Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Worst Airports In the World 2015

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Worst Airports In the World 2015

Every year, SleepingInAirports conducts a survey asking travellers to rate their airport experiences based on the services and facilities available within the terminal, cleanliness, customer service, comfort and their overall airport experience. Looking worldwide, there are a lot of airports that didn't quite make the grade. Those that top the charts for worst airports in the world collected the most negative feedback from voters over the past year. These airports fall flat in terms of providing any kind of enjoyable overall airport experience. Instead, they're dirty, uncomfortable, unfriendly and lack the most basic of services and amenities. They elicit passionate critiques from those who visit them, and countless warnings for future travellers to avoid these places at all costs. That said, if you do find yourself at one of the following 10 terminals, bring a serious amount of patience because you'll most definitely need it!
Here are the Top 10 Worst Airports in the World based on overall airport experience as determined by voters in this 2015 Airport Survey:

1. Port Harcourt International Airport, Nigeria (PHC)

This has to be the most corrupt airport in the world. 'Bring money' as they say in PH. It's a standing joke. - a traveller
Ranked as the worst airport in Africa and one of the worst in the world, voters suggested Port Harcourt Airport should also win the title of most corrupt airport in the world. The terminal's unpleasant and unhelpful staff help to earn it this trifecta of atrocious awards. With virtually no seating, broken air-conditioning and a tent for an Arrivals Hall, it was a struggle for many voters to pass the minimum required amount of time here. The good news is that some areas of the terminal have been recently renovated, meaning you can expect actual walls, floors and windows. Though it is a far cry from reasonable, improvements are being made. 
Photo courtesy of ur4ela on Instagram

2. Jeddah King Abdulaziz International Airport, Saudi Arabia (JED)

Immigration is a joke! Too few staff and when they are behind their desks they have no sense of urgency and will fiddle with their mobiles or chat to others. - a traveller
Jeddah's International Airport elicited fervent responses from voters who were annoyed by the chaotic, crowded, unclean airport, particularly within the Hajj terminal. From smoking in non-smoking areas to the bathroom odour wafting out into the lounges, few people sang praises after spending time here. Multi-hour immigration queues with distracted and absent officers further aggravated travellers. All in all, JED is decidedly un-sleepable and arguably un-visitable. A number of voters suggested booking layovers elsewhere – at all costs. Travellers can however take heart - the new Jeddah Airport is said to be 85% complete and scheduled to open mid-2016. Hardly soon enough by the sounds of it! Most travellers familiar with the current JED just hope that the new airport comes with new staff and customs/immigration officers.

Photo Courtesy of Kалой Ахильгов (@akaloy) on Twitter

3. Kathmandu Tribhuvan International Airport, Nepal (KTM)

I had purposely dehydrated myself, so I wouldn't have to use the restroom there - a traveller
Though Nepal's only international airport gathered ample criticism over the past year, it is important to remember that the country itself has been under considerable pressure. In March 2015, a Turkish Airlines flight overshot the runway and skidded off the tarmac, closing the runway for several days. More severely, in April 2015 a devastating earthquake hit the country. The airport struggled to repair their sole runway and restore a flight schedule amidst a national emergency in an already struggling nation. Given this, voters had understandably poor experiences at the airport, particularly within the domestic terminal. Said to resemble a bus station, the terminal is most remembered for the poor state of its restrooms. The good news is that KTM is currently re-building the much-loathed domestic terminal. Officially, the terminal was set to be completed by the end of 2013 but recent events have stalled the official opening.
Photo courtesy of alexcavallo on Instagram

4. Tashkent International Airport, Uzbekistan (TAS)

This airport is one of Dante's circles of hell. The number one activity is waiting. - a traveller
Tashkent International Airport acts as the primary airport for Central Asia. In spite of a few recent upgrades to the departures area, the queues and crowds at TAS continue to be a frustrating experience. Though queues at security are to be expected, TAS boasts remarkable queues at all stages of the airport experience. Worsening the situation is that these queues are often chaotic-verging-on-aggressive, and lack any form of crowd control. Travellers should be prepared to quite literally defend their spot in the mob from pushy passengers. After security, there are chairs in climate-controlled rooms, but securing one is of course, another story.

5. Caracas Simón Bolívar International Airport, Venezuela (CCS)

I´ve been to many airports but this airport.... biggest chaos ever, no matter if you´re at the international or domestic airport. - a traveller

According to voters in this year's survey, Caracas International Airport is chaotic, uncomfortable and dull. An absence of chairs and dirty bathrooms worsen the experience here – to say nothing of the low quality of food. Floor space is basically the only option for catching some shut eye during a layover, though the unsanitary conditions and nosey police officers will go out of their way to make this difficult. All said, the airport's main redeeming features are the free WiFi and its two private lounges. Splurging for a day pass at the Admirals or Premier Club certainly eases the pains of a visit here.

Photo Courtesy of gaboa_ on Instagram

6. Port au Prince Toussaint Louverture International Airport, Haiti (PAP)

I was stranded here for 8 hours waiting in 95 degree and no air-conditioning. Locals were yelling and screaming about the wait. - a traveller

What travellers remember from time spent at the Port au Prince airport is the sweltering heat, the lack of chairs and a number of untrustworthy staff. Peace of mind and comfort are decidedly absent here, as are basic bathroom supplies in the washrooms that are cleaned sporadically at best. The baggage porters also collect their fare share of complaints for being overly aggressive and demanding. If travelling through here, this year's voters strongly recommend keeping valuables and snacks with you. The good news is that renovations are said to be currently underway, giving a little bit of hope to the future of PAP. 
Photo Courtesy of jaythebanker on Instagram

7. Kabul Hamid Karzai International Airport, Afghanistan (KBL)

Kabul International Airport has NO Facility at all. Adding it will be an improvement - a traveller

Given the current political state of Afghanistan relative to other nations on this global list, we're reluctant to criticize Kabul's international airport too harshly. KBL's international terminal has undergone a number of renovations over the last decade, making it a little more friendly to travellers. The domestic terminal does however leave much to be desired. Voters complain about overall cleanliness, a lack of comfort and the accountability of staff – but again, given the violence that often affects the airport directly, we understand that there are more significant concerns. 
Photo Courtesy of ben_acheson on Instagram

8. Ho Chi Minh City Tân Sơn Nhất International Airport, Vietnam (SGN)

The only way this airport can improve is to get rid of all the bribery, you have to pay just to get out of the airport. - a traveller.

Ho Chi Minh City Airport's rating has deteriorated in recent years thanks to allegations of corruption. Numerous survey respondents reported that customs officers ask for bribes in order to move through the process faster, and those that declined paying quickly faced problems or delays with their paperwork. Other complaints include poor Wi-Fi signals, dirty bathrooms and limited selection of restaurants. If visiting this airport, be sure to keep your valuables hidden and some small cash on hand – and consider filling up at the nearby Burger King before entering the terminal itself. 

Photo courtesy of katelormor on Instagram.

9. Islamabad Benazir Bhutto International Airport, Pakistan (ISB)

Security Staff are rude mannered, will not respond to your queries like you are not there. - a traveller

Ranked the world's “Worst Airport of 2014,” ISB has seen improvements in facilities and services over the past year. In December 2014 the airport's unofficial Twitter account made mention that the airport was working to improve the 'guest experience'. Since then they have upgraded the bathrooms, opened a new lounge and increased the number of check-in and immigration counters. The airport has also been working away on a much anticipated and much needed new terminal, which is set to be open towards the end of 2016. Until then, the existing terminals are still in need of a good scrub, and crowd control continues to be a problem. Staff have a ways to go in terms of providing a welcoming experience to guests, and improvements might begin with cracking down on corruption. 
Photo courtesy of bepperaymaekers on Instagram

10. Paris Beauvais-Tille International Airport outside Paris, France (BVA)

If the 7th Circle of Hell were a place on earth, it would be "Paris" Beauvais-Tillé. - a traveller

By global standards, Paris Beauvais' airport could be considered an upgrade in comparison to other airports on this list. Located in what is plausibly a sparsely furnished converted factory with pre-fabricated “temporary” 10-year old extensions, BVA was voted this year to be the worst airport in Europe. Grievances from voters are detailed and far-reaching, but generally revolve around the absence of chairs, kind staff, sufficient toilets and hygienic standards. Allegedly, there is Wi-Fi available at a cost to help ease your sorrows as you wait elbow-to-elbow for your flight; however, getting your hands on the password is apparently another mission in and of itself.

sleepinginairports.net extract.

74 comments:

1. No airport can beat Omagwa when it comes to corruptness and terrible handling of everything.

1. I thought MM1 would be on this list

2. Thank God murtala no join. Wouda thot saudi arabia has a standard airport.

3. Kia that PH airport is beyond bad. U will sweat like roasted chicken, no communications what @ all when flights are delayed. Came in yesterday the immigration guy was all about me settling him oh say I buy plenty things and na only me travel. Told him der were 4 my kids, d guy dey argue say I won sell am. Na so I begin tear d labels give am. Did not give him a dime and he delayed me well.

4. Emirates has the best airport in the world! 5star everything. Ph arrival lounge is d worst ever. The departure is not so terrible. For easy international travel from any airport in naija, just carry 200 naira notes plenty. U will fly tru all the processes with jet speed. Heathrow is a nightmare as in busy busy. But clean environment n wifi. Just like all the airports in the Uk anyway. Airports in the states are standard too. Some better than others depending on the city or town. Thailand airport fabulous.

5. Bull fucking shit! Where is Muritala Mohammed on this list????????? Makes absolutely no fucking sense

2. I knew PH airport wil top d list.I was scrolling down to say "I know PH airport wil top d list.now lemme go back and ascertain" ....

Den ma eye quickly caught PH in d first pix....
    LMAO.

3. They even look very good except the PH own o. At least they are clean and looks developed

4. LOL they should see Ibadan airport.

1. It's not an intl airport

2. U don't know how to read abi? They said international not local.

5. PHC no1, which way ppl of PH, federal govt do something.

6. Hong Kong has d best airport so far.....
    My opinion tho!

1. You are very correct
      And they leave stress free life.....oh,i love Hong kong!

2. You haven't used München airport yet. With an EU passport, it takes less than 10mins after landing to get your luggage and you are out. Self identification machines to check you in. Very simple and easy! UBahn from city center to the airport. München rocks!

7. I hope the minister of aviation in-waiting will see this

8. Hehehehehehehe Nigeria i hail thee. Taking first position in negative things.

It is well with us all the same.

9. Amaechi come and answer this question. you don chop port harcourt money finish. I know say port harcourt people are proud people and they dont help. See their heads like tatashe

1. I think it's a federal govt project, not a state govt initiative so nth concern amaechi

10. Is this supposed to be a joke? Cos I saw myself laughing throughout. The phc airport using canopy as terminals. OmG.

11. Must Nigeria always be in the worst list of everything...
    They are even Number 1 self.

God help Nigeria.

12. Before anybody calls Amaechi it's a Federal Airport.

13. The list is correct, Ph airport is indeed the worst, don't know what Amaechi claimed he did in Rivers State, what a shame.

1. Your ignoramus is high..that's a federal project..Gej admin should account for that

14. MM1 is not on the list? Huh?
    Hands on head...running around naked...clean eyes. So Lagos airport is not on this list?

List is incomplete.

1. Experience PH airport and u wil be glad u have experienced "The UniqueNess and 5 Star element" of MM1.

I can't forget wot ma nanny said d first time she set eyes on PH airport. As we left she said "Aunty do planes land in Parks too"

2. Ode! If its not on d list, it means it is still better than the above mentioned int.airport. na so madness take dey start"hands on head running around naked" u go soon enter street. Oversabi

3. Taa MM international is standard oh. No talk nonsense

15. My Naija no dey carry last. It's a pity.

16. lol it is well. this should be a wake up call not only for the government but also we as individuals... development needs collective co operation from both government n individual. Airport staffs need to work on their attitude,the fact that u hate ur job or working conditions at the moment doesn't warrant one to be rude.

17. Politics no let them complete PH airport.

18. Na wao, PHC most corrupt Airport. What of Benin Airport? Lagos is trying sha.

1. Is Benin Airport an International Airport? Better read and understand before I type.

19. Hmm PH Naija topping the list... which way

20. All Nigeria airport are nightmare,very terrible

21. Na wa o, portharcourt, with all of its money. What disgrace!!!!

1. Port Harcourt is just overly hyped. It is so rural

22. Jfk airport nko.....na razz fucked up airport! Wetin I dey talk sef, newyork itself na razz dirty place!

23. This how you know there are so many dumb people on this blog, @Angelray, I am surprised you are calling out Amaechi, when you are supposed to be referring the blame to Stella Oduah the thief who converted monies meant for the rehabilitation of Nigerian airports to buy bullet proof cars from Coscharis.
    Go get your facts right, Amaechi has nothing to do with the state of the Omagwa airport and please stop spewing rubbish.

24. Can you imagine Afghanistan airport is better than Port Harcourt airport. Port Harcourt that has foreigners in and out of it's city for business, investment etc.
    Oil city has the worlds worst airport, what an international shame.

25. Abi dem dey sell Bole and fish for runway? oh no not my lovely state

26. Everything negative, Nigeria must be number one...Plz let the change come immediately.

27. Hmmmm PH airport no 1on the list which way Nigeria?

28. Lol... wen to PHC last weekend, epic disaster!!! Jos airport, you will see cows grazing as u r landing, benin airport nko, I don't even have words for dat... na wah

29. Must you comment foolishly on everything? @ Loveme Jeje, if you don't know facts just shut up. I must comment by force dummy.

30. Na so.... Naija on top!

31. When Oga Jona was playing politics against Amaechi while Stella Oduah was in charge of the Aviation ministry, they stopped all work there. Now, who is suffering? Our politicians need to draw the boundary between sentiments and long term goals.

32. so this is where we will land ? PAID 1400EUROS air france to land in this dirty airport .chineke mere nwa gi ebere.

33. b4 nko hw pitakwa go carry last. I be confirm phc 2nd son.

34. Yes omagwa is a corrupt place, the airport staff always have a reason to collect small thing from you.

35. So what will you ppl say about Ibadan Airport, they av two canopies for both arrival and depature, asz in the arrival and departure is written on sheets of paper and pasted on each canopy for indication, you will seat down in the tent while they get their wheelbarrow like cart to go and carry bags from the airplane, the place isnt tarred at all, grasses growing everywhere and generally unkempt like all those nysc camps.....the state governor should focus on repairing the airport and use it as a means to generate revenue for the state...honestly that place is an embarrasment to the country.

1. shhhhhhhh don't display your stupidity please

2. Hahahahahahahahahaha...
      This cracked me up!...
      Are you for real?...a whole Ibadan...
      Lmao...

36. Anon 14:37 so you are now Amaechi. oya ooo yeye dey smell. port harcourt people with their heads like tatashe come and close my mouth. Anufia

37. So they had to release this list now, to compound the many woes Ameachi is currently facing? He'll be minister whether they like it or not o!

38. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    No doubt about that....

39. loveme jeje your mouth is foul and it stinks so wouldn't go near it with a barge pole.

40. Ph airport is a federal project? Ok. We hear. Does Amaechi use it or not?
    Can't he say something about it so work will be done? Abeg let's be realistic jare

41. That is very true about Port Harcourt Airport. That na ragging central. Everyone and I mean EVERYONE!!! begs for money. From the porters to staff at the counter. It is really really disappointing.

42. If u wan travel out,no be abuja or murtala u go go..I've never used pH airport.jos local airport ehn "I hide my face" buhari change naija o

43. Phc airport is really the worse. God bless naija

44. U guys ar scaring me seriously with this ph airport. Using it next week hope am save