Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate Says Buhari Must Be Screened if He’s Petroleum Minister

Tuesday, October 06, 2015

Senate Says Buhari Must Be Screened if He’s Petroleum Minister

Strong indications have emerged that today’s plenary session, where the Senate would unveil the ministerial list sent by President Muhammadu Buhari, may be stormy as senators are saying the President must, in line with the constitution, submit himself before the Senate for screening if he appointed himself Minister of Petroleum.

They are also set to reject an incomplete list, saying the constitution provides
for a nominee from each state of the federation and that any list that did not cover the 36 states would suffer serious opposition on the floor of the Senate.
The senators have also vowed that they would not be cowed by the trial of Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, at the Code of Conduct Tribunal, CCT, just as they promised to adopt stringent measures in line with the provisions of the Constitution during the screening of ministerial nominees.

They added that the tradition of take-a-bow for senators coming for screening as ministers would be jettisoned, adding that they were prepared to send names of nominees to the sender of such a list.

Extracted from Vanguard.

57 comments:

1. If its written in the Code of Conduct Act, so shall it be.

He will be screened.

Good one.

Zizzy Genovese

1. They are right if it's written in the Constitution. Everything must be by the books.

2. They should go ahead. I don't think anyone would object that.

3. Make una see....

A columnist with the Sun of London, Kelvin Mackenzie.....wrote

“MS DIEZANI Alison-Madueke, Nigeria’s former oil minister, has just been nicked in London over allegations that £13billion (yes, £13billion) has gone walkabout from her country’s coffers,” Mackenzie wrote in his column.
      Mackenzie said that Alison-Madueke was going to use the money to buy a house in Hyde Park in London.
      “Apparently she was looking at buying a massively expensive apartment at One Hyde Park. With £13bn I’m surprised she didn’t buy the whole of Hyde Park.
      “One thing’s for sure, she can’t be the woman from Nigeria who keeps sending me those emails seeking an advancement on her cousin’s will,” he wrote."

Deep sigh

4. Sisi Eko dirty Yoruba pig leave Diezani alone o.... Keep washing toilets in England, it's not like you pay taxes to Nigerian government. Yorubas are just the biggest hypocrites in the world. Even if Diezani goes to jail for 5years. Her generation won't be as poor as yours. Troll

5. With your famed exposure,you should know that sun is a tabloid and they feed off on these kind of unsubstantiated gists. Did any columnist on guardian or telegraph write anything so far yet. Mckenzie's allusion to £13b is a rough conversion kf the famous $20b that has been bandied around since last year that lead to sanusi's removal.

6. Buwahahahahah.. blah blah bla bleh bleh drooling!! U ain't seen non yet. Ahahah

2. Yes.He should be screened and thoroughly drilled.about his vision and plan for the petroleum industry.And if he fails woefully.
    He request should rejected and thrown out of the window. There should be no special treatment for him.considering the vital role petroleum plays in our economy .

1. Lol! I'm sure this news is music to your ears. ... but you're right.

2. It is people like you and Diezani that shivers when they hear probe!
      Buhari is unshakeable, if he appears before the senate will they gather enough courage to even speak? Wey they wan buy the liver from?

3. These senators are scared of him becoming petroleum minister.... no free for all petrol money for thieves again.hahaha

1. Scared of him? Mumu. It's due procedure

2. Jasmine you are just a rude thing....did i insult you or anyone?
      Wont even stoop low to your level

4. Chei.
    You see why it is good to have your man at the helm of affairs there?.

5. But why is Buhari trying to run the nation like a one-man show? We are no longer in that era for crying out loud.
    I really hope for his own good that he knows what he is doing.

6. This senate guys should allow us drink water drop cup biko..what are they feeling like as if they are not all corrupt......Mtshewww E

7. Gbam! He should be screened as well

8. Good morning all. Missed this blog like kilode

I was going through yesterday's IHN and I saw xoxo reply to German J.
    Ladies pls calm down

9. It is Buhari that has caused all this nonsense. Why didn't he think of who his ministers would be since he was elected in March. It may take him another year to name the rest.
    Those that are experts in reading his body language should see the signs. The man does not want to work with ministers so all these things that senate is threatening are to his advantage.
    Baba go slow. He thinks this is still a military regime where he doesn't have to answer to anyone. Meanwhile, BoKo Haram is killing people every day and the ordinary man is struggling to even eat once a day.

1. Thank you.!...
      He wants to be chopping alone...greedy old man!...

2. Buahahahaha
      One more year ke?

3. As in. He should av known his ministers even b4 wining the election. He's just being....

10. Buhari shd look for someone for this jor,my opinion sha!

11. Of course, he needs to be screened for that position to see if he is eligible to be Petroleum Minister too. This one is turning to 'Eze onye arugbunam'

12. Screened by who and who. The co looters. Mtchewww next

13. Send names of the nominees back to the sender of such list? Hehehehehe. They are petty af.

14. Hehehehe. All puff and no action. We dey wait.

15. There's is nothing wrong with the President been screened in as much as other ministers were screened.

16. Replies
    1. Abi oh. He's done it before nah, so what's all the noise about

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Thats one is no issue though... #NowPlaying fine face: kcee...

18. But of course he wil willingly submit himself.....
    No be Sai again?

19. Since it is what the constitution demands,then the President should adhere to it.
    Kinda reminds me of a former President,that beat his own drum,when he appointed himself the Minister of Petroleum...lolz!

20. So because he does not trust anyone he wants to manage the affairs of nigeria all by himself,issorait.we are watching

21. Supported! It's all part of the change. What is good for the goose...

22. Buhari is a very funny man. Who acts ultra vires with the CFRN? Smh

23. Hardship since he enter seatm badluck!

1. Asin ehhee...
      Nigeria is at standstill...
      Nothing is moving...money is not even circulating...
      I wonder how these poor people survive...

24. Obviously he should be screened, I support the senate 100% if Buhari can take this long to nominate ministers and still bring an incomplete list then it should be rejected.

25. The constitution should be followed and let the right thing be done. Simple!

26. I can't wait to see the outcome of this. The president must adhere to the constitution and be screened like every other ministerial nominee, since he has decided to be a president and a minister.

The benefit of having an opposition party at the helm of affairs cannot be overemphasised because it ensures a fair screening. It won't be the traditional way of endorsing people simply because they are members of the same party.

I don't like the idea of PMB being the minister of petroleum but it's not like my opinion matters . Lol! If the Senate finds him worthy, fine! We'll have no choice but to accept it.

27. Constituitionally....?
    Yes!
    Unconstitutionally?
    Dey shuld Rest it.....

28. This baba go slow is not a serious man. so the list is incomplete and no one has been given a portfolio. APC Failed this nation.

sorry for all who voted for this failure.

I agree he must submit himself

29. The country is almost in a state of comatose. Nothing is working and no money. Obodo wu igwe. The earlier this so called list is concluded, the better.

30. No big deal about being screened. So why is this making such headlines, it due process and am sure the president is aware of the process.

31. if is the due process so be it