Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: URGENT APPEAL TO MDCN REGARDING NYSC DOCTORS

Thursday, October 29, 2015

URGENT APPEAL TO MDCN REGARDING NYSC DOCTORS

ATTENTION - NYSC
ATTENTION - MDCN
ATTENTION - You..please pass this on to the Aforementioned if you know them.

Hello Stella,
''I'm a medical doctor who just finished my internship and is supposed to serve with stream 2 of the present batch b 2015 NYSC and I'm writing this on behalf of NYSC 2015 batch B doctors. During the internship we are given provisional registration with the MEDICAL AND DENTAL COUNCIL OF NIGERIA  (MDCN) which is supposed to be exchanged for the permanent registration on completion of the internship program. 

Now the problem...MDCN takes forever to process our licence(3months or more, depending on if you have "legs" that can hasten the process for you, and "legs" cost money) and for those of us going to serve they have issued a directive to NYSC not to accept doctors without permanent licence even though we have evidence of completion of internship and receipts of payment for the permanent licence (ranging from#31,000 to #51,000).

Now doctors are being driven from camp to go and 'look for' their licence, going up and down from their respective states of deployment to MDCN  offices in Lagos and abuja. It is not our fault that the council takes months to do what should normally be done in maximum of a week (people with really long legs get theirs processed in 2days...fact!). 

Why does Nigeria make things hard for its own? You spend 8years or more in pursuit of your medical certificate and the very council that is supposed to protect you takes it upon itself to ridicule you before other bodies. People that studied other courses do not get sent home to look for what is not lost. What if in the process of travelling from Bayelsa to Lagos to Abuja looking for our licence, someone has an accident?

Do we spend some more months at home before going for NYSC just because the MDCN knows we should have our licence but refuse to process it in the right amount of time? Going through medical school and internship is enough stress, will NYSC too be stress for doctors courtesy MDCN?

This is an urgent appeal to the Registrar of MEDICAL AND DENTAL COUNCIL OF NIGERIA, please issue a directive to NYSC to accept us with evidence of completion of housejob and receipt of payment for permanent licence since the council knows it can't yet handle timely processing of licences. This is what the PHARMACEUTICAL COUNCIL did and pharmacists are being allowed into camp. Please help your own, we are your students and junior colleagues striving so that we can be great like you someday.

Anybody that can help us get this message across should please help.
 Thank you.

Dr Samuel 

29 comments:

1. After spending many years and that amount of money, why are they that heartless?

2. "To whom it may concern" ...Take note!

3. I dont know of anyone. God will help you all

4. Same thing my friend and I was talking about lastnight! My dear MDCN told me I can't go for service coz my license won't be ready,as I no get long leg am home chilling till nextyear!
    I hope they sit up,because if it's to collect money they are very fast at that but to give license na wAR!!!
    2ndly my dear MDCN,assist 1 of our colleague that needs kidney transplant(DR AMINA OGBACHE),funds ain't coming in again. That's why as a doctor we belong to a body which is MDCN.
    Thank God for this post! My rant is out

5. If you pay your practicing license fee. .It can suffice.

6. If you pay your practising license fee and the fees for the permanent license this is usually acceptable anywhere. I am 17 years post qualification and have never seen any annual license..same thing with most people. Your receipts would usually suffice

1. Things has changed darling. I paid (almost 60k)and got mine in 3 weeks! I cannot shout...
      Tomorr someone will come and tell me story how I shuld treat them for free. Meanwhile, the license will expire this december so I will go and pay for next year licence! SMH!

7. Nigeria and their wahala. May God help us.

8. Pray it gets to the appropriate authorities. Kpele dear!

9. The same thing happened to pharmacists...they had to make series of calls before someone from the council head quarters called before they were allowed in

10. Nawa o. Quick recovery to Dr Amina too.

11. They did it to us in Batch A. I had to go to Abuja to get it. It was a terrible ordeal. My dear, if u can, just go straight to Abuja. That's the only remedy. Ask all lagos Batch A doctors. We all went to Abuja eventually. Stay strong

1. Yes dear, go to MDCN office in Abuja.That was what I did too. I had to stay in Abuja for two days, paying hotel bills as I didn't know anyone in Abuja, before I could get mine. It wasn't funny then. Those nysc staff in camp really rubbished doctors without permanent license then. Smh, I spent close to 50k that period: hotel bills, transport, feeding et al. Later somebody will tell me to treat for free!

12. Just go to abj and get it. That is best tin for u

13. MDCN, take note and stop putting them Doctors through stress....

14. Got mine from Abuja a few hours to service. We begged and begged them, horrible experience wallahi. To think they've increased the annual practicing licence fee is appalling considering how negligent they can be attending to us. Things will get better.

15. My dear no need to write to stella it happened to us in batch A jejely carry your 2 legs to abuja and seek ur licence if not no service for u oo cos even if ur allowed inside camp u will be fished out later or u will not get posted so avoid the embrassement if not wait till next year

1. Please let her write to Stella. That this has been the practise does not make it right! I am not a doctor but it is so shameful to read that the 'Nigerian culture of mediocrity' also troubles the MDCN in mundane matters as this. This is real crazy, i swear.......Ashafa

16. Is quite a pity that our country is not organized. But I pray we will get there some day. Pls how can I join this blog

17. for your information dear poser, the MDCN has been dissolved by PMB and no one can get anything done. We need to appeal to the FG that the MDCN is not like other councils and cannot be dissolved because it means even final year medical students would not be able to get the temp.licence during induction (indirectly no induction).

18. @Bembem....receipt of payment is no longer accepted o.
    In fact if you're a foreign trained doctor you wont even have a call up number until you upload your permanent licence. I had to go to Abuja to get mine o,thankfully i applied in May n i got it ist week of October.

19. Fellow Drs. We've started a hash tag #mdcnlicence on twitter. If you are on twitter kindly join in and tweet about this. As we've recently learned in this country, nothing will change if we keep quiet. Wringing our hands and saying there's nothing we can do will only let this unfair treatment continue. It has to change! Thank you.

20. Totally unfair! I pray noone loses their lives travelling back and forth like headless chickens! MDCN please do your job and let these poor kids serve.
    Why is "leg" or money needed for everything in Nigeria. How about those that have neither.. Even ordinary international passport application noone bothers paying the real fee because you know you will wait one year before getting your passport; so instead we all pay extra just to get it in a matter of days. Its sad. Some dont have this money. Councils and bodies and ministries in Nigeria please do the right thing

21. MDCN is soooooooo insensitive, God!

22. Corruption in MDCN presidency take note