Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Federal Government Bars Medical Graduates From NYSC

In an effort to stamp out quackery and untoward practices in medical practice in the country,  the federal government on Monday barred all graduates of medicine from participating in the mandatory National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) until they have been qualified as medical doctors and have secured practice licence from the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN).

The move came amid several complaints about the level of quackery displayed by some of the Youth Corps members posted mostly to rural areas to provide medical services.
The Registrar/Chief Executive of MDCN, Dr. Abdulmumini Ibrahim, who read the decision during a press briefing on Monday in Abuja explained that the council took the decision following series of complaints by the NYSC management that all manners of persons parading themselves as medical doctors have become desperate to proceed on service.

"There has been increasing number of personal non-grata people who are not trained impersonating as medical doctor. The NYSC has inundated us with complaints. Those who have completed their one year internship have been given certificates. Most corpers are sent to rural areas. They can only go to service upon presentation of their practice license", he stated.

Source - This Day

In house Doctors what do you guys think about this new development?

65 comments:

1. Hehehehehe! Waiting for comments.

1. The hatred most of you have towards doctors usually cloud your cognitive abilities. Especially when it has to do with interpreting a simple post like this.
      First of all, the MDCN is trying to prevent those who are not medical doctors (like many of you who dish out agwoturumbe-like prescriptions in Doctors in house section) from going to impersonate graduate doctors who are yet to be given MDCN licence. Any body who has graduated from medical school is a doctor, house officer, Youth corp member, medical officer, residents, professors etc.
      The only problem is that while waiting for the processing of MDCN licence, self proclaimed doctors will go to rural areas and start claiming to be doctor because most people are yet to get MDCN certificate.
      If you are happy thinking they were referring to youth corp doctors as QUACKS, please go back to the post and read it a 100 times. It is only people who are down that wishes other pulled down to the floor.
      The only difference bw a post housemanship doctor and the MDCN licence is 65k fee and 1month of waiting, in the case of a quack the difference is passing WAEC, passing JAMB, passing thru minimum of 6yrs med school, 1yr house job, before 65k fee and waiting for the licence to be processed. So, all you in-house amadioha this measure is to curb you all.

2. Over to d doctors... Let's know ur view. Is it a yay or nay?

3. I no be Dr.but I support this move.

1. Which shows your complete lack of a brain

4. These people are nt alrite....Government have misplaced priorities. ..d teaching hospitals are under equipped, d best equipped federal hospitals r in d southwest (which is far from ideal) so wat do expect d other schools to produce. ..dey dnt hav enuff cadavers to work on...most students training r theory based in a profession where clinical experience can't be over emphasised! D foundation is bad and u want good Dr's. ..I laugh in swahili....d governing body MDCN is also useless...u dnt fight for d rights of ur people all u know ow to do is demand payment of dues....Some pple who have graduated for past 5yrs have nt smelt der permanent license unless u have CONNECTION...so dey shld realistic..it's bad enuff to have spent more dan d 6yrs in skool without resit! Den u have to go thru drama with NYSC. ..just negodu
    Angry PAM

1. This is why there is a brain drain in Nigeria medical field and the health institution is in shambles. Why can't the govt explain things better? Why play to the gallery?

Stella, when you finish as a medical student. You are inducted and Can practice as a doctor. But the medical board won't give you your certificate. Sometimes you wait 2 to 3yrs to get the paper. That is why people go for NYSC pending the time they receive it. So they don't stay around doing nothing. Mind you, most who go for NYSC have done their housemanship.
      This is a country where to get the housemanship placement is very difficult. You graduate from LUTH and LUTH will tell you there is no space for you to do your house job. Sometimes, you have to bribe your way there.
      Now, telling doctors that they must have gotten the certificate they earned and you fail to give them immediately due 2 ur incompetence before they serve is a time-waster and will endenger the rural areas who depend on NYSC doctors for medical attention. Fewer doctors. And many of our doctors will migrate abroad for greener pastures.

Policies should be well thought out before implementation please.

If there are quack doctors, look into your educational system instead of victimising people.

5. I think they should be totally banned but during their service year they should not act as medical doctors but either assistant to a qualified and certified doctor. ....The way the do in medical school.

1. Did you even read the post? They are reffering to people who are not doctors that go to rural areas and claim that they are doctors because not every doctor has received their MDCN license.

2. U are talking trash. STFU

3. Huh?!
      Once a medical student graduates from university he/she is inducted in to the medical profession and given a provisional license after which the individual would work as a house officer under supervision for a year. After this year ideally the MDCN should replace the provisional license with a full license to practice the medical doctor now goes for youth service. The issue here is most times after you complete house job pay for full reg and submit your forms they stack them up in their office and give you a receipt which in the past had been accepted at camp alongside your certificate. So a doctor presenting for NYSC has practiced for a minimum period of a year in a teaching hospital

4. Mscheeeew. Fine face, small brain..

5. Really small brain. Extremely small in fact non existent brain

6. Really small brain. Extremely small in fact non existent brain

7. Kikikikikikikik fine face, Mehn...the level of your stupidity is astounding....

Ok, lemme assume you didn't read the post and just move on,,,,lmao

8. A doctor should act as medical assistant like he did in school. I just don't get the way some people reason. God will not let you work in the capacity of an undergrad after you have graduated.

6. I think this decision is a good one. Let them be certified as medical doctors first before proceeding for NYSC

1. Please get your facts right. On graduating from medical school, your a doctor. You are given a temporary licence.
      You practise for one year as a house officer after which your given a full licence.
      Then proceed to NYSC. So what are you saying?
      The simple problem here is that the full registration is delayed by the MDCN so doctors cannot go for NYSC. simple.

7. Hmmm... not a doctor anyways but a scientist

8. oya ooo doctors in the house. My own is to continue to make more and more money. christmas is round the corner

9. Good one. All dis nysc docs will just be doing trial and error on human lives as if they have more than one life....

1. And they can be very proud,they be like 'I'm not going to the drilling ground,im going to the clinic,you know I'm a doctor' mtchewwwww yeye dei smell

2. See beefing... choi... y u nor read medicine nah?

3. Hv u forgotten that they enter the pay scale at a higher level and will always earn more than we do? Its the same all over the world though...thats why the training is so tough

10. Welcome idea.
    Change is here
    Sai Baba.

11. To the best of my knowledge, NYSC wasn't doing otherwise before now. A proof of completion of housejob as well as permanent license receipt ( until they recently insisted showing the permanent licence certificate) has always been a requirement for registration on camp. So there is nothing new here. Just emphasis being made.

1. Thank you...i m yet to get why this is news...maybe its the new implementation

12. Lol...really? Let's see if this will curb the whole quack ish

13. I support this has most of all these fresh medical graduate especially those who do their housemanship in a teaching hospital can be seen as a quack because they know nothing basically in terms of practically. The one year housemanship is to equip them before going for NYSC and later be confirmed has a medical officer but teaching hospitals don't create avenue for this as all they do is errand(blood work majorly) for the registrars while their counterpart in state hospital are allowed to really put their knowledge and skills to test.

Expecting cuss out from MO's buh you guys know am right.

1. Maybe you should face your studies first before criticizing others. Ur English is horrible

2. Hia! Chineke nyere umu gi aka. Lekwanu beke. . . Nne hope you're not a graduate, otherwise you are also quack

3. Ignorance on rampage.

14. This comment has been removed by the author.

15. Is a good news naa..
    NYSC is waste of time.

16. It's a great development but the license ppl should not use this as an avenue to frustrate doctors going for Nysc. Bc that's how things work in Nigeria. Once they know u can't do without d license, they will frustrate d life out of u, bribery will be do or die.

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Thats nice.....

18. Just seeing this sef.
    Normally that's how it's been or rather ought to have been. One isn't allowed to go for service except upon completion of his or her house job bt now adays whilst waiting for housejob most people opted to start going for service 1st.
    This way d public mis interpret and misuse d word quackery is annoying. What would a lay man know bout quackery in medical field. What might be perceived as quackery isn't always so

Well for d above,its a nice initiative bt then govt should as well put in place means to make getting house job easier.

19. I remember advising the poster who came here rejoicing that they would be going for the Corps service that the Federal Government hardly paid any attention to resolutions of the National Assembly. I guess I saw this coming. Besides, the Federal Government has a valid reason though. Medical Corps Members ought to be certified so that unqualified people will not be allowed access to handle fragile situations as people's health. In fact I laud this directive by the Federal Government as it really scares me to think that i could take my baby to the hospital and a quack ends up doing the unthinkable...God forbid abeg!

20. Qquacks r churned out coz they only chase blood sample results especially in the fédéral teaching hospital

21. But this has always been the norm , and this is the right approach, after houseMan ship before you are been given a permanent license.
    As a graduate you are given a provisional license.
    But NYSC is done after house job , so what is new here?

22. It has always been house job before Nysc. Hope I'm right? From MO, not getting their licence does not make them quack. Quack is not the right word to use.

23. It is welcome development, most of these doctors posted to villages are not qualified at all. Something happened during my nysc in KD, I was on injection before leaving Benin and I felt I couldn't drop such silly excuse of having injection therefore missing camp, I packed the injections carefully and left for Kd batch B, on getting there I explained to one of the soldier who allowed in before clearance, my people I went into the clinic and a Corp doctor attended to me, I explained and she asked for the injections which I provided, she injected me and, dt night was hellish I couldn't sleep, the next morning my bum was so swollen, I went back to complain. For 5 days I will open my yansh for red cross people to put ice block, after that eehh I avoided the clinic.

24. Nigeria likes to make simple things complicated. Simple solution is to state that no NYSC member would practice in the capacity of a doctor. They will limit their roles to medical assistants. How hard is that?

1. Smh. Just smh. Doctors should become assistants. Smh.

25. NYSC should be scrapped. It's way overrated.

Mrs N

26. It has always been like that and its ok to remain so

27. Scratching my head...why is this news?its always been like that...mdcn pls hasten things up also draw up a database of drs to exclude those who have already done housejob from doing another one.

There's no reason a medical graduate should be looking for placement for up to a year...none at all

28. This government need to learn how to express itself cod they cause more confusion trying to explain things than otherwise..

All I can say is, MDCN , na una cause this wahala..
    You guys need to sit up and process the certificates on time so that the doctors can have their main life seat most, during the last month of horsemanship.

Learn form the lawyers: you take a couple of days and complete your SC registration and go home with your Bar Certificate and NLC result.

29. Am I d only one who undastands that dis is a very good development. I think wht dey mean by quackrey is dt som ppl who hv no medical qualifications can forge all these docs except d permanent licence. So in order to avoid fake drs pararding demselves in camp dey had to resort to dis measure. In other news,thouugh unrelated. I am pregnant and very sad,I am married but we aren't just ready for a 2nd 1 yet. I mean how does one handle this. I wanted to take it out but I was just discourged by a dr. I wasn't on any family planing but my husband's pull out game is 100%. I mean he doesn't make mistake. I am so shocked,I thut it is only when d person comes inside u,dt u can take in. I hv just bin crying since.

1. Please don't think of taking out that precious child, u wil regret it later.
      Everything is going to turn out fine just believe

30. The content and the heading don't correlate. The content didn't Bar medical graduates from NYSC. Misleading journalism. I feel journalists are becoming more of our problems in this country.

MDCN is simply trying to fish out impersonators from acting as Drs. Why do people hate Drs so much in this country, yet fall back to dem when dey r needed. It's really wicked and unfair. Let's stop heating up the system in this country. I'm really shocked at some of the comments I'm reading.

MDCN should also sit up and be responsible. Dey should stop taking eternity before making Practicing Licenses available to Post-housemanship Drs who have paid for their license and full registration.