Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chiwetalu Agu Speaks On What Acting Wicked Characters Did To His life

Saturday, November 07, 2015

Chiwetalu Agu Speaks On What Acting Wicked Characters Did To His life

Popular Nollywood actor, Chiwetalu Agu, often acts the role of a wicked man in movies. And his depictions are so real that many fans believe that is his real character.Chiwetalu explains that the negative reaction of fans towards his wicked roles is what actually led him into acting comic roles. And also explains why he grabbed Anita Joseph's boobs in a movie. Excerpts:

You seem to have an affinity for comedies; why is that?
Chiwetalu Agu

I wouldn’t call it affinity. Years ago, I found out that most of the scripts that were brought to me didn’t have comic relief; I was always given roles of a wicked man and I got to understand that most of my fans were not pleased with it. Some of them felt it was something real, and the consequence was that whenever I stepped out in public, I was caught in embarrassing situations. I then decided to be infusing comic relief even when I’m playing wicked characters because I’m a veteran  screen writer. In the early 80s, we were operating in NTA Enugu, which was formerly Anambra Television Channel 50, so the talent is there, and I combined it with the wicked roles they were giving me. The result is that when you are watching me play a wicked role, you will still have cause to laugh, and ease your tension. In fact, I have achieved a lot by doing that.

Can you share instances when fans reacted to you with the belief that you’re a wicked man?

-They have done daring things. Some of their actions look like attacks, but with my experience as an entertainer, I will say I saw all that coming, so I was able to manage all of them very well. But one day, while I was on Onitsha ‘Head Bridge’ on my way to  Asaba, there was this traffic snarl that made us come out of the car. One fan came to hail me and slap me on the shoulder in the course of appraising my unique style of acting. Some other persons cautioned him, and he fired back by saying, ‘Don’t you know this man is my all-in-all? He makes me happy; whenever I’m not happy, I just slot in his movie, and I become happy.’ That was an embarrassing incident, but I saw it coming because that was the period I was playing evil diabolical roles.
However, I also touch lives, because sometimes when we shoot movies, it’s like we’re telling some people’s life story. You know, talking about what happens in various families where wicked uncles deal with their nephews and things like that. But like I said earlier, I thank God that I have found a way of getting people to laugh at the same time they watch me play wicked roles.

Recently, a picture of you grabbing the boobs of an actress, Anita Joseph, on a movie set went viral; what really happened?

-They are my daughters. It was a story, and we were playing our roles. Maybe you didn’t have time to watch that movie to understand what was going on. The main character in that movie was Ini Edo who was rascally, and more of a tom-boy. If she fought with my daughters, she would defeat them, so I did everything to prepare strong grounds for them to overpower her, but it wasn’t possible. So I said since that failed, let’s look for another way to prepare them to live their lives, so that any suitor who sees them will fall in love and marry them. That way, they will be useful since they failed in fighting a common enemy. The scene that went viral was where I was dressing them up for a burial ceremony that was coming up where I expected men to see them, and to find them attractive enough to take as wives. You know women’s bust plays a very big role in attracting any man who comes as a suitor, but people who wanted sensation made the picture go viral to sell their media. If I tell you now that I help some children in the motherless baby’s home, it may not be as sensational as when they say that I raped a minor.

But how does your wife react to scenes like that?

-If I have up to one million fans, my wife will be number one. The greatest joy she derives is watching me act; no matter how negative the role is, because she is the only person that knows me better than anyone else since we live together. She knows how gentle and wonderful I am. She also knows how philanthropic I am because I always love to help humanity. So when she sees me in those kinds of scenes, she knows I’m just acting. Each time I churn out a catch-phrase, byline or slogan, she laughs so hard that even the person who is one mile away will hear the sound. She doesn’t find anything I do in films embarrassing at all; the reverse is the case.

You mean she even tells you to do it better if she feels it’s not good enough?

-Yes, she chips in her own advice on how to make my acting more comical. She knows I’m a very strong comic character; comedy is in my nature, and that is the first thing that makes her happy that I’m her husband.

Vanguard extraction.

I remember when i just began my foray into Journalism,precisely a few months,I had written so much about Chiwetalu that he stormed my office with all his Newspaper and magazine cut out crying that i had stigmatized his name to comic actor or something....He lamented so much that i was sent an in house memo to leave him alone.my boss had a good laugh and i was happy i was on the field when he came visiting..lol

61 comments:

1. Otele ose!
      Otele ugba!

I love this man!!!

2. 'Igba nri na ofe'...hahahahahaha

3. OMG!!!! You just cracked me up! I remember otene nvene Lol. He always says something silly. There's one he said about "eku" with funke akindele.

4. The day I saw his glo bill board somewhere in abuja, the excitement that engulfed me was immeasurable, I was crying sef. Funny enough days later, I was gisting with my girlfriends and it slipped into the conversation and they also expressed how excited they were when they saw him as a glo ambassador. Big loveto him,my folks love him and I. Haven't met someone who doesn't

5. Is he married?
      They said he isn't married???? .....i don't want to be disappointed.
      I don't find him funny.

6. I remember now...eku ekute ife n'ite ofe. Lmao

7. This man is one of the best in nollywood.

2. I like this man and Patience like mad.
    I am sure people would think he is as wicked as he acts in real life.

3. No matter what i still love him and his acting. Period

1. Sexiest mother ! What's up? Thanks for your encouraging words. God bless u

Mummy sinacH

4. Stella dimoko!!! Onu ncha*

Crying u say?

Isorai*

5. i love the special slangs he uses in all his movies...

1. I thought he'd talk about why he infuses those funny slangs in all his movies... This interview isn't complete

6. #Igba nri na ofe
    #akwaaa m iko na nro

1. Ekwensu e romancia mami wota.
      University of ekwensu,akuzielum mpù.
      Mmiri amaa efi n'anya.
      Agam ata gi otule.

7. Lol. I just like him most especially because of his slangs. He must have a new slang for each movie.

Jesus is Lord.

8. He stormed your office years ago because you reduced him to comic roles, but today he's happy that he has infused comedy into his acting!!!! Chiwetalu Agu, enjoy the fame and please stay away from the media.....

9. I love his movies, he always has a silly slang.

10. Ekwensu e romancia mamiwota! LMAO

11. I love wen he is paired wit Patience Ozokwor as a couple. A very good actor he is.

12. Abeg I like him oh.

All his funny talks makes my day anytime I watch his movies.

Umu nwanyi ajado akwamiko oji.
    Lmao

13. I luv ds man eh, d way he twisted his mouth when talking, d slangs, his funny moves, pls Mr keep taking d evil roles, we luv u more and more

14. Lol, Stellakork I miss Ur celebrity yansh opening sha...... U where know and too good for dat.... I love dis man like hummmm

15. This man with his slangs....lol.

16. I love him, the dude makes me laugh nevertheless

17. Waoooo! I love this man like mad with his special slangs in each movie. Mmiri ama efi na Anya.lmao!.

18. I love his movies/his slangs

19. Ara nwanyi Asaba

20. I still love seeing him in films, despite his wicked roles.

21. Chinwetalu with his funny slangs makes him Unique, ride on sir!

22. Ike lọlọ emee puu
    Mmiri mara ogede
    Akwam akwa,n'elu akwa akwara akwa dị n'elu akwa
    Akwam iko oji.
    Obosi na ajọ ụzọ

Pls continue ooooo,my Chiwetalụ fans.
    Hahahaha

23. What would patience Uzokwu now say?

24. Akwa m iko na nro
    Mmiri Ama efi na anya
    Add urs lolz

25. I love him like crazy... Nee kwa ike wa a na ezo ka a na aboghe. Lmao

26. Imagine! The conconbility!!!. hope I got it right? hehehe. I love watching his movies especially when paired with patience ozokwor.

1. Yes that conconbility really got me, the guy is good in his own way...

27. Stereotyped but fantastic actor wt his unique slangs for evry movie. Well done sir.

28. I love his slangs like kilode. He makes me watch dem movies.

*AyahShehu*

29. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Legend abeg no doubt....

30. Okotorigba!!! Otelu ugba, Otelu ose

31. When I watched a movie he said " imagine the conconbility"....I looked 4 d meaning severally until it dawned on me it was abracadabra lol
    Nsi ato N'ike...smiling I wonder where he gets them from
    **vianson**

32. Lolz! I don't think anyone hate him, he is a professional! Carry-on sir! Stella u said he cried! Hmmm

33. Hahahahhahaha. Ike gbara ochichiri!!! Kai, this man finished Ini Edo in Nkasi the Village fighter.

34. I hardly watch home videos but wen i flip thru and see anyone he is one,i just click OK. His slangs makes me laugh a lot. Ride on sir,u are just unique

35. Chinwetalu Agu!! Nothing great like carving a niche and creating ur own style!!!
    Some of his famous hilarious sayings:

Nnemu-Njai,

Udele anyuo Nsi na Altar!!

Nya nya mpu!!!,

Mmiri ama efi n' anya,

Ekwe mgbaduga,

Imagine the cocombility!!!

Ekwensu enwe phone number

Igba nri na ofe

Anowa m ike

Nmiri nsi agho Nmiri nso

Gbamu ukwu n'eze

nwamputu

ovoko

Etelu ugba etelu ose

......etc

And earlier today saw an advert where he said:

"Ndi mkpumkpu ataa chi ha uta" and that really cracked me up.... hahhaha

Stella

36. Chinwetalu Agu!! Nothing great like carving a niche and creating ur own style!!!
    Some of his famous hilarious sayings:

Nnemu-Njai,

Udele anyuo Nsi na Altar!!

Nya nya mpu!!!,

Mmiri ama efi n' anya,

Ekwe mgbaduga,

Imagine the cocombility!!!

Ekwensu enwe phone number

Igba nri na ofe

Anowa m ike

Nmiri nsi agho Nmiri nso

Gbamu ukwu n'eze

nwamputu

ovoko

Etelu ugba etelu ose

......etc

And earlier today saw an advert where he said:

"Ndi mkpumkpu ataa chi ha uta" and that really cracked me up.... hahhaha

Stella

37. Cotuma otele ntu!