Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Sixteen Year Old Girl Who Ran Away From Her Husbands House Returned To Parents By ProjectAlert.

She Ran Away From Home To Project Alert Office  After Being Married at Age 16 Because She Wants To Go To School  .....

Hadiza,Nsini Udonta, a staff of Project alert and Mrs . Josephine  Effah-Chukwuma

Just a few days after celebrating ##DayOfTheGirl , a day set aside to celebrate the girl child, Hadiza's  story hit us   “like a thunderbolt.  Hear her in her  own words 

“When I was sixteen   years old, my father married me off to an old man,” she explains, the memories of her harrowing experience still raw. 

"I want to go to school; I want to study Accountancy but my husband refused instead, he  was maltreating me. I could not take it longer, that is why I ran away from  his house "

Hear Hadiza's story as narrated by Josephine Effah-Chukwuma,the founder and Executive director of Project Alert ( A Lagos based NGO) 

'' When I founded Project Alert on Violence Against Women 16 years ago, I didn't know God will bless me with so many daughters. Daughters that society using culture and manipulating religion etc would want to stifle their destinies. I am indeed blessed with beautiful and brilliant daughters destined for greatness. 
Hadiza is one of them. A brilliant young girl who wants to study Accountancy. Forced into an early marriage last year which she reluctantly went into to please her parents, she ran to Project Alert two weeks ago when she couldn't take it any longer as the man was even maltreating her. 

We called her family in and after series of discussions with her father who at the end of the day saw reason; and the young man whom we threatened with legal actions for battering and assault, he agreed to divorce her. This he did immediately and you ought to see the smile on my daughter's face. I took Hadiza back home on Friday last week to a grateful father, happy mother; and joyous siblings. 

Hadiza will marry no doubt but she will marry someone who will respect and not maltreat her. For now her father has promised to enrol her for lessons to take JAMB next year. This is a Minister of Finance or an Accountant General in the making"

http://www.projectalertnig.org/

Story thanks to Barrister Chukwudi Iwuchukwu Is A PR Executive and Social Media Consultant To Project Alert. He Is On Twitter @Chukwudi1985 

31 comments:

1. Brave girl.
    Good Initiative @ Project Alert.

1. Returning her to her parents
      I hope the yam was not given to goat to keep

2. Returning her to her parents
      I hope the yam was not given to goat to keep

3. I really need to slap that father of hers.
      So if the girl hadn't made a firm decision to run, will the father be forming grateful?
      Fucktard parents following fuckricant tradition. Sense has eluded them. Mtchew

Just look at the pretty girl. God bless you my child. You will be great and at the right age, you shall marry a good man. Say amen honey.

2. A sixteen years old saying my husband.... Its disgusting to the ears. Thank God she wants and has a future. Such a brave and intelligent girl

3. I just hope they do not punish her in secret for bringing shame to her family.
    When it comes to Muslims and Child marriages, I shake my head in disgust but then again, I try to "face my work" because honestly, their ways are not our ways.

4. Few days ago, I read the Story of Nada Al Ahdal, an 8years old Yemeni girl who was given off to an older man in marriage. She ran off to her uncle's house and her "cry for help" video is on YouTube. After a while, her family claimed reconciliation and understanding and she was allowed to go back home. Few weeks later, she was found dead

1. I really do not know what to say about these culture. What on earth does an 8 year old child know about marriage? My soul weeps for every child bride.

2. Those people can be heartless, how they do it is beyond me.

3. @ Blog Addict, her story is on goggle and Youtube. Her's only got the attention it got because she cried out for help. Millions get married off early and nothing is being done about it

4. Am sure she was killed. Those people don't see life as anything.

5. Omg... That's so cruel, 8yr old? Kai

5. A laudable program .
    But yu people should b careful wt dx "Abokis" na their useless tradition ooo . They'll always tell yu dat their religion permits dat , I sometimes wonder Y Yoruba Muslims don't do dat kind of child abuse . May Light replace d darkness in their life in Jesus name . Amen

6. I pray she's truly safe even in her parents house sef.

7. Nice move NGO but please trade with caution this people are different from us.
    There are so many victim of this domestic violence of a thing, people way older than her and needs help.
    Create a stronger publicity, some victims are nursing mom's sef go to hospitals and leave your banners there.
    Aboki will always be Aboki. They have heard you o no doubt but will still proceed with the thoughts on their mind.
    Goodluck

8. Nice one and God bless you that started this to help others like her

9. Bad tradition at d age of 10 or 12 dey will engaged them dat is totally rubbish of dem

10. Bad tradition at d age of 10 or 12 dey will engaged them dat is totally rubbish of dem

11. I have a feeling that this girl will be punish by her parent. Oh I wish I can adopt her. SAY NO TO CHILD MARRIAGE

1. That's for sure. Let's pray there will be no honour killing here

12. I'm happy for her.
    i hope you will not be married off to yet another man.

13. Thank God for her. God bless the initiator of the project.

14. Am happy for you girl.
    Go on and achieve your dreams

15. May God help her 2 fulfill her dream

*****MhizDerbyViaIG*****