Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tony Umez Speaks On Why He Can’t Star In An Igbo Film, And His Role In Controversial Softporn Movie

Friday, October 23, 2015

Tony Umez Speaks On Why He Can’t Star In An Igbo Film, And His Role In Controversial Softporn Movie

HE came to limelight in 1994, after featuring in the blockbuster  movie, “Died Wretched: Buried in N2.3m Casket”, and since then Tony Umez has remained one of the most bankable actors in the Nigerian movie industry. 

However, following the role he played in the soft porn movie 027,which was released in 2013,Umez incurred the wrath of his fans who were unhappy with  his involvement in the movie.  But in this engaging interview with Vanguard, the actor talks about the making of that movie, and why he doesn’t feature in an Igbo film.

-MY face missing on screen in recent times!

I don’t know what you mean by missing on screen! But if I have to agree with your observation, I am back on track. The industry is evolving and younger actors are springing up everyday. But that doesn’t mean, I haven’t done some jobs in recent times. It’s just that I haven’t been as prolific as I used to be in the past. I have been involved in other projects. Nonetheless, I am back in the industry.

-Whether scripts no longer come my way

For an A-list actor who used to feature in about thirteen to fourteen movies per year, if he starts featuring in about four to five movies, his face would cease to be regular on screen. That’s why you said, my face has been missing on screen. It wasn’t actually missing on screen.

-Living my dream after debuting in Nollywood in 1994

“Died Wretched: Buried in N2.3m Casket, “ wasn’t my first movie. But it was the movie that brought me to limelight. As an actor, I am more focused  and disciplined now than ever before. But contrary to what people believe, an actor is the most  disciplined person on earth. It has also made me more rounded as I play different characters in movies. My world view has changed too. I don’t see things from just one perspective. I used to read a lot and I’m still maintaining that culture of reading. The industry has also made me to understand that life itself  is transient, and not all that glitters is gold.

-Why I have not featured in any Igbo film

I don’t speak nor understand Igbo.  It’s a long story which I wouldn’t want to talk about now. It’s sad but there is nothing I can do about it. In fact, the little I understand is as a result of my wife. My wife is from Okija.
I am from Ogidi in Anambra State. I speak English and Efik fluently because my mum comes from Cross River State. I grew up in Lagos and as a result, I speak Yoruba too. I have done some Yoruba movies. I have also done an Efik movie. It is not as if I  never had Igbo friends while growing up. But I thank God for His mercies. I have never for once run away from my roots.

-My colleagues’ reaction over my inability to speak Igbo 

My Igbo brothers know that I don’t understand Igbo as much as I should. They are very accommodating and it doesn’t make me a worthless person or alienate me from them. They respect me for who I am, and I respect them for who they are. Basically, they don’t discriminate against me. That I don’t feature in Igbo films is because  I am not very fluent in speaking the language.

-The role I played in that soft-porn movie, 027

There has been a lot of brouhaha about the film. So many misconceptions. I did a movie, and I didn’t see it as soft-porn. Those who are labelling the film as ‘x-rated movie’  have not watched, till the end. They only watched the trailer and concluded that it is  soft porn. I read the script, which was written by one of the very best in the industry Dami Joe Efe Young. It was a wonderful script. The lady in question played the lead role in the movie.
It was a 2-hour movie, but people are  focusing on that particular scene which just happened. And it wasn’t as if there was sex on set. Everything was basically make-believe. It was made to look  real and people believed it too. I don’t blame them because they have their own opinions while I have mine.
It wasn’t as if there was sex all through the movie. It was just an aspect of the whole movie. The movie generated a lot of controversies when it was released. Some people commended it while many others were against it.
I received some foreign calls, commending the movie because they watched it till the end. But a lot of people  who criticized it watched only the trailer online. Like I always tell people, I have weathered the storm and I have moved on.

-My wife’s reaction

It wasn’t pleasant news  for her because she is a woman. But like I said before, I have weathered the storm, and I have moved on as an individual, and my family has moved on too. May be, what it had taught me is to be more circumspect in the things I do.  I should not just look at the creativity embodied in a script. But I should also look at the societal reaction to it.

82 comments:

1. I no know, naija soft porn movies sabi make me v embarrassed talkless of Oga Tony featuring in one kaii!!!

2. The nnnjanet, nnnnnnndarling man.

I liked his movies tho. Can't forget Dat one he acted with bimbo akintola and one lady I've forgotten. Loved d movie Dat time

3. Same with my oga here. He cannot speak jack in his language but he is fluent in Calabar language cos of his mum.

4. My papa say I be igbo.wat a shame

5. One of nollywood best old nollywood i mean

6. We dont even need him again in Nollywood

7. Please Tony Umez if u r reading this, ask Livinus Nwabueze of the nollywood talent hunt show you appeared as one of the judges. Remember? You, patience ozokwor, that you actress sorry ve forgotten her name and that dark man, huge with wide open teeth. Since 2013. I was one of the 105 contestants chosen from the 7states (15 each) that will enter the house of fame. We paid 3k for the form then later the 105 contestants were asked to pay 15k each for bla bla bla for our house of fame and we paid. Now the show is yet to be held. This year will mark it's 3rd year and nothing. Tony biko help us ask Prince Livinus if he has finished building the house of fame in Imo state (lol) or did he forget that it was meant for us and turned it to his personal house? Daylight robbery. Am not concerned bout the money. Just that it would be very bad if it was scam and I respect you a lot so please help us ask Livinus to at least address us on his website or give a press statement. Thank you.

8. This ashawo man (in movies)

Meanwhile, I didnt read those things up there.

9. With his big nose and oversize coats.

1. Even the nosering and lip ring woman is making fun of someone.
      Indeed, wonder shall never end.

2. Anonymous I've concluded that you're very bitter. Always insulting this girl. Leave her alone! I'm sure you're the same one always insulting Em Jay. Grow up!

3. Breanne, come o' cos you are dating a nigerian does not mean you should be stupid! Look and pass. Be on your lane

10. This man that can mumu for women in movies

11. reminds me of okija wife lol

12. it's very possible nah as my son speaks yoruba fluently but doesn't understand come in his father's language

13. Ok tony no worries, nwoke ogidi b'anyi.

1. Okwa Ajani Ogidi o.
      Inukwa.
      Hope you attend family meetings at all.

He was very fluent in the Efik Movie years back and as usual the wife was a Cheat. Hahaha.
      Tony eeeh...you aren't lucky with women in movies.

Same with Zack Orjioke... His mum is Ogoja...his English is poor. But people think he is 'forming' by not starring in Igbo movies.

Una dey try abeg my Hubby can speak any of the languages to our kids. Anytime. Any day.
      You can hear 3 in one short conversation "diliyi anya ka nnei je nyem key moto". And as the kids descends the stairs "hankali fa". Then the kid returns with the key "emu one ply of serviette wa"I need to clean my hands after opening the bonnet before I come inside. Chaiii. I will just be pitying them. Dude no send o. Just be ready.
      Some foreign languages they learnt effortlessly in school.
      Good to know languages. E dey open doors. Even in Ketu Food Market.

"Shines teeth".

14. It's always the case, children mostly speak their mothers' language, if the dads language is different they end up not knowing how to speak that one. I'm a product of such too. I can speak Hausa but not Fulani. My nephews and nieces from different sisters speak Hausa but not the languages of their various fathers. I have a friend who is Igbo and can't speak it too cuz her mom is from Rivers. I find it very sad. That's how languages become extinct. When I marry, I'll make sure my kids learn my husbands language

1. Who will teach them? Most fathers don't spend that length of time with their children, at least while growing. The language children are most fluent in are the ones they pick up whilst playing with their colleagues. We are not Igbo or Yoruba but we all speak fluent Yoruba cos we grew up in Lagos. My eldest brother can get by in igbo which he picked up from his igbo friends in Lagos. By the time I grew up Igbos had become very hateful, tribalistic and self-centered. Not good company at all.

15. This will be very interesting😬😁

16. Ewoooo
    Its not your fault Nna, your mama is the causer

17. I remember watching him as a child. And also remember hearing about the soft porn thing. Guess he was broke and needed money for his family. Shocking he doesn't speak or understand igbo though. He was probably brought up by his mom's side of the family then and maybe had very lil contact with his dad's side

18. Jazz can catch Tony for movie like kilode.

1. Plus that his unique way of pronouncing words...Durrlingggggg

2. Emjay, useless comment as usual.

19. Okay..
    Never liked his movies though..

20. Hope you are not planning to be part of Biafra, they will sell you and call you ofemanu o.
    Goof actor you are.

1. Why are you folks so walked up about Biafra? I smell complex issue

21. Hope you are not planning to be part of Biafra, they will sell you and call you ofemanu o.
    Goof actor you are.

22. Why would he get jobs when his wife is controlling him...
    Pressing him like a remote....Tony is a weakling mehn...

1. He really looks like a weakling and is always playing weakling roles in movies. I like him though and desire to see his face more in movies.

2. Wat's your own dere, mind your bizness, i'm sure u r not married

3. That gist eeeh.
      Very painful.
      And if you get closer, you'll see why the Wife is 'controlling' him.
      Dude is GENEROUS. As in .... generous in all ramifications. You go help the woman settle home bills and attend to her health?
      Hapu kwa nwanyi mmadu biko.
      What some women endure in marriages?

Oriegwu!

23. Hmmmn Tony! The way he was squeezing boobie in that movie no be for here

24. Oh!the days of good nollywood films.
    Growing up was fun with them movies.

The oracle
    Captives
    The handkerchief
    Karashika
    Score to settle
    Chains
    Half past two
    Atrocity

Ahh..cant remember any more names.

Tony umez used to be my favorite actor
    I stopped liking him when I heard his wife uses him as her houseboy,plus nollywood movies became uninteresting.

I remember the days of tony umez, charles okoafor, zac orji, ngozi orji, maureen solomon, rita nzelue, sandra achums, victoria, ejike asiegbu,nobert young, emeka ike.

1. That Captives eh.
      Alex Usifo and his meaty forehead. Creepy man.
      Lost sleep for days.

2. Kanayo o Kanayo, benita nzeribe, chiege alisigwe, chinedu ikedieze, uche osotule, liz Benson, even movies like hit and run, glamour girls etc. Dem plenty jare...

3. You forgot Nneka the pretty serpent, Zac Obi, Ultimate warrior (ayamatanga), true confessions, glamour girls, glamour boys, back stab, living in bondage etc.....

Nigerian movies are no longer interesting. They lack substance and most of their story lines revolve around runs.

4. highway to the grave

ijele

blood money

fire dancer

love is blind

a cry for help

wanted alive.........

5. Those were the glory days of naija movies...those actors, we shall never see their likes again

6. Those were the glory days of naija movies...those actors, we shall never see their likes again

7. Silent night nko-Alex usifo

25. Ok. I don hear. Don't even enjoy his movies.

26. I missed him...
    Always being controlled in a movie
    Wish him well.

27. Replies
    1. YouTube.

Short in minutes.
      Eye popping in realization.
      Titled...Room 027

Go search.

28. Who cares !!!! Rotimi Amaechi's boo.

29. U can always learn the language from your wife if you desire to know it...

It's good you have learnt your lessons concerning movie roles.

30. I like him. He's prolific.
    Am surprised he can't speak Igbo.
    Can't remember the last time I watched nollywood movies.

31. Always acting like a weakling in movies...am sure he has a lil of that trait in real life. But anyway he's dedicated to his wife...he rebuffed the advances of those sugar mummies those days that wouldn't let him rest. There was a certain wife of a northern governor that was really on his case. Even Chidi Mokeme begged him tirelessly to accept but dude was scared of his wife. Anyway make I end the aproko for here.

32. Did you say Damijo Efe young one of the best ?Jesus that guy is one of the worst directors i have ever worked with and seen .he is nowhere close to good directors ,I keep wondering how he joined the director,s guild.Tony now acts though ,he is not completely out of the screens

33. I never liked this man movies cause he looked slow, sluggish n lacked expression. I used to call him okro

34. My husband is Edo and cant speak, would have loved my son to learn the language but i cant speak and my MIL does not speak either either so its yoruba all the way!