Sunday, October 18, 2015

Ogun State Govt Says 15 Rape Cases Are Recorded Weekly.

The Ogun State government has disclosed that the state records no fewer than 15 rape cases and other sexually-related offences on weekly basis.

The Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary of the state Ministry of Justice, Adesola Shobayo, made the disclosure on Friday while speaking with journalists in her office in Abeokuta.

She said the rate at which abuse of minors and other related offences were fast increasing in the state was worrisome, noting that the best way to check the problem was to review the criminal law by fast-tracking the legal process and imposing stiffer sanctions in order to punish culprits.

“We now record no fewer than 15 cases of rape in a week. My own attitude to these problems is to review our criminal law as it affects defilement and other sexual offences.

“I don’t know why rape cases are so common these days. It is fast becoming a big problem in the state,” she said.

Shobayo, however, urged government at all levels to come up with stiffer punishments.

-Daily Post

25 comments:

1. D only solution is for rape related offences to be punishable by death

1. they should kill them all instantly na

2. Am sure u have a father, brother and possibly a son...let dem molest a maid in ur house, and recommend death for them.
      Rape is crime from social environment, death is never the solution. Public disgrace, flogging, facial brandishing to label a sex offender

3. Exactly!
      That's the only possible means of putting a stop to it.
      Sick lot everywhere. Smh.

2. Ogun state again. That state needs spiritual cleansing

3. Wow! That's serious, lots of perverts everywhere.

4. God help us and our kids from these rapists.

5. Nothing scares us men like the thought of ever having to lose our balls. I thereby suggest that rape should be punishable by castration and death to curb stupid and evil men.

1. Thank you, you are very wise... but no the government will still be giving out 6months of jail term...it's just annoying

6. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

7. Can you imagine?when oloshos are as cheap as 2k...
    May God help these bastards...

8. Wow that's a lot. Really shows for concern

9. GOD have mercy!
    Satan has posses most men...

10. Ogun state is not alone.It is the same disturbing situation in all the O states.
    It think Shamelessness and having countless children ( mostly outside marriage) .without proper parenting is the major contributing factor.

1. Lolzzz, You know I was praying you were in church when I saw this post.

Crime is everywhere.

2. Actually, too many perverts roaming.
      Tsk tsk tsk. What a shame.
      They need to be put away...for good.

11. Like seriously?
    They better start sentencing them to death by hanging,
    That will curb it totally.
    Bastards!

12. The country as a whole needs stiffer terms for sexually related offences esp offences against minors.

God knows how I protect my Lil baby. She is just 8 months old tho but I have started now to build divine protection over her with ceaseless prayers.
    I am but human and may fail but God never fails.

Dammie, God will protect you and all other kids from evil eyes Amen

13. Chinedu Collins is so young, innocent and not too fine.
    All of them are just there nothing spectacular jor. I wish them all the best.

14. Our house of assemblies should come up with a new law asap before some sick men ruin little girls life. For me death should be the reward for any one caught because in most cases some girls never recover from the shock.

15. Rapist shouldn't be killed. That's too good for them.

Their penis should be removed with a large knife.

16. With the numbers of Christians, Muslims and all, lots of churches and religious activities everywhere...there are still cases like this...People should fear God

17. It is a shame. Besides stiffer criminal sentences, what is being done on the prevention part, eg, public education campaigns and awareness to deter rape/sexual assaults?