Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nollywood Movies Versus TV

Monday, October 19, 2015

Nollywood Movies Versus TV

Is Nollywood Phasing out?Dying slowly?
Well this is what i noticed....

I noticed that TV soaps have slowly taken over....

Looks like if they are not producing their own movies,Nollywood actors do not have take home pay anymore!.....WTF!

TV drama series and short stories is slowly taking over again and even most of these actors are returning to TV.

What could have caused these?

Even the take home pay of these actors which was at its high a few years ago cannot happen now because cheaper actors can be easily gotten in Asaba and other location venues.

Nollywood is slowly phasing out,what is your take on this?

90 comments:

1. I don't know. Not a fan!

American TV series anyday.

1. Who watches Hotel Majestic? Now that's a soap with new twists and turns every episode. Never a dull moment!

2. Sorry to say but its the same igbos that are killing nollywood. They even import Korean,indonesia and Malaysian movies. People are really buying their movies. Even Singapore movies. Just try and notice those people selling CDs on the road. U would be seeing Chinese and Arab looking movie series upto season 10 and it's selling like mad. The worst now is me and my family are actively watching zee world. (Indian soaps) Saloni and destiny. We always can't wait for weekend to end so we can continue. Meanwhile their movies are so useless. Very low i.q yet addictive. They are always plotting and revenging, or someone will be casting evil eye on another, the main actor or actress is always stupidly forgiven like Saloni and arthi In married again. The worst is they are old movies o. They acted then 2004 to 2007 but they just started airing then here in Nigeria. Imagine the nonsense. Their movies are even more stupid than nollywood yet we watch it cus we see new faces.

Everybody is tired of nollywood. They dish out rubbish wiv rubbish story line. Even the ones they show on cinema. Only kunle afolayan is trying. Really trying. The rest are useless. English version of nollywood is the worst. Always d same plot. Someone falling in love wiv a pauper, runs girls fighting, wicked step mother, etc. The yoruba version on the other hand has nice story line but if only they can limit their babalawo scenes, it's very embarrassing. And also their religious scenes should be limited. Almost all their movies have babalawo, islamic cleric and pastor inside one movie. Maybe because they assume most people that watch it are uneducated which is true to an extent.

We just need to step up if not nollywood will be in shambles. Infact omotola, genevive and the rest left wiv nollywood. Those people have had the best of nollywood. Nollywood to me can never be the same again. It's so saturated.

The music industry to has become so porous and useless wiv yahoo boys that have small cash singing rubbish and ladies who are sleeping wiv producers coming out to sing nonsense. The worst are all this American rejects. They think because they have an accent then they have good voice! Everything in this country is so wrong.

3. ZEE-WORLD has taken over me, so I didn't notice.

4. Kunkle Afolayan, Obi Emelonye, Tuned Kelani. These are the only people I know that are making good movies... Every other one by all these hungry producers are balderdash......
      Stephanie Linus is also trying.

I'm sorry for Nollywood.

And GEJ invested in the entertainment industry oo. God is watching them in 4D.

The so called soap operas, I don't watch them, I managed to follow Tinsel until they just started doing rubbish. Abeg.

5. This idiot just had to find a way to involve the ibos.

6. Yes,Emem Isong.
      Tchidi Chikere,till he started the Dumebi n Bitterleaf Cynthia bulls..t

7. Not far from the truth. I used to buy a lot of Nigerian movies but suddenly lost interest about a year ago. Perhaps because AFMag is always shoeing them, although old movies. But just can't be bothered jare. Not unless it's a classic movie showing in the cinema, can't be bothered. And YouTube has made life easier. I see the sales of movie CDs fading out soonest. Everyone is watching them online now and I don't know how they can make enough money from this. Best is to invest in a worthwhile classic movie like Afolayan, show it in the cinema to make ur money, and then circulate it online. Shikena

2. Nah Nolywood isnt fading out. Gi to alaba intl mkt and see for urself .

1. Big lie which tv series? Who watches tv series? There are so many nice movies

3. They act their movies on politicians' beds.
    Screwing their heads out,jetting round the world and,buying stuff.
    I dont blame them tho,that kinda acting pays them better

1. Lol.
      Irene you haff finished Nollywood actors oo.

2. You say this because you were present when it all happened?

3. Irene B: you have judge all of them already.
      This your comment get as e be ooooooh

4. Irene B your head dey there ,they just act for advert ,acting for nollywood is part of runs packaging and up grading ndi ara

5. Hahahahahahaha. You are so right

6. Hahahahaha just dis ur analysis is basically 4 d female actors. Hw abt d male?

4. Don't watch Nolloywood any more....cos they now produce rubbish. #BringbackLizBenson#

5. Telemundo Rocks!!!!

6. Actually those short movies are more interesting with good storyline than the main nollywood movies which BTW is so sterotyped.

Again, we get to see new faces on the short stories which makes it refreshing than the usual same ol' same ol'

7. Left for me both the tv series would be out of market already. Give me some zee world and telemundo. If I watch laali, saloni and queen of the coast including husband for hire. Who needs nollywood. How much were they making before. Ladies that sleep with married men. They have nothing before. It was all show.

1. @ladies that sleep with married men.

Amaka u know this because u are what?
      Or maybe ur sister does the same
      Judgemental pple

8. I have always felt like I lost IQ points watching the so called Nollywood movies. Instead of learning or being entertained; the movies learns from me. Y'all can imagine titles like: the royal virgin, virgin must cry etc
    Abegi! If e wan die make e DIE.
    N.B I watch just comedy if I have to watch at all.

1. Lol @ royal virgin and virgin must cry. Abegi cry for Wetin?

2. LMAO!!! High 5.

Best way to watch Nollywood if you're up at night and can't sleep is with the volume off. You can supply the dialogue in your mind.

9. Why wouldn't nollywood fade out when they kept acting rubbish n senseless scenes.

10. Why won't Nollywood phase out when they shoot and edit in 3days.
    Even the tv series are becoming boring. Tinsel was good until they turned it to old people series. The time of interesting tv series are far gone, Domino, Everyday people et all. That's why we do mostly foreign movies and series. I miss the old tinsel, when we still have wonderful acts and good story lines.
    God bless me as you dey bless my fellow women oh, Amen

1. Oh my... I loved "everyday people.. That's you that's me" "wetin dey" was interesting as well

11. Asaba. Hahahahaha hot tears

12. Their business mehn...
    Wetin concern Agbero with overload?...hope they invested some of the money they made well...
    I pity the male actors cos their female colleagues are bailing...

13. Greed in the part of the producer and lack of research!
    They don't takw time to edit anymore
    Even the storylines re rubish!
    I hardly watch though
    What do u expect when Alaba illiterate blood money marketers decide the spade?
    #savenollywood@IB
    #governmentinterventionforfundandresearch

14. Mine is telemundo. Zee world is only for saturdays and sundays especially that their funny movies.

But this telemundo, i am beginning to follow them. they are now behaving like nollywood

1. How I hate telemundo and zee world. I'll rather watch American series movies

15. I guess people r tired of seeing d same faces year in year out......Give d upcoming act a chance.....
    tchidi chikere
    okey zubelu
    fidelis duker
    lancelot imasuen
    emem isong
    kunle afolayan
    Plzzz take note!

1. Tchidi and okey belongs to Asabawood. Always producing movies that has up to 5 parts.
      The hijacker pt1
      Who is the hijacker pt2
      Where is the hijacker pt3
      End of the hijacker pt4
      The hijacker aff die pt5

16. Zee world all the way.

17. it is really fading out. when they produce cheap films with no storyline.

loving angolan series "WINDECK"

18. Telemundo all the way..I only enjoy nollywood cinema movies.I saw Omoni's the first lady and the visit ystdy,nice movies..Nse and Blossom na kolo o...lool

19. Always d same old fashion way,,,,,not intersting any longer,,,,,ZEE WORLD ROCKS.

20. Short stories all d way... No time for JuJUwood abi na NoLLywood

21. Some movies are good now sha, I just subscribed to Iroko, it's not bad...It's those village virgin,d beast and d bread, knack me I knack u, run away or die, kind of movies that are phasing out, it actually reduces IQ!! I watch d recent ones, cinema releases and co..

1. Your so called ci ema movies alot of people dint even watch not after that nonsense lasf flight to abuja and keeping my man, at least Chiwetalu Agu can keep me , remember Jim iyke and co became popular thru those movies, no time for fake acting

2. Akwam akwa,na enu akwa akwalu akwa dị na enu akwa

22. Na them sabi.. I really dont watch nollywood movies except the 1ns that make t to the cinema.. or the yoruba movies mum hypes and says ts really nice.. when Im outta series to watch I manage to watch em.. most times I can predict the next scene and how the whole fin ends..

23. I don't know, telemundo and zee world rocks!!!

24. Asaba , Enugu , owerri actors are doing very well, ask.back to back movies, Nkoli Nwa Nsukka and co are doing very well

25. I still believe in Nollywood though, but I'm not disputing the fact that it is dying slowly.

26. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Boko haram contributed to nollywood cratching i swear.... #NowPlaying>> ghed: jtuki

27. Nollywood still has its audience though I don't see it lasting for too long as producers are more interested in quantity than quality.

28. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

29. was an addict and huge fan to nollywood for ages amidst jabs from all who knew me. However I lately realised my folly while I'll and hospitalised and forced to stare at zeeworld. Stupid and slow as the series are they have very original story lines, are not fetish, dress up fully most times and are very interesting. Albeit our nollywood that has the same faces, stolen story lines,originally played out by their foreign counterparts, display nudity, encourage nudity, thrive on nudity to be noticed, promote bleaching, not well played out roles.... The list is endless... Just all shades of wrong! More like a platform to get leverage and be noticed by a local power player to warm suchs bed and make the money, then become some brand ambassador! Repented bed warmers like omoni oboli, Stephanie Linus, omotola aka omosexy, Genevieve. Current bed warmers like ini Edo, this other with big nose that was sleeping with David mark, the other retired bed warmer with big eyes now living in Abuja, the other yellow one that briefly married Juwon Lawal, the list is endless. Our actresses are hustlers. The industry pays them more. Its paid few guys and the others go into drugs just to meet up so the industry is wicked. The aim being the returns not what they can actually offer like on the days of Liz Benson, joke silver, Olu Jacobs, Pete edocbie, zebrudaya et al. Or the ones who are not funny but try so hard to be relevant like aka okon, ukwa, aki, pawpaw... Hunger does not allow our actors and actresses know when to draw the line on accepting roles nor leave when the ovation is high and make us long for their presence. If not for goverment commitment rmd will still be acting. If not for the ban way back the same actors and actresses will yet be in our faces ... So u see, its now south bound and telemindo and zee world will just fully bury it.

30. was an addict and huge fan to nollywood for ages amidst jabs from all who knew me. However I lately realised my folly while I'll and hospitalised and forced to stare at zeeworld. Stupid and slow as the series are they have very original story lines, are not fetish, dress up fully most times and are very interesting. Albeit our nollywood that has the same faces, stolen story lines,originally played out by their foreign counterparts, display nudity, encourage nudity, thrive on nudity to be noticed, promote bleaching, not well played out roles.... The list is endless... Just all shades of wrong! More like a platform to get leverage and be noticed by a local power player to warm suchs bed and make the money, then become some brand ambassador! Repented bed warmers like omoni oboli, Stephanie Linus, omotola aka omosexy, Genevieve. Current bed warmers like ini Edo, this other with big nose that was sleeping with David mark, the other retired bed warmer with big eyes now living in Abuja, the other yellow one that briefly married Juwon Lawal, the list is endless. Our actresses are hustlers. The industry pays them more. Its paid few guys and the others go into drugs just to meet up so the industry is wicked. The aim being the returns not what they can actually offer like on the days of Liz Benson, joke silver, Olu Jacobs, Pete edocbie, zebrudaya et al. Or the ones who are not funny but try so hard to be relevant like aka okon, ukwa, aki, pawpaw... Hunger does not allow our actors and actresses know when to draw the line on accepting roles nor leave when the ovation is high and make us long for their presence. If not for goverment commitment rmd will still be acting. If not for the ban way back the same actors and actresses will yet be in our faces ... So u see, its now south bound and telemindo and zee world will just fully bury it.

31. was an addict and huge fan to nollywood for ages amidst jabs from all who knew me. However I lately realised my folly while I'll and hospitalised and forced to stare at zeeworld. Stupid and slow as the series are they have very original story lines, are not fetish, dress up fully most times and are very interesting. Albeit our nollywood that has the same faces, stolen story lines,originally played out by their foreign counterparts, display nudity, encourage nudity, thrive on nudity to be noticed, promote bleaching, not well played out roles.... The list is endless... Just all shades of wrong! More like a platform to get leverage and be noticed by a local power player to warm suchs bed and make the money, then become some brand ambassador! Repented bed warmers like omoni oboli, Stephanie Linus, omotola aka omosexy, Genevieve. Current bed warmers like ini Edo, this other with big nose that was sleeping with David mark, the other retired bed warmer with big eyes now living in Abuja, the other yellow one that briefly married Juwon Lawal, the list is endless. Our actresses are hustlers. The industry pays them more. Its paid few guys and the others go into drugs just to meet up so the industry is wicked. The aim being the returns not what they can actually offer like on the days of Liz Benson, joke silver, Olu Jacobs, Pete edocbie, zebrudaya et al. Or the ones who are not funny but try so hard to be relevant like aka okon, ukwa, aki, pawpaw... Hunger does not allow our actors and actresses know when to draw the line on accepting roles nor leave when the ovation is high and make us long for their presence. If not for goverment commitment rmd will still be acting. If not for the ban way back the same actors and actresses will yet be in our faces ... So u see, its now south bound and telemindo and zee world will just fully bury it.

32. was an addict and huge fan to nollywood for ages amidst jabs from all who knew me. However I lately realised my folly while I'll and hospitalised and forced to stare at zeeworld. Stupid and slow as the series are they have very original story lines, are not fetish, dress up fully most times and are very interesting. Albeit our nollywood that has the same faces, stolen story lines,originally played out by their foreign counterparts, display nudity, encourage nudity, thrive on nudity to be noticed, promote bleaching, not well played out roles.... The list is endless... Just all shades of wrong! More like a platform to get leverage and be noticed by a local power player to warm suchs bed and make the money, then become some brand ambassador! Repented bed warmers like omoni oboli, Stephanie Linus, omotola aka omosexy, Genevieve. Current bed warmers like ini Edo, this other with big nose that was sleeping with David mark, the other retired bed warmer with big eyes now living in Abuja, the other yellow one that briefly married Juwon Lawal, the list is endless. Our actresses are hustlers. The industry pays them more. Its paid few guys and the others go into drugs just to meet up so the industry is wicked. The aim being the returns not what they can actually offer like on the days of Liz Benson, joke silver, Olu Jacobs, Pete edocbie, zebrudaya et al. Or the ones who are not funny but try so hard to be relevant like aka okon, ukwa, aki, pawpaw... Hunger does not allow our actors and actresses know when to draw the line on accepting roles nor leave when the ovation is high and make us long for their presence. If not for goverment commitment rmd will still be acting. If not for the ban way back the same actors and actresses will yet be in our faces ... So u see, its now south bound and telemindo and zee world will just fully bury it.

33. was an addict and huge fan to nollywood for ages amidst jabs from all who knew me. However I lately realised my folly while I'll and hospitalised and forced to stare at zeeworld. Stupid and slow as the series are they have very original story lines, are not fetish, dress up fully most times and are very interesting. Albeit our nollywood that has the same faces, stolen story lines,originally played out by their foreign counterparts, display nudity, encourage nudity, thrive on nudity to be noticed, promote bleaching, not well played out roles.... The list is endless... Just all shades of wrong! More like a platform to get leverage and be noticed by a local power player to warm suchs bed and make the money, then become some brand ambassador! Repented bed warmers like omoni oboli, Stephanie Linus, omotola aka omosexy, Genevieve. Current bed warmers like ini Edo, this other with big nose that was sleeping with David mark, the other retired bed warmer with big eyes now living in Abuja, the other yellow one that briefly married Juwon Lawal, the list is endless. Our actresses are hustlers. The industry pays them more. Its paid few guys and the others go into drugs just to meet up so the industry is wicked. The aim being the returns not what they can actually offer like on the days of Liz Benson, joke silver, Olu Jacobs, Pete edocbie, zebrudaya et al. Or the ones who are not funny but try so hard to be relevant like aka okon, ukwa, aki, pawpaw... Hunger does not allow our actors and actresses know when to draw the line on accepting roles nor leave when the ovation is high and make us long for their presence. If not for goverment commitment rmd will still be acting. If not for the ban way back the same actors and actresses will yet be in our faces ... So u see, its now south bound and telemindo and zee world will just fully bury it.

34. Telemudo no let me know

35. I am now addicted to Korean movies *shines teeth... so Nollywood should get better and it won't be phased out.

36. Stella you are very correct. The best soap I watch was called Hidden destiny back in 2012 on AMAG. It was produced by that actress but I haven't seen her on screen again but I think she is based abroad.
    Omo that soap was tight ohhh. Am still waiting for series 2.

37. Can't waste my precious time watching nollywood movies, no way!

38. Anon 13:29 na so you litter comments everywhere. shuooooo na wa for you oo

39. Oga Titus season 1 is ok.. This is a Nollywood movie oh!
    Queen Nwokoye is a very good actress.

1. I love those movies, I am a fan of Queen, Nkoli, chiwetalu Agu, Harry B

40. Y Stella no disable some of the anon 1:29 comment? After she will say she is busy. The anon comment made sense of though just sent too many times!

41. Short movies rock and some soaps like Hotel majestic, as for Tinsel, it's getting too long. Then Ebony life's Desperate house wives, EL shorts and their short movies too. Can't wait to see the movie FIFTY. Hope it will be nice?

42. Short movies rock and some soaps like Hotel majestic, as for Tinsel, it's getting too long. Then Ebony life's Desperate house wives Africa, EL shorts and their short movies too. Can't wait to see the movie FIFTY. Hope it will be nice?

43. Short movies rock and some soaps like Hotel majestic, as for Tinsel, it's getting too long. Then Ebony life's Desperate house wives Africa, EL shorts and their short movies too. Can't wait to see the movie FIFTY. Hope it will be nice?

44. You're all dulling o. No one mentioned EVA on 141. Eva has come to put telemundo on a sleeping bike