Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NDLEA Discovers New Ways To Launder Money.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

NDLEA Discovers New Ways To Launder Money.

The arrest at the weekend at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport in Lagos, of Udeh Onuora Pascal (34), with 108 Automated Teller Machines (ATM) debit cards may have opened a lead to the discovery of another means of money laundering.

Udeh is suspected to be working for an international criminal organisation.

It was learnt that security agencies attached to major international airports have discovered that passengers now launder huge sums of money abroad by loading money into unsuspecting  people’s accounts with the plan of pulling the cash out using debit cards on arrival at their destination .

The new trick, according to officials of the National Drugs Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) is to beat the Customs and Immigration checks at the airport, which require them to declare any foreign currency in excess of $5,000.
According to regulations, passengers are expected to fill certain forms at the airport if they are in possession of any foreign currency above the prescribed amount.

The forms issued by Nigerian Customs Service, is to ensure that huge foreign currencies are documented by the service and relevant checks carried out on its owners before they leave the country.
Spokesman of the NDLEA Mr. Mitchel Ofoyeju, said some passengers are now taking steps to beat existing regulations by using people’s accounts to launder money.

He said the NDLEA and the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) have tightened security to prevent money laundering through the airports.

The synergy, he said, may have pushed some passengers to think of ingenious ways to launder money by using credit cards obtained from people in whose account they have lodged huge sums of money.

Udeh was attempting to board a Qatar Airline flight to China when he was arrested with the debit cards which belong to five commercial banks.
The suspect, who was first transferred to the Assets and Financial Investigation Directorate of the Agency for investigation, has now been turned over to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), according to Mrs. Victoria Egbase, the NDLEA director of assets and financial investigation department.

The suspect, in his statement said he was asked to take the cards to China.
“I am not the owner of the cards. I was told to take them to China and that somebody will collect them from me when I get there. I have a shop where I sell clothes at Onitsha main market. I am also a 300 level student of Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka, Anambra State studying History and International Relations.

“I never knew it would lead to my arrest,” said Udeh who hails from Obibi in Orlu Local Government Area of Imo State.

Extracted from thenationonline.

27 comments:

1. My igbo brothers are always wonderful people. You cannot beat them with money. Thank you NDLEA for this discovery.

1. Which stupid NDLEA are you thanking?...
      Am sure this guy was busted because he didn't settle them....
      Thieves!!!...

2. *blows a bubble* and continues chewing.

3. Ndi imo, akam di na elu oh. Ndi uchu.

1. Shut up Ezi ohia!
      Is not ndi igbo again, is now ndi imo
      Tribalistic Efulefu

2. Yahoo kwenu, laundry kwenu, kidnap kwenu, ashy kwenu ooooo!!

3. Some times if you don't have anything meaningful to say why not keep quiet?

4. I don't blame Amaka, it's Stella's fault.

Its a matter of time, this tribalistic crap will cause major gbege.

4. Choi, see smart tactics... I feel so sorry for the guy. You were asked to take the cards to China and u dint bother to ask questions..

5. A new method of laundring money has been exposed. Trusting Nigerians to create another method.

6. They have been doing this since na haba. Not new at all.

7. Lool!
    Awon naa ni. Awon omo iran ki ran.
    Tufiakwa

8. Igbo mma mma nu!

Muo nuu!

Zuo nuuu!

Zube nuuu!

Ingenious tribe..kikiki.

Biko make una channel this ingenuity to better things and forget about fighting, money laundering and drug peddling.

9. Udeh,the people that sent you don't know the new tactics...
    Na mallams most people dey use now...you give them 10 percent of the money you want to transfer and they will pass that same airport...nobody ask them questions because na dem own Nigeria...
    Or you can settle those beggi beggi NDLEA and co and they will even help you board your flight...
    But people don't like using them cos they are very greedy...
    Nonsense useless country...

10. Hmnnnnn! The extent people go to make money. Ego di n'ogwu!

11. One kayode ogundamisi twitter handle is on fire Stella..check it out.KANU nnamdis ex HF is speaking too and she is saying a lot.

12. If hunters learn to shoot without missing, birds will learn to fly without resting. Naija I hail ooh

13. Igbo no de carry Last for money issues

14. Another method will be out soon

15. He never knew it will lead to his arrest my foot. He is fully aware what he's getting himself into, probably wants to make fast money.
    As the saying goes if one door closes another will open. It'sjust a matter of time for another tricky method to be out. Evil genius.