Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Undergraduate Hacked To Death 2 Months To Wedding

Sunday, October 25, 2015

Undergraduate Hacked To Death 2 Months To Wedding

Tragedy struck at Olorunfunmi Street in Oworo area of Lagos, on Thursday, following the  murder of a 32- year-old man, Lawal  Afolabi Kunbi, allegedly by a  debtor, in a bid to evade repayment.

Late Lawal Afolabi Kunbi (left) and his mother

Kunbi, a business  administration student of  Lagos State Polytechnic, Isolo, reportedly received a telephone call from a private security guard, identified simply as Aliu, who lives on same street with him, to come and collect  N32,000 owed him.
Sunday Vanguard gathered that the deceased, who owned a provision store, sold his motorcycle to Aliu, in order to raise money to pay his school fees, about a month ago.

However , after receiving the call, Kunbi dashed out of his shop to Aliu’s  apartment, adjacent to his shop, obviously  optimistic  he would pay his school fees after all.

The unexpected
But, unknown to Kunbi, who was said to be preparing for his wedding in December, Aliu allegedly had a sinister motive up his sleeves. The bridegroom to be simply disappeared, forcing members of his family to conduct a search for him through out Thursday night.
The search party found  the lifeless body of Kunbi  around 9am  on  Friday behind Aliu’s compound, throwing the entire community into mourning.  A source said the victim’s   five fingers had been  chopped off, while marks of violence were apparent all over his body. There also a  rope tied round his neck, suggesting that he could have been strangled.  The question on everyone’s lip was, who could have killed Kumbi?

Suspects arrested 
Meanwhile, five suspects have been arrested by the police in connection with the incident. One of the suspects is Aliu.
Early that Friday, Aliu was allegedly seen fetching water from Kunbi’s compound.  The number of times he went to fetch water reportedly aroused the curiosity of  residents,  necessitating the brave ones to  ask what he was doing with the unusual volume of water he was fetching. Not satisfied with his explanation, some of the residents, it was learnt, forced their way into his apartment,where they allegedly discovered, to their shock, blood stains all over the place. The suspect was said to have been using the water to clean up the blood stains in his apartment, apparently to cover up his track. Also,shattered louvres were reportedly seen all over the apartment. Consequently, the residents descended on Aliu.

An eye witness told Sunday Vanguard: “When we searched through Kunbi’s telephone, which he left while he rushed to answer the call of death last night (Thursday), we discovered that the last caller was Aliu. When confronted at first, Aliu denied seeing him, insisting rather that a search team be raised to look for him.
What gave him away was the blood stain that was trailed, right from where Kunbi’s body was dumped, to Aliu’s apartment.  We also saw a white cloth stained with blood, on the floor and the key of Kunbi’s shop in Aliu’s apartment.  When he discovered that the game was up, he pleaded that we should not kill him and disclosed that the plan to kill Kunbi was hatched by his friends”.

We searched for victim – Landlady
Owner of the building, where Kunbi resided, who also spoke to Sunday Vanguard anonymously, said
‘’I leased out one of my shops to Kunbi two years ago. He was a jolly good fellow  and full of wisdom. That was why I always made out time to advise him about life. However, one thing about him was that   he kept secrets. Perhaps if he had told one about this, we would have mediated on the payment.
“That fateful night,  I sent my daughter to go and lock the gate, only for her to come back to say Kunbi’s shop was still opened at that odd hour. I decided to come down myself to lock the gate and still met the shop opened. I was surprised because it was very much unlike him . He never kept late nights nor lived a frivolous life. I decided to  go downstairs to  lock the gate myself , with the intention that he would call when he returned. A boy told me he left the shop at about 8pm and, when I asked where he went to, he could not provide answer. I decided to call him on the phone, only to discover it was ringing right in his shop. Two hours later, I called the boy who said he saw Kunbi going out, to find out if he was back but  he said no. At that moment, I knew something was wrong and informed my husband.
To my shock, after my morning devotion, I went out only to see a crowd watching a lifeless body that was covered with nylon. On further enquiry, it was the body of Kunbi!”.
Mob
At about 1pm, that Friday, some policemen, from Alonge Oworo Division, arrived the scene with the suspects, who were taken to the apartment where the heinous crime was allegedly committed.  All of a sudden, a crowd that had gathered descended on the suspects, to the amazement of the policemen, attempting to carry out a jungle justice. But the move was stopped by the firing of tear gas by the policemen.
Spokesman for the Lagos State Police Command, Joe Offor, a Deputy Superintendent of Police, confirmed the incident, adding that investigation was still ongoing.

47 comments:

1. What a wicked world. Humans are now turning to demons. may your soul rest in peace Aliu.

1. Aliu murdered Funbi!
      May his soul rot in hell.
      The deceased name was Funbi, Stella.

2. Aliu bawo? Na kumbi die na..May his soul rest in peace...very wicked world..
      Nne

3. This is serious o.. because he couldn't pay up what he owed, he retorted to killing d man. Olorun a ri ejo da

4. hmmmm... and the part that disturbs me is the part where police always end their story with "we are still investigating" after reading all that was said here, my question is what's left to investigate? the bastards have owned up to their heinous crime

5. That Aliu of a guy should be killed same way he killed Kunbi.

6. Different shades of wickedness

2. Evil! He thought he could up such crime, he never knew God was watching. RIP Kunbi.

3. Nkan be, such a sad one. May Kunbi's soul rest in peace. Aliu would be thrown into an overpopulated jail with the rest of his kind.

4. Some people are just too wicked han han! May his killers also be killed. Wicked people everywhere. Rip Kunbi

5. The heart of man is desperately wicked! RIP to the dead.

6. May his soul rest in peace. Wickedness everywhere. I have stopped lending money to people-I don't borrow either (My God will never allow it), even close friends, cos this is one thing that ends up destroying friendships.

7. This is wickedness in sd highest order..

The heart of men is desperately evil .

Rest in peace Kunbi

8. My God.. the evil men do these days

9. Ohhh!The heart of a man,who can know it?murdered someone for his own money,may the killers never know peace!!

10. Hmmmmm.......aye le!!!!
    Never give out what u cannot forgo should incase it turns sour.....
    Rip

11. Person go kill him fellow human being for ordinary 32k? How much be goat for market kwanu? Na wah o!

The evil men do these days will even shock the devil sef!

Ghanaman signing out!!!

1. Can u just imagine. A life wasted just because of 32k. So so sad

12. The last caller on Kunbi's phone Thursday night was Aliu according to an eyewitness, his landlady also said she called his phone when she saw his shop opened that night only for it to ring in his shop, so who called him last? Nigeria and bad reporting, I pray an innocent person is not indicted in this murder case. RIP Kunbi, may your true killer be found and punished.

1. Nigga chill!
      The last call Funbi answered.
      The landlady's call would definitely show as "missed call"

2. Madam, missed call is different from received calls.

3. He received Aliu's call last

Land lady's was probably missed

.... According to the article cause I no dey there

4. Mr/miss/mrs God son, how can someone innocent be indicted (according to you) in this story? Didn't you read the part where blood were trailed from the deceased to the suspect apartment, his shop key and the part where he confessed he was motivated to commit the crime by his friends. You were right on the last caller part but he is definitely not innocent according to the story

5. Lol...dey prolly meant d last call he received! He didn't receive the landlady's call!

13. Wickedness everyday! RIP young man.

14. Oh why did the police stop them?
    Wicked wicked people everywhere.

1. One of the police officers said the hood boys were slow sef.
      That if they had mobbed him to death, they wouldn't have done anything.
      But since Aliu was alive by the time they got there, they couldn't have stood by & watched the angry crowd mob him.

15. Goodness me!
    Why borrow money when you know you can't pay

16. Wickedness at its peak,Jesus Christ!!!

17. Poverty is a Bastard Mehn, 32000(less than $160)
    This is shameful, but why cut his fingers? Why did they mutilate and strangle him? I have a feeling some vital organs in his body are missing too.

1. My sentiments exactly.
      There is more to it.
      The motive doesn't add up.

2. Nuvi beggy beggy
      Why convert to $??
      U wanna feel cool
      Beggar oshi

18. R.I.P kunbi. I don't know what is going on with some people and killing these days, what a wicked generation.

19. this is the height of wickedness and evil

20. Dis world sef, only God can protect us

21. Ur own benefactor????
    *sad sigh*
    The world doesnt want good things...chai