Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governors Say They Can No Longer Pay N18,000 Minimum Wage

Friday, November 20, 2015

Governors Say They Can No Longer Pay N18,000 Minimum Wage

THE 36 state governors have said that they can no longer pay the N18,000
minimum wage that was signed into law in March 2011 by former President Goodluck Jonathan, owing to the poor state of the economy. Organised labour in its immediate reaction, however, kicked against the governors’ stance, saying workers are ready to shut down the country, if the governors push them into it.

Rising from a crucial meeting that ended at the early hours of yesterday, at the Old Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa, Abuja under the umbrella of Nigerian Governors Forum, NGF, the governors said that dwindling prices of oil had drastically affected their states’ income.

Specifically, they said that the burden of the wage was lighter when oil sold at $126 as against the current $41 per barrel. They, therefore, sought audience with President Muhammadu Buhari on the economy, resolving that the only way out of the quagmire was to diversify the economy towards agriculture and mining.

Reading the communique issued at the end of the meeting, Chairman of the Forum and Governor of Zamfara State, Abdulaziz Yari hinted that the Forum also backed the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) over the N1.4 trillion sanction on MTN.

According to him, the governors agreed that the fine must be paid in full.
He explained that they received briefing
from the Acting Executive Vice-Chairman/ Chief Executive Officer of NCC, Professor Umar Dambata who explained the matter to them.
He said: “We resolved that we must look at ways to enhance revenue generation and at the same time look at ways to cut our overhead costs, especially the political office holders’ salaries and other overhead expenses.
“The situation is no longer the same when we were asked to pay N18,000 minimum wage, when oil price was $126 (per barrel) and we continued paying N18,000 minimum wage when the oil price is $41, while the source of government expenditure is from oil, and we have not seen prospects in the oil industry in the near future.

“We will diversify our economy in the area of agriculture and mining. But at the same time, we should understand our situation where some of us (states) today are taking N100 million as monthly allocation and then have salaries of over N2 billion to pay.
“We, therefore, agreed here to take this suggestion to NEC in our meeting today
(yesterday) so that we can find ways to tackle this problem.
“We are also looking at coming together to have discussions with Mr. President and his team, technocrats and experts in the economy to see how we can tackle this problem. We are working harder to deal with it.

“On the sanction by the NCC, the MTN has accepted that they committed the offence and has apologised, and they are appealing for leniency; we the governors forum decided to support the NCC to abide by the laws of the land and the laws of our land do not not give leniency to deliberate offence to our nation.”

Labour rejects governors’ stance…says we will shut down Nigeria, if…

In their reaction, leaders of Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, and Trade Union Congress of Nigeria, TUC, warned that if the governors wanted workers to shut down the nation because of the issue, workers would gladly do so, saying “the governors should not think the Nigerian workers do not have the capacity to retrench them.”

Factional President of NLC, Mr. Ayuba Wabba, while insisting that Nigerian
workers totally reject the governors’ position, warned that if the governors
wanted organised labour to close down the country, labour was ready to do so. He confirmed that the NLC would be meeting today on the platform of the Central Working Committee, CWC, and the issue would feature prominently after which a statement would be released.

-Vanguard Reportage

54 comments:

1. They can't pay just 18k??? They should cut down on other expenses duhhh

2. Yet dey earn we more that most other foreign politicians. They re so selfish. Hw wld dey tink of d masses wen dey re so comfortable. Buhari shld biko order central bank to print money nd pay bikinu

3. I saw this coming ,the moment Buhari was declared winner ,I knew money won't circulate again ,the man is an economist naturally ,so the governors were told to do same ,I am close to the inner top people ,there is no money in Nigeria ,he has refused to bring out money and the loan he wants he is just giving an impression that there is no money to cut all corners and give an excuse .we are going to experience worse in 2016..

4. I kind of agree with the suggestion of diversifying their income. Agriculture being the best for now. They'll be surprised at how much farming can help the economy grow more than the sale of oil. Each state should start to generate their funds and stop this sole financial reliance on the federal government for every kobo needed. They should contact foreign investors and pitch them, consult with technocrats for diverse ideas. Stop being lazy and figure heads in ur states as governors. Help the federal government by being financially productive and innovative, then everyone will find respite.

5. lol @calabar chick. so sad for mydear country.

1. It is not well hun! The governors should reduce their own salary by half before spewing sewage from their mouths! WTH! 18k is too much to pay? Y'all must be eating via ur anus!

3. Oh my, the change we so wanted has just began. Smh.

4. Seriously?? Instead of cutting down on their own allowances, they are attacking the workers minimum wage, this is wicked and unacceptable. They should rather diversify quick quick into mining and Agriculture. What nonsense!

1. This ppl are heartless,they are taking home millions and can't pay 18k? God purnish u ppl. All those ppl hammering change change,una don see? It's wasn't this bad with gej

5. Ade4femi(C0039356C) grow your front hair and rock healthy hair20 November 2015 at 12:02

They shld slashed their own salaries instead, imagine, they can't pay 18k pere but can fly private jet and spend anyhow. There's God oooooo

6. Instead of them increasing the minimum wage, they are talking about reduction. Have they reduced their own salaries and allowances? Let them lead by example.

1. Truest talk.....naija....one step fwd, ten steps backwards. These so-called governors with human faces but beasts' hearts, should indeed model these cut backs by agreeing to just half of their current salaries and perks. Naija masses don suffer, walahi.

7. The government in Other developed countries seek ways to better their citizens..Nigeria own Na how to bring untold hardship on its citizens Dem dey after and how to enrich themselves and their fourth generation..which way Naija..Forward or backward

8. 18 k naira minimium wage not even up to a 100 usd a month nawa oh ,abi i no read well

1. not even upto. minimum wage out here is 8usd/hr, depending on the state and your job type, and pple work over 10 hours in one day. Oh my people, I weep for thee. #heartbreak#

9. Just negodu these governors!
    Did you tell the people that elected you lot this when you were begging for votes? Smh!!!

Civil servants forgot so fast how GEJ signed that minimum wage law in...such short memories.

10. They can't pay it,but they collect millions of naira and allowance as salary!
    And. 2 think that they also steal and loot funds!
    They should at least cut their salary.
    Btw,since baba go slow entered into power, things has drastically changed so bad.

Badluck

1. Things *have*. Madam badluck.

11. They shouldn't forget to reduce their own salaries too. Self centered people..... Hainn

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    They have been doing it b4 nw so is not new......

13. How much them wan pay na.?

*Ayah Shehu *

14. This comment has been removed by the author.

15. Hahahahahaha....
    That's the breeze of change mehn!...

The poor masses that voted for this change will surely suffer for it...
    Kwakwakwakwa...
    This is just the beginning...the hardship that will befall you people in this country is still doing press up!...
    No light!..
    No fuel!...
    No security!...
    Boko haram is still bombing!...
    Dollar is still rising!...
    Choi!....na only dead remain nau...hahahahaha...
    They can't pay common 18k minimum wage and you think they will pay the unemployed youths the 5k campaign promises?...
    Hohohohohohohoho...
    Laugh wah scatter my belle!...

You all should shut up and deal with it!...

1. Change is here!
      Recycled old bottles forming new creation and the people were chanting 'Change'!

Mtchewww!

2. You forgot to add arm robbery.

3. Hahaha change is here indeed!

16. They should cut down der own salary...
    Mtcheeeeeew..

17. Bunch of thieves and jokers.. They should start by cutting down on their allowances!! All the stupid allowances given to those Nay n Yay Senators should be cut down!! With sky rocketing cost of living, they are planning to cut down minimum wage!!

Rubbish people!!!

18. Imagine these people ooo,were la awon gominor yi sha,reduce your salaries/aides/assistant,then you pay the paltry 18k,if not,strike will reply you peeps.

19. Up APC. Those that voted for CHANGE. God don catch all of una. Una never start to see something.

It is good

1. Let the suffering begin ,those yoruba fools caused this ,backward people .

2. Anon:13:49 your entire family and tribe are fools.

20. Even if the minimum wage is reduced to #1,000 these greedy lots will still steal and not do anything better for our interest. Why are they not talking about reducing their salaries and allowances? All na 6 feet e go end.

21. Those that voted Apc in should deal with it ,as for Rochas Okorocha pay workers in in state of not Thunder will fire you and your family soon,you are a very wicked governor

22. This is very unfair.... 18k is not enough to fend ones responsibilities in this country be it an individual or a family man. Let their salaries be reduced to 18k first and fore most then they can preach salary slash to us.

Absolute rubbish !!!!

23. These governors are wicked and heartless! What is 18K per month to a common Nigerian? Can 18k sustain even a child in this our economy today? Not to talk of fully grown men/women with families to cater for. I expect them to be talking about increasing the minimum wage and not talking this trash. There is no money to pay the poor civil servant. But there is money to fund your luxurious lifestyle, God will judge you all.

24. Rubbish!!!See them salivating at the MTN fine,as if it is any of their business.
    They should start by cutting down on what they earn as governors cos the fall in oil price,can no longer support what the earn as salaries and allowances and what they siphon to their foreign accounts too.

25. While I agree these governors are shameless and lazy; no plans for revenue generation just to sit down and collect allocation every month, i fully believe that the civil service needs to slashed. There are too many people employed in govt offices. 6 ppl to do 1 person's work.and all 6 are lazy, unhelpful and corrupt. As for that useless NLC who betray us to line their pockets, they should take several seats

26. What baffles me is dat school fees are increasing, cost of bread also and even rents yet they are talking of slashing salaries. Abi make ppl go thief?

27. What baffles me is dat school fees are increasing, cost of bread also and even rents yet they are talking of slashing salaries. Abi make ppl go thief?

28. These are funny people. How can they pay 18k as minimum wage when a sitting governor it was reported had a destination wedding for his daughter and wedding gown alone was reported to cost how much? Wedding expenses were paid for in hard currency. How much is spent as legislators salaries and allowances ? What about ministers, governors and other federal and state office holders? So it's minimum wage of 18k that charity should begin from abi? This is an insult to our collective psyche. These people must really think Nigerians are fools. Dino Melaye alone after how many months in office was already showing off car worth how much? Make una no let Nigerians swear say make una no wake from sleep oooooo .Wicked people. Let charity begin from your heavy salaries.