Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abobaku Of Ile-Ife - Myth And Present Day Reality!

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Abobaku Of Ile-Ife - Myth And Present Day Reality!

Do you actually know that the Abobaku gist in Ile - Ife is real?

The Abobaku (Also called Saarun) is a 'special ingredient' that leads the road to heaven when the Oba dies .When an oba dies, the Abobaku must follow him whether he is ready to die or not....

This tradition of burying the Abobaku alive with the King actually took place centuries ago and was only actualised when ONE KING died.This practice was fortunately Abolished during the Reign of Oba Adesoji Aderemi.

Insiders whisper that even though this tradition has been abolished long ago,not many know this,thus When Oba Sijuwade passed on in July 2015, the "special ingredient" actually took to his heels and disappeared for one month thinking he would be forced to lead the way......

I am sure he is out of hiding now.....LMAO!
I am also sure the new Abobaku be like .....''cant wait to resume duty..''

40 comments:

1. Lol...abi Stella<who wan die..no food,no money,no good road bt no one wants to die..Abobaku ko,abobasun ni

1. Where's money maker? Hope you've read this?

2. This language people self!
      Smh

3. Potable, continue to shake your head till it falls down.

Money maker can eventually lay this matter to rest now. Yorubas, like other tribes in Nigeria had old traditions which has been done away with. There are even worst traditions which still exist in other tribes, but Money maker will not see those ones. His acute hatred for the Yorubas makes him capitalise on the smallest loophole.

He refuses to see anything wrong in women scraping their head for their dead husbands even when the Bible forbids it. They bathe the poor bereaved woman with the water they used in bathing her husband 's corpes. The wicked one(possibly the killer) craftily poisons the water so that the woman dies and everyone just concludes she killed him. Then they roll out sharing formula for the properties, leaving the children out.

What a wicked world!

4. Dear Anonymous 15:11... Blame also those who applaud him when he displays his pathetic ignorance on this blog. Very distasteful.

2. These are Awo boys naa....I can see dier durrtttyyy hostel.
    Shout to all Great Ife Students....Aluta against all oppression.

3. Lol!
    Seriously, some agelong customs and traditions really need to be looked into. We are in the new world now!

4. Lols @took to his heels. Stella, do research on the seven human heads that are allegedly being buried with a Yoruba dead king.

5. Hmmmmmm
    If I hear...

They shld stop it biko

The only person that lead my way its God

6. Abobaku - he who dies with the king

7. yes o but eh dem bury odas alive chai

#GODWIN™

8. Lmao kikikikiki who life hard? Life sweet Jare

9. Lol..
    Glad it has been abolished.the "abobaku" refused to take chances hence the ben johnson.

This reminded me of ikemefuna in "Things fall apart" and the circumstances that led to okonkwo killing him.
    "My father,you have killed me" still rings in my ears.

1. Me too I just remembered Ikemefuna.very sad tale.

Thankfully all dese babaric practices,both known and unknown have bn abolished.

On a lighter note,look how "dese" people woke Money Maker from sleep LMAO

2. Lol..@ "how these people woke money maker up from sleep. They are stirring the hornet nest..

3. @Norrie
      That part was very emotional.
      @TGW..immediately I saw Abo... I was like osetigo!!!!

10. Do u blame him? If it's u, won't u run too?

11. Hain, what a tradition. Find it hard to believe.

*Ayah Shehu *

12. Stella talk true... If na you, you go gree wait ????

13. Special ingredient kwa! Human being was seen as an ingredient to the dead's way to heaven! Oga.
    Money maker, hope you won't see this post. Wishing you'll be in worker's meeting till 7pm in church. *LOL* funny guy.

14. Money maker, get in here and educate yourself. Byeee.

15. It can never be abolished.

16. Hmmmm I hope it has truly been abolished though. Some traditions are purely barbaric I swear.

17. They still bury with human heads. If not, how else do grown ups just get lost? A man of 35 yrs or a woman of 27 yrs go dey miss...just like dat? Cos dem no sabi ask for directions or wetin? They've been used as 'special ingredients' abeg!

*Ghanaman signing out*

1. It is better you stay in your dark-end Ghana. And when enlightened people, I mean sensible people are talking, just sign out without saying a word. So it is today people starts to get missing? Or do kings in yoruba land die everyday?

I could remember when late ooni was buried,, the king makers specifically came out and announced no one was missing. And yet you open your gutter mouth to say things you can't substantiate..

Mtcheew....next.

18. Actually I scrolled down looking for his comment...
    Will be back to check for it. MM, abeg quick finish that ya workers meeting jare.

19. Interesting bt am not sure its been fully stopped.

20. I think it's still on but in secret. Moreover, I can't pity any abobaku except if he was forced to be one. Coz u can't decide to enjoy with the kind and when it's time to die with him, u run away. For wat? U must die too.

21. If it has been truly abolished,the Abobaku wouldn't have taken to his heels.