goddess, so with all your baggage you have eyes to see another woman's faults.
      Or is this what other women told you too when your relationships failed and you were left with 4 children and no man?

3. Annon!
      I was married divorced and engaged again
      Not just engaged ooh!
      I pick the best from the lots
      Cos I gave myself air (as in choices)
      ASK WHY!
      Cos am not desperate
      Never been
      Never will be
      Men see thru u when ur desperate and capitalizes on it
      There's always a man out there for every woman
      Only if u believe and never give up
      Why waste youthful years?
      If husband won't come
      Have a child
      Simple
      Don't be so gullible

Life is what u make out of it
      U take life hard? Its comes harder on u
      Take it easy and is more easy on u

12. When he was collecting the money and sleeping with her he didn't know that she was old.

13. Her own better she willingly gave him . My own case I was robbed and kicked out with pregnancy by so called husband /thief !!!! Now the useless bastard has the nerve to say he wants contact with his children!!!! Ok no prob ,but return the money u stole !!! Thief / giggolo,I detest you !!! Scum !!! Failure!!! .

1. Hhahahahaha all these names for one person

Sorry o

14. I don't blame him for running away.
    His major reason is that she is far older than him and above all. She is too FAT.
    When you tell lazy women to shed excess FAT. They will be claiming BBB.
    She should hit the gym first. All hope is not lost.

15. If I were the woman, I would just move on and leave everything to God. The man has sowed a seed, definitely he must reap seeds. It is now he realises she's too fat and way too old for him, but her money wasn't fat abi? No conscience at all.

1. This end time generation lacks conscience, it's all about pleasing themselves, not caring who they step on to achieve their aims

2. This end time generation lacks conscience, it's all about pleasing themselves, not caring who they step on to achieve their aims

16. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    The babe don provoke... Lolx... Pls settle am oga o....

17. Madame Stella as much as it is a crime but in a country like Nigeria nearly half of men and ladies roaming around the road are guilty of this act, many girls promise to marry their lover but will introduce him to close associates as Maga and even save his phone contact as Mugu so in my opinion don't think such could work in Nigeria. Ladies trick men to buy cars, houses and more in the name of I LOVE YOU and men also do same to desperate ladies

18. Odiegwu!
    Does money buy love?

19. See his mouth "She is Fat and my family doesn't want her"
    Onye ori! When u took her money u didn't know ur family didn't want her. Onye ori muo!
    As if it's ur fam that is marrying her.

And as u said that money has covered the years u guys were together,just know dat the said money u extorted from her has quadrupled over d years.

@Christiana, e Pele.but you sef.

Translation:
    Onye ori means thief.
    Onye ori muo means thief of life.

1. Lmao @ ur translations. Bwhahahhahahahahahaha

TGW nnem.ole way? Kisses to ur angels.

20. Ori man yi o pe. He didn't realise she was older than him and too fat when he collected money from her, where were his families when he was hungry and couldn't date a slim lady. Ole, 419. Well I blame the woman too, you just have live in lover without thinking about yourself first.

21. Make una come see money maker o! Ahahahahaha. Magistrate pls free him biko. He cannot marry a "fat & querrulous" woman.

1. Lol. Serves her right.
      Why didn't she shed those massive weight when she was a younger?

2. Money maker,'when she was a younger'?You have come again ba?Thehehe

22. They senseless lover should sharap. Na mumu dey allow person scam am.

www.ckjacob.com

23. Money maker, come in here. The man said she's too fat for him, so he dumped her. What do u av to say? Lmao

1. Shebi una talk sey I am lying. Dat men love FAT women. Una don dey see the truth with una eyes now.
      FAT girls should keep lazing around. They will end up like dis woman.

24. Hmmm, he wants to eat his cake and have it at the same time. Oga wen u were collecting the money you didn't know she was older than u and ur eyes blind to the fact that she's fat abi, now u can suddenly see...'end time relationship'...lol

25. May Amadioha strike you dead idiot greedy fool

26. Yes Stells, a charge of obtaining under false pretence is punishable under sec 419 of the criminal code applicable to various states in Nigeria. When people call an offence "419", it's not the name of the act rather it is the punishment section prescribed by the criminal code.

However, this is another example where sentiments have to take the back seat while live issues take preeminence. As despicable and cruel as the alleged offence of the man is, the offence lacks the elements of obtaining by false pretence. The facts written up there is more of a Civil matter. If she can prove her claim in the civil matter, she can pray the court to order a refund of all she spent on him and even ask for damages for pain and suffering. The monetary value of damages can be millions of Naira. So she gets back all she spent on him plus some extra millions of Naira as damages, hoping she has documents in support of her claim.

In a criminal case, if the prosecution sufficiently proves the guilt of the accused beyond reasonable doubt, the accused will either be sentenced to imprisonment and/or pay a fine which goes into government coffers. She can never get her money back through a criminal case. At best she may feel better watching him go to prison, if she is bent on seeing him suffer and doesn't mind not getting her money back.

In common law, there's an offence like breaking a promise to marry or breach of contract to marry which is usually documented and is still not a criminal matter.

According to the statement "he had allegedly given Christiana false hope of marrying her which prompted her to give him the sum of N450,000 to invest in his business". She allegedly gave him the money voluntarily, his business eventually started booming. What broke the camel's already wounded back was the realisation that the man she regarded as her fiance dumped her and married someone else. This made her demand for the money she gave him. It wasn't stated that he asked for the money, rather it seems she gave him money out of the goodness of her heart believing she would be his wife. This doesn't fit obtaining under false pretences. There was no obtaining, there was "gifting" since there's no mention of a loan. ‎

These are the things which make people attack lawyers. Most people don't understand how the law works. To a layman, this case may seem clear cut because it's obvious he did a horrible thing, unfortunately, in the eyes of the law not all offences are criminal. His lawyer may even argue that the cash was a gift and nothing more. There are so many defences that can avail the accused but I wouldn't go into that. Matters like this can be very sensitive and easily misunderstood.  ‎

1. Yes u r right,in dis situation I prefer Karma ,it ll definitely come visiting if d defrauded victim can only be patient,dis happened to my sis too,mind u she aint fat nor ugly@ MM ,d heart of man is simply desperately wicked.d guy in my sis case is now bed ridden ,he had an accident n almost lost his life.

2. Olorun ooooooh
      Chai!!! Alll this long grammar and ebook ontop this small matter?
      Na wa oooo!
      We all kniw u kniw book
      Magistrate Ronalda of SDK blog!
      It have do biko!
      Haba??

3. Correct my learned friend! Lay men don't understand how law works

4. Chai Rona Rona, i miss you o. Where have you been, see all the long tory untop this small matter. Pls stop going on exile.

27. Money Maker nwanna jisie ike...

Na wa for some guys and he collected her money and refused marrying her. vomit it or she shld take over the business since its her money

28. Nigerian women will never learn, keep your cash until he puts a ring on your 4th finger. The man surely took advantage of her desperation to defraud her. After now they will say it's love, BTW you can just give out the amount you can forfeit.

Ladies take note.