Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Insists That Some Minister Will Not Have Portfolios...

Wednesday, November 04, 2015

Buhari Insists That Some Minister Will Not Have Portfolios...

Anxiety among the 36 ministers-designate heightened, yesterday, after President Muhammadu Buhari reiterated that the nation’s economy can not support 36 ministers with portfolios.

The tension among the ministers-designate was also being compounded by the dithering on the inauguration of the new federal cabinet.

No date has been scheduled for the inauguration of the cabinet, and many of the ministers-designate, Vanguard gathered, are hanging around Abuja for the call from the Presidency to assume office.
High ranking presidency officials kept mum on when the new cabinet would be inaugurated.

President Buhari, who last week said that some ministers would not have portfolios, during his visit to India, reiterated that point, yesterday, as he affirmed that he would not shy away from saying that the economy cannot support 36 ministers with separate portfolios.
Vanguard extraction.

I am confused here...What would the Ministers without portfolios do as work?Will they get paid?

43 comments:

1. Then those without portfolios should be freed. Why answer a minister when you are not assigned any ministry.

1. Na real wa. Am beginning to wonder why this buhari ever contested for the Presidential seat. What is the meaning of this? At d end of d day, he will give his Northern Ministers portfolios and ignore those from the south and east. Ok o

2. Am confused too. Some of the ministers said they are ready to work for free. But how can they work without pay. I don't see that as possible.

www.beinspiredwithmily.com

3. He concern am o because i don tire. No water for days now in my area

4. This man is fast getting on my nerves.

If some wouldn't have portfolios, why waste their time and that of the Senate officials who sat through their screening exercise?

I thought he said the country is broke, so why waste the little available funds on a useless exercise?

Or does he plan to just have them hanging around, waiting for some opportunity to showcase their expertise in their designated ministries?
    I don't want to believe that he plans to have them on a payroll when they haven't done any work.
    Maybe he didn't expect all of them to scale through the screening... So he was trying to make up for a possible shortfall. At least, I sincerely hope that's it.

1. Gbam! U av hit d nail on d head...Stella I need a like button to like this comment abeg

5. But they will be collecting salary?

6. I watched Buhari yesterday, say: 'the truth is the only way to go'. While I agree with him, I do not think coming out to tell Nigerians that the economy cannot support the ministers is very wise. If indeed the economy can't support 36 ministers, what he should have done was to ask the NA to ammend that part of the constitution which stipulates that every state in Nigeria must produce a minister.
    I also think that the 4 months used in waiting for the appointment of ministers could have been used to implement the above, being that it is in line with our economic reality.
    In all this, I know Nigeria isn't as broke as the economist makes it seem. However, if they didn't threaten and reiterate the implications, they would not be economists or would they?

1. Stranger, if he had done that, those crying about being marginalized would still complain.

7. According to President Buhari, some of the ministerial nominees will end up as sitting members of the Federal Executive Council as the govt can't pay them all....

8. Confused ppl. This Dullard will say something, his confused media aide will come say he was misinterpreted and say another and then the Dullard will come and still insist. Never seen any govt as confused as this one.

Anyways one, my igbo brothers who were grudgingly included, get ready not to have portfolios

1. LOL. Pessimistic gutter rat.
      O ma ke ku ni.

2. I am very sure u r more confused about your own life.

3. I am very sure u r more confused about your own life.

4. You were clearly not alive during Jonathan's reign.

5. This same dullard is ur president....How about dat?

9. It's do for work . Dum dum .

10. This Buhari sef.
    They would work offline I guess or as ghost workers.
    I don't even understand anymore and this ministers talk has become tiring.

11. Baba GoSlow is clueless.
    Ministers without portfolios?
    Are you kidding me?

Nigerians, this is what you get.by electing a semi illiterate as ur President.

12. .....Provided MY boo gets a portfolio,i chọptas not for others

13. Nonsense new government ,those that voted him in should ask him ,confused president

14. a man that I thought has sense

#GODWIN™

15. all yu buharians open yah eyes.. ds dude dosent knw shii..

16. all yu buharians open yah eyes.. ds dude dosent knw shii..

17. Can't you assimilate things? The economy cannot support 36 means the economy can't pay 36 ministers. They won't have portfolios means they won't be heading any ministry but they'll be in the cabinet and can vote when its required.

1. The sooner u accept facts the better for u oooo....bubu is dumb and slow kpom!

2. The sooner u accept facts the better for u oooo....bubu is dumb and slow kpom!

3. So d econimy doesnt have money and they cant slash the salaries of d ministers that where all fighting for the post? Soon they will give Niger-Delta only one minister portfolio

18. Old people dont think straight. Our President is confused. He thinks he is still in 1978. Let's support him till 2019,then he will move back home to become the Emir of Daura

19. Anything from my able president. Merge the ministries. Reduce cost of governance. Do u people know how much it takes to pay dis thieves. There are still like 500 more appointments to be made but the president is putting them on hold pending when d economy stabilize. Give dis man credit the passed administration milked us dry with the hope of coming back to office and cover their smelly ass. Even Okonjo Iwela warned us to tighten our belt because she knows what is happening. Let's be realistic Nigeria was never good not to talk of better.

20. So what will they be doing then?

21. Stella, it is quite amazing that as a Journalist, you'd not take time to get enlightened but rather play to the gallery and post such comments as "Would the Ministers without portfolios be paid?"

The issue is NOT Buhari or any President for that matter, the problem is the Nigerian Constitution. The constitution is clear, if there would be any Minister, then there MUST be ONE FROM EACH STATE! That implies 36 of them!

So the President MUST first comply with the constitution even if he intends to work with the National Assembly to amend the provision. The constitution MUST be respected otherwise the President would open himself to impeachment proceedings.

1. Thank you for this clarification better person. Buhari/ osinbajo may the good LORD give you wisdom.

22. This is seriously getting boring

23. This is change era. they should be happy they are in Buhari's cabinet.

I will not call him dullard or baba go slow. his new name is BABA WAKA FAST AND BABA CLUEFUL.

24. Nigerians wit our myopic way of reasoning! We v allowed our tribalistic nature cloud our sense of reasoning.
    Truth be told,Nigeria is in distress simply Cuz of Tribalism n bigotry.
    Allow pmb to do his thing,.if it doesn't work out well,we vote him out in d next four years.
    Is Dat too much?? Mtcheew.

1. Mumu, and u must call us myopic because we aired our views. Once u don't agree with a thing, it's either u are tagged a hater o'er some oda stuff. Last time I checked, freedom of speech is still allowed so air live and let odas live too.

2. @Anon 11:56,I can see u can't read n comprehend,now go get an id,show ur ugly face n ama skool ur dullard brain up....

25. Hmmm.. I just dey observe.

**Som Baby**

26. @SDK and her ignorant BVs how can anyone ever say this? I am confused here...What would the Ministers without portfolios do as work?Will they get paid?

think harder biko because you all have brains.

1. Lol
      U tink stella no sabi wetin dey? She just wan know how intelligent her followers be..