Contrary to media reports that a court injunction was secured to stop the Senate from screening Rotimi Amaechi as a ministerial nominee, the upper legislature has on Thursday, October 15, said that petitions against the former governor of Rivers state would not stop his screening and confirmation for ministerial position.
- According to Premium Times report, the Senate spokesman, Dino Melaye, made this known to news men stating that the petition would not be considered since its subject is a matter before a court.
Owing to the inability of the Senate committee on ethics, privileges and public petitions to submit report on the petition against the nominee, the upper chamber had on Wednesday, October 14, postponed the screening of the former governor alongside other ministerial nominees as initially announced.
The major opposition Peoples Democratic Party had forwarded a petition to the Senate which led to the party’s senators from Rivers state stalling his supposed screening earlier scheduled for Wednesday.
Senator Melaye had disclosed to the Nigerian Television Authority before the Senate session ten names scheduled to be screened of which Amaechi’s name was the last among them.
Report also surfaced that one Livingstone Wechie, through his organisation,Integrity Group, had secured a court order from a Rivers State High Court to stop Amaechi’s screening.
But Melaye said that the Senate had a standing rule that matter before a court should not be examined.
He said: “So Amaechi has got no problem.”
The Senate spokesman also explained why the red chamber postponed the ministerial screening to next week saying that some of the nominees were yet to submit their resumè and other documents required of them.
According to Leadership, on the issue of the court order restraining the Senate from screening Amaechi, the All Progressives Congress in a statement issued in Port Harcourt today by its publicity secretary, Chris Finebone, said that the report was false.
He stated that the ruling APC had searched in all the Federal High Courts across the country and did not find any such proceeding pending or an order before any court in the country.
The ministerial screening exercise which was scheduled to enter day three today, October 15 was suspended and moved to next week Tuesday, October 20.
Culled--->here
*Looks away!
Seen
ReplyDeleteRubbish
DeleteWike, mama war and the entire Rivers PDP shuld take a very very cold sit at the poles with a possibility of serious frost bite!
DeleteFirst,why don't they come out themselves instead of hiding themselves behind Mr Wechie? Instead of saving the state funds for important projects. I hate people that are not smart.
What stopped wike from going to court immediately he was sworn into office? Even after months of delay in ministerial nomination, he had to wait until Amaechi was appointed before starting the process, I keep saying this Rotimi Amaechi is way smarter that all of them pig heads put together. Propaganda, noise making without any iota of common sense!
You all shuld go and bury your heads inside ice!
Stella's boo
ReplyDeleteWhatever
ReplyDeleteHahaha! Boo of life! They have spinned it...
ReplyDeleteDear nollywood producers,
DeleteIf u'r going to make a movie about d last elections,pls cast me as Amaechi...I love d whole drama surrounding dis guy
Hian!!
ReplyDeleteThis man go don tire sef. The suspense is too much. If this was me, I'lld just say I'm not doing again jor
ReplyDeleteHahaha Sisi Eko, that is like asking Amaechi to spit out the sugar that has been put in his mouth.
DeleteHahaha Sisi Eko, that is like asking Amaechi to spit out the sugar which has been put in his mouth.
Deletewhat I do not understand is the way Amaechi is lobbying to be relevant in this govt. God has blessed you,you were speaker for 8 yrs,governor for another 8yrs. Let's face it,almost his entire career,the Nigerian govt through Rivers state has been his employer and taking care of his needs. Isn't it time for him to rest if not retire but no ooo,Naija politicians no dey rest. They always want to die in power.
ReplyDeleteGood u answered urself
Delete...Amaechi shuld go and rest so that you will employ him and pay his bills! Amaechi is one of the youngest in this cabinet so what is your point?
DeleteAmaechi is not a weakling, same way he won his court case that reinstated him as the governor, people like you would have advised him to quit! We are talking about the Lion of Ubima!
Ameachi na govt pikin.
ReplyDeleteHis state govt should quickly start his legal prosecution for the mindless looting .
ReplyDeletewe are tired of all their excuses. pls come Tuesday next week the lion of Niger delta should be screened n confirmed.
ReplyDeleteYour Boo of Life.!
ReplyDeleteOK, I can now eat.
ReplyDeleteAmechi is a minister already. The Senate is just doing us the more you look the less you see. They cannot collect amechi's 500m each and not make him A minister. Yes 500m I know it as a matter of facts.
ReplyDelete500m each?? To all the senators? Naaaaaaaaa
Delete500m as in #500,000000 each? Do you knw wht #500,000000 is? Two of such is #1billion as in #1,000000000... Who dash Amaechi dt kain money?
DeleteHaba!!!! 500M each for how many senators?? Biko how much is the entire country worth?
DeleteWell that amount is too much. But then nothing is impossible.. Of course enough money go don enter some senators pocket.
DeleteLolz @ nwa amaka. U don finally show how intelligent u are.
Delete@blog addict..Amaechi has money o..the Rivers State monorail project alone,his fourth generation will still eat that money. A project of 40bn and he didn't even execute one quarter of it..imagine a monorail that runs from Lagos bus stop to UTC junction..thats like 10 poles..He has a lot to answer..cos the monorail is just one of many abandoned/half executed projects
DeleteOk
ReplyDeleteStella's boo
ReplyDeleteAmechi should do the needful and drop.
ReplyDeleteWike will burst a blood vessel soon on Ameachi's matter
ReplyDeleteWhen theres too much controversy over one candidate, the candidate should be dropped. Why must it be a do or die to serve? A controversial candidate will always draw controversies even if he is given another post. Its in the blood. Such people do not have the skills to lead in peace. Its the same with Bukola Saraki. He has always been a controversial person. Now see as controversies dog his footsteps. Abeg drop Amaechi jare. Its not worth all this wahala..Let him go and learn skilful leadership of both friends and opposition. Its a skill he doesnt have.
ReplyDeleteThank you.. Wish you had Blog ID.
DeleteYinmu!
DeleteWike in anonymous mode! Did we drop patience Jonathan? Did we drop Fayose? FFK? Go and rest.
DeleteThis Change government is a sham..it is as corrupt as the previous..if not worse sef..very soon breeze go blow..
ReplyDeletemake I hear say them screen am
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Abeg they shud free dis man jare!
ReplyDeleteNa wa o!
ReplyDeleteThey shld stop passing this man already...
Not a fan of his tho! Just feel for his boo stella ni.
*sideeyes*
Plenty wahala just to be 'compensated'
Politics is just so complicated.
ReplyDeleteNa them sabi.....
ReplyDeleteWe all know he will be confirmed as a minister so why all these unnecessary headlines. Next biko.
Wareva
ReplyDelete@Nwa Amaka, your exaggeration is way out...did you say you know for a fact? Thou shall not bear false witness. Am not a fan of Ameachi, but hey...be real.
ReplyDeleteAmechi must be screened and confirmed as a minister because he has the president's backing... I'm not surprised, that is Nigerian's politics for you, full of corruption and corrupt people.
ReplyDeleteHahahaha........chilling mehhn!
ReplyDeleteCHILLING.
I like the comment above. Controversial people are not usually good managers of people. See the headlines Amaechi splits Senate. If he is made a minister he will end up splitting his ministry. Thats all controversial people do. Its better to leave them alone if you want peaceful gorvenance. And achievement. Such people make good activists where their skills in splitting hairs can be positively harnessed. Amaechi will make a bad minister.Buhari will just keep having issues with his ministry. See how he set on fire and split Rivers State. That is the sign of a poor manager of people for peaceful governance. Want a repeat of that at Federal level? Go ahead and confirm him as minister again. Your talk talk go just dey start....
ReplyDeletewaiting ooo
ReplyDelete*Yawn*