Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fifty Nigerians Graduate With First Class From Malaysian university

Saturday, November 07, 2015

Fifty Nigerians Graduate With First Class From Malaysian university

50 Nigerians have bagged first class honours at the Linton University College Malaysia.
The number is part of the 253 students who graduated in various academic disciplines at the 2015 convocation ceremony of the university.

According to the Petroleum Technology Development Fund, 35 PTDF scholars were among the Nigerians who graduated at the 2015 convocation ceremony, which was done in collaboration with University of East London and Coventry University, United Kingdom.

The Fund, in a statement issued in Abuja on Friday said, “Altogether 50 Nigerian graduates distinguished themselves with first class honours degrees, among whom were 13 PTDF scholars who earned first class degrees in Software Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Business Management and Civil Engineering.”

The Acting High Commissioner of Nigeria to Malaysia, Mrs. Janet Odeka, according to the statement, said the unprecedented achievement of the Nigerian scholars in the university in Malaysia had contributed in creating a positive image for Nigerians living in the country.

She said, “I am really excited and grateful because this is the first time we are having such number of graduates who produced good results such as first class and second class upper. We have had students from Nigeria who were involved in criminal activities and other immoral acts, but for the first time we are celebrating something we should be proud of as Nigerians and I wish to appeal to Nigerians here that they should emulate what these graduands have done to attract a good name for Nigeria.”

The Executive Secretary, PTDF, Mr. Femi Ajayi, on his part called on the graduands to take advantage of the opportunities that were opening up in Nigeria under a new administration to deploy their new skills and knowledge.

He said, “Rather than being skeptical about the future and apprehensive about job opportunities back home in Nigeria, you should be excited knowing that a new chapter has opened in Nigeria that provides the enabling environment for those who genuinely wish to make it in Nigeria.

“This is something to be very proud of and excited about, particularly when you know the areas they specialise. We have high hopes for them. If you have people who have excelled, the thing to do is to deploy their knowledge in the right direction. Some will proceed for their masters and PhD and for those who want to work, we will link them up with available job opportunities in Nigeria.

“With the kind of knowledge and experience they have here, I am hopeful that their skills and knowledge will be readily utilised in Nigeria and I will encourage them to go back home.”

Dailypost reportage.

First class degrees seems to be easy anywhere else but in Nigeria!

35 comments:

1. In medical school uniport ,one of our lecturers told us that you have to be the disease to get an A in his course.

2. Lololol! 1st class don become chin chin

2. First class is very easy to achieve abroad and that's my opinion.
    Nigerians are getting it here too.
    Congrats to them all.

1. Coming from someone that has neva been to d airport biko take several seats \_ \_ \_

3. Great news, stella good morning to u and to all the blog visitors. Happy weekend to u all

4. And when they come back home.....if they dont create jobs for themselves. .....nothing 4dem

5. Stella morning that last comment you made was taken right outta my mouth the worst of the worse is Uniabuja.....Smh that school is damn sickening no matter how you read and what you write oh goodness you still come down with less than what you wrote for....

1. Is this vivi the humming bird? Lol

6. Exactly. You have more Nigerian first class holders abroad than here. Nawa o. Congrats to them

7. This is good news!, a deviation from the negative news associated with Nigerians in diaspora. first class is obtainable anywhere, even in nigeria. The problem is with our youths who are lazy to study, play truancy and clothed in mediocrity. I'm not disputing the fact that the economy is harsh, coupled with poor learning environment and wicked lecturers. We are Nigerians and survivors and can get anything we want, if we put our heart to it.

1. I hope you graduated with one?

8. It can't be easy to bag such here with too many sadist in schools. Some lecturers that couldn't bag first class will see to it that no one does. That's the way it is coupled with some other factors.
    Congrats to them. Wishing them ease in getting a good job.

9. Kudos to them! Na to get jab be the ish now!

Ghanaman signing out!!!

10. Gud for dem, they should come 2 Nigeria dey will nt even smell 3rd class

11. Meanwhile over 50 G boys are graduatin from G school in same Malay. Naija I hail.

12. I agree, even a pass candidate can easily make 2.1 elsewhere.

13. Congrats to them...they have made Nigeria proud.

14. Congratulations to them.This is gud news.
    Not when Nigerians go abroad to soil the country's image.

15. I'm telling you stella!
    Very hard in nigeria indeed, those lecturers are frustrated, the only thing they know how to do is vent their frustration on students.
    I know lecturers that will tell you not to bother aiming at first class, that it won't be given even if you deserve it.
    To me, I think it's something they should be proud of, it clearly shows they are doing their jobs well as lecturers...what do I even know sef?
    Na dem sabi.

16. The lecturers in Nigeria r witches and wizard na. They'll say, 'A is for God, forget about it, B is for me, I give it to whom soever I dim fit, and C is for you.

17. "First class degrees seems to be easy anywhere else but in Nigeria!"

You said what I had on my mind Stella.

I've had the opportunity to experience tertiary education both in and outside Nigeria and while you're thoroughly schooled in your course of choice in foreign universities, graduating with a very good grade is easier as students are tested on every available platform ( group work, individual projects and reports, presentations, tests and exams).
    If you don't do well in exams ( some people have exam tension) you have the opportunity to shine in presentations or reports and vice versa.

Variety of learning aids are available, from academic counselling by qualified staff, to consultations with faculty members and even skill development workshops such as presentation skills, report writing and so on.

In Nigeria....*sigh*
    If lecturer no de disturb you to sleep with him or settle him with money, they would be busy selling their books or handouts.
    Some just come to class and dictate their lecture notes, no teaching or explanation.
    Let me not even continue cos we know wetin we see for their hand.

Education in Naija needs a total overhaul...

18. Congratulations to them!!!

Because Nigerian Lecturers Frustrate us and then make you seem dumb with zero motivation.

19. Wow!

Wower!!

Wowest!!!

Nigerians be doing us proud.

20. Lovely..

Yes!!! That's a good news..

Congratulations to them..

21. Lovely....

That's a good news..

Congratulations to them..

22. Congrats to them, na for naija courses dey complex, courses abroad are easier.