This Letter was published same day (yesterday) that the EFCC chairman Lamorde was relieved of his job as the anti crime Boss.
I do not know if there is any connection between Lamorde's sack and this young Lawyers fight for Justice but i do know that that a section of Nigerians rejoiced over the sack....
Your Excellency,
SENATOR GODSWILL AKPABIO, IBRAHIM LAMORDE, IGP SOLOMON ARASE, THE CONSPIRACY THEORY AND THE JUDGEMENT OF HISTORY
I write with a deep feeling of melancholy to further bring to your notice my earlier concerns about the war against corruption under the notorious leadership of Ibrahim Lamorde led-EFCC as expressed in my previous letter to you dated 19th October, 2015.
It would be recalled that sequel to my petitions against the former Governor Akpabio’s administration dated 8th, 22nd June and August 3rd respectively, the Senate Minority leader was invited by the EFCC and after his departure from the Commission he bragged to his supporters that Lamorde was under his control and nothing reasonable would come out of his investigation. It was against this background that I raised an alarm urging the federal government to sack Lamorde since it was apparent that justice would not be done to our petitions taking into consideration the deliberate and unnecessary delays at investigations and possible prosecution.
During my interview on a guest show (O and M) televised by AIT, I accused Ibrahim Lamorde of having interests in contracts awarded by Akwa Ibom State government. This fact Senator Akpabio mentioned to me on June 22nd, 2015.
Ostensibly angered by this allegation, Lamorde summoned me on October 26th via the head of its economic governance unit and for nine (9) hours battled by compulsion to get me recant my allegation and withdraw my petitions against Akpabio. I stood my ground and maintained that the EFCC leadership was “hand in gloves” with Senator Godswill Akpabio.
On November 2nd, one DSP Chuks Ibe from the FCT Police command invited me to answer to a petition written against me by Lamorde. During the course of this interrogation, DSP Chuks Ibe dictated how I should write my statement and personally informed me of his interactions with Senator Godswill Akpabio.
Consequently, on November 5th, 2015 during my routine interview session at the FCT command, I was led before the Gudu district Upper Area Court on a malicious charge of defamation and giving false information.
The excruciating persecution between the EFCC and the Nigerian Police reveals the conspiracy theory involving the trio of Godswill Akpabio, IGP Solomon Arase and Ibrahim Lamorde.
Your Excellency, I cannot agree less with you that unless we kill corruption, corruption will or may kill us. The actions and desperation of IGP Solomon Arase and indeed Lamorde is a clear case of deliberate intimidation, orchestrated falsehood and a diversionary attempt to actualize their aim of ensuring that Senator Akpabio evades Justice.
We recall the dark era of IGP Arase’s tenure as Commissioner of police in Akwa Ibom under the leadership of former Governor Akpabio and the unholy alliance of the EFCC Chairman, Ibrahim Lamorde with Akpabio. This is indeed a very dangerous trend of amalgamating PDP forces to paint the image of this administration in bad light.
At this juncture Mr. President, let me assure you of my unalloyed and irrevocable commitment to your avowed zeal to fight corruption and put Nigeria on the path towards National development amongst the comity of Nations.
No degree of intimidation and persecution will derail my resolve to pursue and stand by my petitions to its logical conclusion.
My passionate appeal to you is that you strengthen our anti-graft agencies with incorruptible helmsmen and scrutinize the activities of the Nigerian Police Force under Arase before it gets out of hand. Without mincing words, the duo of Arase and Lamorde are still acting out the script of their former paymasters, the PDP and this is most unacceptable.
As for the malicious prosecution orchestrated against me, I take solace in God Almighty, who is a just judge to vindicate me at the end of this malicious trial.
I humbly urge you sir, to intervene and call these centrifugal forces to order.
Finally, your Excellency, and without much ado, the time to relieve these unpatriotic elements of their duties is now.
Yours truly,
Barrister Leo Ekpenyong
9th November, 2015.
Original letter by Saharareporters.
Lamorde cup don full long-time ago. He was just there occupying space. He's a very corrupt person.
ReplyDeleteArase is next
DeleteHmmm Arase is in trouble o. See analysis and implication. Chai
DeleteToo early for epistle na. I don't have exams to write.
ReplyDeleteArase, you're next!
ReplyDeleteBuhari is becoming controversial.
ReplyDeleteI haven't seen any tangible thing he has done since hins resumption as the president
I tell you. Lets continue watching him naw like telemundo
DeleteDumbo! Is that what the article you read is all about? Did you even read it?
DeleteThis unavailing lawyer should just STFU.
ReplyDeleteThis is an open secret that Lamorde is very corrupt. And it got nothing to do with Akpabio
This nugatory lawyer should be campaigning. to get the Daura dullard to start with Abachas and Baba Iyabo in the false anti corruption campaign.
Nonsense!!
DeleteHmmmm
ReplyDeleteLets see how this goes in court.
Cos if by what i know, the max akpabio will ever be guilty of is breach of public trust or abuse of office which is like a 6months sentence.
These people have found a way to evade justice and can afford the best lawyers.
Fashola said he doesnt sign cheques and people were happy and clapping, i was heart broken cos that doesnt vindicate him of what he did. Akpabio too didnt aign any cheques neither do ministers and political or elect govt officials.
So i dey wait.
People seem to forget that even bode george wasnt jailed cos he stole, it was contract splitting hence a slap on the wrist
As in! I weep for us
DeleteAs in! I weep for us
DeleteEven if it's one day, he will be a convict and that's what matters...
DeleteInfact, even if he's convicted and sentencing delayed, it will unravel everything!
I hope EFCC does the needful where Akpabiois concerned, it's about time!
Applaudise Barrister Leo. This is how to go about being a change agent unlike some people taking pictures and felicitating a married woman.
ReplyDeleteAkpabio's down fall will be his bragging. Na so the guy go brag about helping one senator wey lose election after counting of vote, win. What surprised me was that he even asked the senator to stand up for recognition and whats more shocking; INEC did nothing.
As in ehn..
DeleteOk...
ReplyDeleteBarrister Leo, God bless you for this petition. Larmode has being a thief right from time, and thank you he has been exposed. If only we have more people like Barrister Leo. Thank God he is not from the North before they will say you are working for Buhari or APC.
ReplyDeleteOk. Seen
ReplyDelete#onlyinNigeria will someone read this long epistle and drop this kind of comment.
DeleteNo degree of intimidation and persecution can stop our combined effort as a country to stop corruption. Well done barrister!
ReplyDeleteWhy mention PDP?.
ReplyDeleteThats my only problem with the letter. Why mention pdp
DeleteLeo Ekpeyong was two years my Junior in Unibuja and law school, his petition has absolutely nothing to do with the removal of EFCC Chairman Lamorde. Lamorde's tenure has expired and was asked to go on terminal leave which is the usual practice.
ReplyDeleteLeo Ekpeyong was once close to Akpabio when he was governor and from what i gathered Leo benefited immemsely from him financially.Today Umana O Umana is using Leo to fight Akpabio and under Umana's pay role. Leo is bitting the finger that fed him. He is so desperate for power and fame. He brags now that he single handedly removed lamorde....lol
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteOriginal letter by Saharareporters? Oh I get what this is all about.
ReplyDeleteLmao...
'Godswill' Akpabio and his brother-in-corruption 'Goodluck' Jonathan prove there is nothing in a name.
ReplyDeleteThis man may pride himself of his "uncommon transformation" but only for the uncritical thinkers.
He presided over a revenue equal to that of many African countries combined - but nothing commensurate to show for it. Properly managed, Akwa Ibom should be in the league of city states like Dubai, not Jos.
It doesn't take the discerning much to figure that the corruption case stated him is only a tip of the iceberg. Little wonder he was so militant in his support of Goodluck Jonathan - they worked from the premise of a re-elected corrupt government of GEJ to keep their rape of the wealth of the people under wraps.
Both the hand of nemesis and the wheel of justice turns so so slow, but we are determined to wait. With no holds barred, he pushed his diabolical will down the throat of Akwaibomites, both in corruption and imposition of his selected office holders. I wonder what heavy price Edom Emmanuel had to pay to get his governorship ticket, and why he lacks the capacity to forcefully remove him from state property since May 29.
I can never fully believe in a "Change" that leaves this sort of atrophy like Akpabio walking freely in Nigeria, let alone make laws for me.
Don't be deceived by his new soft posturing, deceptively supporting cut of governance in the national assembly. He is an anathema to everything that we hold dear in this country.
Ghanaman signing out!!!
Oh shut up. You talk too much
DeleteGhanaman reading your comments is a delight anytime, any day.
DeleteBut Tinubu and his APC cronnies are saints yea?? Same with Remi that used LASG money to build the white elephant new era foundation in ibeju??
DeleteIdiot hav u been to akwa ibom state.. Ara gbachie gi anya
DeleteGet ready for Gej supporters.
DeleteGhanaMan Pls think before u type.what did u know about Akwa-Ibom
DeleteMake dem come na! Person go fear cow fear him shit again??? See o!
DeleteGhanaman signing out!
For the first time ever, you make sense!!!!
DeleteThe money we collected in those 8 years mehn, it should set us light years ahead of every other state in this country.
Ok ooo. God has heard your prayers. You can now rest and stop disturbing us with this long essay.
ReplyDeleteGod have mercy on nigeria.
ReplyDeleteToo many controversies in this new administration.
ReplyDeleteI hope Buhari will not make me regret supporting him.
Barrister Leo, u have won because Lamorde has been fired. So celebrate ur victory.
ReplyDeleteOk, akpabio dakkada and leave, ubiak.
ReplyDeleteHmm.
ReplyDeleteIf only pmb will acknowledge this your letter......watching out!
Nigerian's will never stop surprising me, akpabio transform akwa ibom state unlike so many Governors that were just stealing the money,before this time, who new akwa ibom state? wake up and appreciate something for once. if buhari is truly transparent as he claim to be he should probe tinubu, obasinjo cos we all know the truth about this two. for this charge and bail lawyer that has never worn any case in court before, m' not surpraise, this is an akwa ibom man's attitude, there never appreciate anything good,there will make sure there bring you down by all mean physical or spiritual in their witch craft. i have one in my office you don't need to do them anything before there come for you. this is just envy.
ReplyDeleteWith this ur English, i'm not surprised he got u fooled as well!
DeleteThe corruption in the country is so deep that every day more things are being unfold. Looking at this piece now u wonder what Akpabio could still be looking for in the senate. Its so sad. Buhari might take fours years cleaning this country
ReplyDeleteN the change keep happening but only in d wrong direction.
ReplyDeleteThis is the change we all prayed for oh. On a lighter note, argh ah Money maker? hmmm You never cease to amaze me. God be praised!
ReplyDeleteLALA
Justice is all we Akwa Ibom people need.
ReplyDeleteThe debt that this Akpabio has left for the people, my grandchildren wil still be paying.
The noise he made was more than the jobs he did.
I pray justice shows up n most of the cash to be retrieved from him.
OK! change mode activated!
ReplyDeleteHe was soooo corrupt , can't wait to see him behind the dock 😀