PROVOST of Michael Otedola College of Primary Education, Epe, Lagos State and former Dean of the School of Arts and Social Sciences at the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN), Professor Olu Akeusola, has said graduates of NOUN are not qualified to embark on the National Youth Service programme.
Akeusola made this known while speaking with Nigerian Tribune in his office recently. This came even as both the students and the management of NOUN have been making a case for the inclusion of NOUN graduates who are below 30 years of age in the scheme.
He said: “You see, we have the tendency of misinterpreting concepts. NOUN isn’t meant for regular students. It is not meant for anybody that has just finished his secondary education.”
NOUN is a flexible programme meant for adults – meant for the working class. It is for people who have sufficient experience, but want academic knowledge and certificates to back up what they are doing.”
Akeusola noted that the manner of instruction at NOUN was part-time and it was not different from other part-time or correspondence programmes, whose graduates were not eligible for NYSC.
“NOUN got it wrong when they started admitting students that are JAMB drop-outs—people who are unable to go to conventional universities through JAMB; and then also fresh secondary school graduates. Automatically, they would be agitating that they want to serve, after all, they are graduates. But the question you should ask is: If we are talking about NOUN as flexible, what about graduates from sandwich programmes? Are they serving? So, what makes NOUN different from sandwich?
The only difference is that sandwich is done only during the holidays and it is like part-time. NOUN is flexible, but then, they both don’t receive lectures everyday. They both don’t do face-to-face lectures,” he said.
If NOUN is meant for adults,why are they admitting people who do not fit into this category?
Thank God I didnt enrol in that University. Ahhh for now i dont know what i will be doing.
ReplyDeleteNawa ooooh
DeleteIts for workers but they decided to start giving it to secondary school graduands out of wickedness and greed. Smg
DeleteThank God you rebranded but we still know that is you Linda.I like the new you though, calmer and more reasonable.
DeleteIs that not chi exotic school?
DeleteHian
ReplyDeleteTo generate more money na
Oops,NOUN is more like a part time program I knew that from the start with the way students go to school and receive lectures. Part time from federal universities is even more better than NOUN but still they don't go to NYSC too. If you are asking that question stella then you need to ask universities why they accept students who are jamb drop out and who are below 20years into part time in the universities,because the is exactly what you will see when you go to part-time in the universities today
ReplyDeleteAll is to make money, Nigeria will never be free of corruption because it's in their blood
I totally agree with u 17 years old will tell you I want to buy part-time form just bcos he or she failed jamb once. They are all the same
DeleteQuestions for the gods
ReplyDeleteNOUN was made for graduates and those who want to school part time and work part time. Since it was easy to get admission there, those who failed jamb started applying for admission. Why would those who didn't enter schools thru jamb or remedial expect to go for service??
ReplyDeleteIt's like those who are part time students in federal University or state University asking to go for service
Stella Kork...the Dean above has already asked that question...choose another one pls!!!
ReplyDeleteNawaaaa o!, and they r even happy dt dey will start going for NYSC soon, just pity my friends but ppl should just read and pass Jamb, dey spend dere reading time on igram showing off fake shoes and bag.
ReplyDeleteHave always known that's shiiii called NOUN. no be sch.....ppl are eager to go to university and the sch administration needs money, so dey admit anything...... Youths shld read hard and get admission into known federal universities.... Not all this secondary schs
ReplyDeleteHaba! This is not nice...why would NOUN admit fresh secondary sch graduates if they had known this all this while...
ReplyDeleteHave always known that's shiiii called NOUN. no be sch.....ppl are eager to go to university and the sch administration needs money, so dey admit anything...... Youths shld read hard and get admission into known federal universities.... Not all this secondary schs and state university
ReplyDeleteI bet you did not read the writeup or did without digesting the content. Bia kwa o, given your low intellect, how are you able to write?
DeleteLollllll na wa o,naija I hail o nothing person no go hear & yet they keep admitting students
ReplyDeleteActually, they are right. It doesn't do the quality of education we are trying to achieve any good.it hurts but it's true.
ReplyDeleteMoney hungry uni.
ReplyDeleteIt shuda been for PGD,Masters n PhD only..
But money makers wanted mo money.
Do u mean our own Money maker here? Kikikiki
DeleteThat's a known fact, its meant for the working class.
ReplyDelete#emdossupernova
I tire oh.
DeleteHope you are reading, NOUN students?
ReplyDeleteYou are not eligible to participate in NYSC.
Why then did is it called National Open UNIVERSITY? Well, Obasanjo didn't go for NYSC.... imagine the description... "NOUN is for working class and not for jamb dropouts...
ReplyDelete*Why then is it called*
DeleteAnd I was planning to get my third degree there. I hope this is a right decision?
ReplyDeleteGot my 2nd from there. Very flexible.
DeleteAnd I was planning to get my third degree there. I hope this is a right decision?
ReplyDeleteMy 20 year old neighbour attends the Open university with his friends.
ReplyDeleteThey failed jamb twice and decided to go for it.
When I asked him why, he said it allows him to go into business and he won't even take a university admission right now if offered on a platter of gold.
Hmmmm.....Noun is filled with young people now
Don't mind Nigerians, they will always look at money involved first b4 paying attention to why this or that. Confused set of ppl.
ReplyDeleteHaaa!
ReplyDeleteNo be small thing o.
What about the secondary school leavers that they admitted?
I'm not surprised sha.
Everything in this country is about money, principles and regulations be damned.
They can only be justified, if the students knew what they were getting into before admission.
The educational system in this country though.
Hmmmm.oya obj come n reply. The good thing is that they help admission seekers who ve been frustrated by jamb.
ReplyDeleteI think the NOUN authorithies should orientate their students on the original concept of the University.If they are properly informed,I don't think they will agitate for things that are not available to them.It's their choice to be educated there,they should also know and accept what is available.The School authorities should stop fueling the agitation by appearing confused.
ReplyDeleteAH! Me sef open mouth.
ReplyDeletewww.ckjacob.com
Elee oh
ReplyDeleteDouble Elee oh! My sister.
DeleteElee oh
ReplyDeleteewoooo....my four years oooo!!!!!!!!but they assured us that we ll serve..now ppl wont believe i went to school oooo....and no i am not a jamb dropout. *tears*
ReplyDeleteLmao @ people won't believe I went to school o. Lolll.
DeleteOh no!! I have younger frnds schooling there @ the moment and I kn hw crazy they are abt NYSC. I've already fed them with plenty gists. This is sad menh!!
ReplyDeleteNATIONAL OPEN UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA...Una no just try at all...!!!
huh
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Stella this is the truth,u need to hear the attrocities that these people commits,simply cos they are mostly working claSs&Adults.They dont have to serve biko
ReplyDeleteWhy call them jamb drop outs tho??? Why???
ReplyDeleteDis one na serious gbege
ReplyDeleteHow sad. I feel for those below 30 in NOUN who hav d intention of embarking in d NYSC. I think NOUN owe applicants pre information as regards d make up of d institution...u don't collect tuition fee frm ppl for 4_5 year academic calendar and b talking gibberish @ d end of d day...
ReplyDeleteIts very annoying seeing fresh secondary school graduates in open university. They cannot read for jamb. NYSC awards exemption certificate to Noun students just like other federal university part time programs. The truth abt Noun is if ur not ready to read don't apply. Cos is just u and ur course materials no lecturer to sort or anything. Its quite difficult for those jamb dropouts.
ReplyDeleteNoun is a scam I knew ever since. When I went there to enquire abt Law, they never told me they re not accredited not until I paid n a friend told me, I went there to clarify they told me yes they re yet to be accredited. Can u imagine? What's d essence of reading law without being called to bar? Rubbish!
ReplyDeleteNigeria system,they would have told them all this from the beginning
ReplyDeleteAlmost fell for this Noun crap. Thank God I didn't waste my time and money.
ReplyDeleteAre you silent Gbogbo Big girls?
ReplyDeleteIts an Open university for christ sake that means its for part-time programs, i think the university authorities should stop admitting all comers, there should a standard or qualification that an intending student must meet before being admitted. That's just the way i see it.
ReplyDeleteIf they can't go for service, does that mean their law graduates can't go for law school? Ha this will be hard for my friend o. She is really looking forward to her law school upon graduation.
ReplyDeleteThe problem with Nigeria is the elite. Every institution put in place by the elite has a framework, legal framework, that is. Now they make the laws, they break the laws , they refuse to enforce the laws. BTW exception certificate and service certificate both from nysc serve the same purpose for job hunt. Legally schools should forward list of ppl to exempt and those to serve to NTSC. This is done by filling appropriate forms by students during the first term or semester of their final year and the call up letters and exemption certificates arrive the schools from NTSC on the same day for distribution to respective graduands. Who changed this rule and who refused to enforce this rule and created all the stress that currently prevail. All the agitators know that the way to go is initiate a bill to modify the law and accommodate as needed or wanted. No they prefer to GI through the illegal route through blackmail, propaganda and eliciting primordial sentiments.
ReplyDeleteAnd very expensive school at that...federal uni all the way!!!