Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Killer Ponmo In Ogun State...OMG!

Friday, November 06, 2015

Killer Ponmo In Ogun State...OMG!

Ogun State Government yesterday alerted residents to the sale of poisonous local delicacy, ‘ponmo’ in markets across the state.

The state government alleged that ‘some unscrupulous businessmen’ attempting to exploit the current scarcity of cattle hide and skin used in preparing the, popularly called ‘ponmo’ have resorted to selling industrial hide and skin, already treated with tanning chemicals to unsuspecting members of the public.

The state Commissioner for Agriculture, Mrs. Ronke Sokefun who addressed a press conference on the sale of the unhealthy and dangerous ‘ponmo’, disclosed that such cattle hides and skin had been treated with tanning chemicals such for the production of leather and unfit for human consumption.

Sokefun, however, said the state Ministry of Agriculture and the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) had already commenced investigation into the development and had been on the trail of the importers of the unhealthy ‘ponmo’.

The commissioner also disclosed that the officials of the ministry had been in ‘strategic liaisons’ with the state Ministry of Health and the Environmental Health Departments of the 20 local government areas to confiscate the unhealthy ‘ponmo’ from all markets in the state.
Sunnewsonline reportage.

AAAAGH since some women were caught with ponmo soaked in embalming fluid to make it appear swollen,i dont eat that thing anymore!...People please be careful.

79 comments:

1. They should get solution to this asap o, can't do without eating it mehn. Good morning all SDK blog fam.

1. i don't eat it, watching my height Biko!

2. Which one person go come eat naa? Eat beef them say na red meat, chicken nkor that one na fat, kpomo agai naa poision mtewww me I nor fit chop only fish oh.

3. At the rate you are going Stella, you won't eat anything anymore. Hahaha. Too bad. Thank God the health agencies are on top of the situation. Haba. It's like boiling a leather shoe and eating sha. Yuck

4. Buy d raw skin in d "slaughter" & roast it urself. Wit dt u r sure of wat u r eating. After roasting u cn put it in water over nyt 2 get soft & swell,if u ain't ready 2 cook it dt day.

5. Dis people wicked o, industrial ponmo for our consumptions why naa, Jesus Fix it
      # Team ponmo all the way

6. Wonder wetin people see inside ponmo sef
      Very tasteless and useless something!

2. Good, I'm happy they were arrested.

1. I stopped buying ponmo a very long time ago when news first broke about some sellers injecting embalming fluid into it to make it swell and look attractive. "Yuck"! I now buy cow tail or cow leg, plenty ponmo de there....

2. @ cherly...corrrrrrrrrrrect!

3. Y are people wicked, even when it comes to human life?
    Nawa oooh

4. People can just do anything for money not minding the consequences.
    May God help us.

5. I'm in shock. What would dey do next?
    Maybe embalm d animals after killing dem b4 selling to us?
    Ds country people self.

6. May God deliver us from the poison that we eat daily

7. Replies
    1. Very disturbing my brother, and to think that most people love to eat it?

May God save human race.

2. @ money maker pele...see that dey did to y ponmo. Sorry ok?

8. I do shrimps insted of Ponmo!

*dat messed up silly girl*

1. U 'do' shrimps instead of ponmo? Girl re u for real???
      Share your experience with 'doing' the Shrimps!

9. I dunno y,but dts 1 tin I no fit chop!
    Good morning bvS! Hope y'all had a horny night! *wink*

1. Ponmo na delicacy?

Never liked the stuff cos it's not real meat and not tasty on its own without plenty seasoning.

Na all this ponmo eating de make leather shoe cost so...

2. You dont know what you are missing

10. I am in Ogun state for now oh, make una no do oh.

11. God help us!
    Wow!!! It's my birthday again!
    It's bin u all the way my helper..
    **counting my blessings even though d devil is giving me flashback......

1. Happy birthday!! More of God's blessings, always.enjoy your day!

2. HBD dear.

I hate ponmo but I love eating it

3. HBD dear. Live long and prosper.

4. Happy bday,may the good Lord continue to order your steps in Jesus name.

5. Happy buffday.
      I remember your naughty bday pic of years past.

6. Happy birthday dear! Bask in God's grace

7. Happy Birthday Dear. More of God's blessings now and always.have loads of fun and pop a bottle on ma behalf.

8. Happy birthday
      Live long and prosper.

9. Happy birthday
      live long and prosper.

10. Happy birthday, ore mi atata
      May your path be bright and prosperous

11. 10ks my online fam.....
      I really apr8 and say amen to ur prayers.
      Queen mi owon, goldscent nko?

12. HBD...wishing you more Sexy years ahead.

13. Hbd sis, live long and prosper.

12. Na wah!
    And I ate Ponmo and ofoda rice just yesterday.
    Take the wheel Lord.

13. God help us!
    Wow!!!!
    It's my birthday again!!!
    It's bin u all d way my helper!
    **devil is giving me flashback but am counting my blessings yet can't name them all cos they abound!

1. Gerrahia mehn! So you expect people to wish you hbd? After you have cursed alot if people on their birthdays here and called them thirsty if they put up birthday posts.

2. whether u like it or not, dey must wish me!!
      So u, gerrouttttt!!!!!!!!!!!

14. Oh no! Not my sweet ponmo!

15. What people will do for money. They don't care if it is harmful to one's health

16. Yuck!! I do not even like ponmo.

17. Why these pple wan spoil show for us na? Make dem no try am o! Cos anyhow....kanda na meat!!!

Ghanaman signing out!!!

18. What is there to eat anyway? Mtchew!

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

19. Why do they want to keep up from Ponmo at all cost?
    First it was embalming fluid. Now it's contaminated one.
    Warreva mhen.
    Ponmo for Iife!

20. Na wah oo...poisonous ponmo in the market? God save us.

21. Yeah! Steeeella are serios about d embalment stuff? I don finish.

22. Aaahh! Abeg o. No soup for me goes without the almighty pomo

23. Gosh! People are wicked. Never liked ponmo from childhood. My cravings for animal skin begins and ends with pork cracklings.

1. Shebi u heard d one trending in PH.people went and dug up expired frozen chicken and went on to sell to peeps.

Custom had seized a biz man's container for failure to pay some charges.dese imported frozen chicken stayed dere for 6 months according to reports.it was after it expired that Custom peeps went and dug a shallow hole and disposed of d chicken.

But den some peeps had seen dem and hole was shallow so it's reigning expired chicken in PH. Eleme and Obigbo axis.

Why dey didn't totally destroy d chicken before disposing dem beats me.I mean how do u explain to villagers or ignorant people that expired stuff aren't good for consumption?

2. Heard the news. Luckily for me I don't like frozen chicken. I buy the fresh pre cut one from spar. I can go without chicken or meat. Just give me fried scombia fish and dried catfish I'm good to go.

3. TGW, forget that thing, you will be shocked that it is the same custom officials that did the job or tipped off people to go and dig out the expired chicken.

It is just like burying drugs or medicine, for the love of Christ, even if they are dunderheads, how will they not know they ought to destroy them first before burying if there was no sinister plan or motive?

Whirlwind

4. Una for dis blog can lie sha!!!! Some of u now say u don't eat kponmo,now u don't eat frozen chicken. Isorrai.

5. Annonymous nwa ofe okofo. Yes I don't like frozen chicken and I don't like beef. Deal with it. Bumbaclot!

24. Chai is it all those pomo that looks very big and swollen? Ewo!

25. No more eating of ponmo for us till further notice be that oo...
    But why are human beings so wicked and heartless?? Selling poisonous food to others!!

26. Hmmm....In all my years growing up I've never seen my mum bring ponmo to the house. She prefers to go through the stress of cooking cow leg. I guess this is one of the reasons.

27. Stopped eating pomo as well.

It just didn't make sense to eat leather, might as well be chewing my shoes.

Embalming fluid? Smh

28. Wow!
    So no ponmo for now...*sadface*
    Me dt can't do without eating ponmo?
    Sigh!

29. Ponmon is not meant to be eaten in the first place. When you eat it, you are destroying the leather industry.

30. E declare kwalam strike na ponmo from today.

31. I love kponmo...
    U can't resist those curly kponmo laced with pepper and onion sauce.
    Kponmo for life. If dem like make dem kip am for mortuary. Embalm ko, disembalm ni