Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NBC Orders MultiChoice Not To Air ‘Offensive’ Series About Transgender Child

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

NBC Orders MultiChoice Not To Air ‘Offensive’ Series About Transgender Child

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has directed Multichoice, the parent company of DSTV, not to air a programme titled: “I am Jazz” a mini-series about a transgender child.
This is contained in a statement issued by the Director of Public Affairs of the NBC, Mr Awwalu Salihu, and made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja on Monday.

The NBC said the programme is capable of corrupting the youths as it is also at variance with Nigerian law which prohibits homesexuality.

“The attentions of the NBC has been drawn to the concern raised by some members of the public about some alleged plans by the TLC Channel on DSTV to begin airing a programme, I am Jazz, which is about a transgender child.
“The commission has drawn the attention of the service provider to this concern and has received firm assurances that it will investigate if the programme is indeed promoting undesirable ideas that will offend the Nigerian public,” it added.

Meanwhile, MultiChoice Nigeria has complied with the directive of the NBC not to air the controversial mini-series, `I am Jazz’’.
A statement from the organisation obtained by NAN in Abuja said it was aware of the concerns raised by Nigerian viewers across various platforms about the movie.

“After careful consideration and wide consultation from various stakeholders, MultiChoice informs its esteemed subscribers that the mini-series, “I am Jazz” has been pulled off the schedule.
“We regularly assess the impact our content have on our customers and we reassure them that their interests are always considered.
“However, we take comfort in knowing that our decoders are encrypted with the parental control feature that empowers parents with ultimate control over what their children view.

“We also encourage parents to make use of this feature as much as possible to ensure that their children only watch what their parents deem appropriate.
NAN reports that Nigerians on Sunday took to various social media platforms with messages to protest the airing of the movie.
Extract from the trending message read: “I join parents to protest as DSTV Nigeria plans to air Transgender theme soap opera for children starting on Oct. 27.

“Please let’s stand up to protect our children and the moral fibre of this country.

“Join in this protest by sending an email to the National Broadcasting Commission at info@nbc.gov.ng and complain on their website http://nbc.gov.ng 

(NAN) via dailypost

62 comments:

1. One down. Many more to go...

1. My love took first oo.kikikikikiki (Nneora)

2. Thank God NBC is not sleeping like thought.

3. good one good one... LGBT has no place in our society

4. Yes oh thank God they acted on the petition. I saw the pre view of the program I am jazz. And my son was already asking questions, I just made up my mind to use the parental control and lock the program cos he actually dose not watch anything but cartoons. But my 6year old daughter will rather watch tele with me in the room. She watches TLC a lot with me. So thank God the program was cancelled.

2. These pple are working tooth & nail to penetrate our sub-conscious, influence our way of life, concept & mindset. They shd keep at it cos they're in for a long thing!!!

Ghanaman signing out!!!

1. taa. With all the anonymous posta av read. Nobody can influence anybody. People are naturally wicked.

3. Oh! Since homosexuality is prohibited in Nigeria, they want to infiltrate the minds of our young ones, through a very powerful means; the media.
    And by God,if they're allowed to, it would work better than jazz.

They should better pack back to SA or wherever it is they came from, if they've got nothing else to put on air.

4. I see that the west has decided to resort to full blown monarch programming to get us (Africans) to accept their despicable ways.

1. Thank you the observer, there is nothing great about this news in my opinion. "I am Cait" has been airing for a while now and no one has cried foul over it. Bunch of hypocrites!

6. Very good they shld remove I am cait too every stupid programme

1. Totally remove it abeg. Once I tune to E and it's on, I hiss and tune to another station.

7. Please they shouldn't air the program.

8. Very nice.
    We can't be encouraging children to become freaks.

9. Honestly, I don't understand the basis of this protest.
    People just like playing to the gallery.
    When did DSTV become a must have in the home? If what they decide to air is not conducive to you, there are other providers.
    Moreover there's Parental guidance allowed on their channels. Parents can block channels they do not wish their child to watch.

Most of those forwarding the protest up and down sit with their kids to watch 'i am caitlyn'.

Train up your child in the way of the Lord and when he grows up, he will not depart from it.

1. Parents can only control wht their kids watch in d house. Will they also control the ones they watch in their friends' houses?

2. Wait till you have children then come back and type this senseless comment...trying to sound politically correct does not look cute on you my dear.

3. You know some kids know how to beat parental control abi?
      Plus you should never underestimate customer power. If the customers don't wanna watch it, then it has to go. It's not like they're doing us a favour.

4. Oby, you must be silly.
      You think it's everybody that drops comment that's single?

That's my opinion up there and it's what I believe.
      Moreover, my kids do not go to friend's house unnecessary.
      We are supposed to monitor our children and not allow them roam freely around. The days are evil.

Hope you read the anonymous post yesterday?

5. Y naa!! Use to hold u up in high esteem oi!! Ges ure nt married das y

6. Training your child in the way he should grow also means being careful with what your children watch and are exposed to.
      Not a lot of people are just following the masses here. You don't seem to realise how easy it is for children to he manipulated these days. If toddlers can be sexually molested, imagine how much more a seemingly harmless program such as this can do.
      Dont forget that a lot of kids these days know how to disable the Parental Control feature.
      You don't have to agree with me, just like I clearly don't agree with you.
      Oh and not everyone watches 'I am Cait'. In fact everyone I know is pretty much disgusted by the show so really.

7. Thanks MrsD...you summed it up already.
      #protect a child.

8. You are very lucky im in high spirits today...I would have torn you to shreds..retard!

9. You all be catching feelings on my comment.
      I will still maintain DSTV is a choice.
      Nobody is being forced to subscribe.
      A well trained up child will not be easily influenced.
      I don't know what background you all grew up in, that makes you to be easily influenced.

My comment my opinion. If you are not okay, pls go and hug a transformer.

10. And you just had to insult people's backgrounds and be rude about it. You're entitled to your opinions as is the next person.
      No one was 'catching feelings' You claimed not to get the point and I attempted to explain it to you.
      Not everyone would agree with you, learn to accept constructive criticism without lashing out.

11. And no I'm not easily influenced. Clearly, I grew up in a decent and stable background as I don't feel the need to retort to insults to get my point(s) across.

10. Thats good for those concerned about it.
    As for me, I'm on the fence when it comes to TLGTS or in whatever order they come in.
    Per adventure they go ahead and air the programme, parents should just make use of the parental control or simply banish their kids to another section of the house whenever the programme starts...Lol.

1. And some other children will watch it in their house n discuss it with my children in school abi? Scrap the nonsense program

2. And some other kids will watch in their own house n discuss it with my own kids in school abi? Scrap the Yeye program n don't put ideas in our kids' heads.

11. Great news I tell ya. But I saw it on channel 100 among the programmes to be shown. Well, let's see.

Jesus is Lord.

1. That's more like the DSTV guide.

2. She's right. 100 also runs programmes schedule all the time, in case your subscription isn't up and running.

3. I said programmes to be shown, meaning it'll be shown on other channels, Didn't say 100 is showing it.

Jesus is Lord.

12. Never say never! @ Tayan Taylor.

13. It's dia business, n dey can run it d way dey want. It's not by force to tune to d channel, dia are many channels u can watch. Nigerians always acting out of proportion, n yet dey are d most corrupt country in d world. All sins are equal b4 God, u can't be fornicating with ur bf/gf, or committing adultery, n then turn around to condemn a gay or Transgender. Bc if God come today, u all will go to hell and that time, u won't av a choice but to share the space with them. So stop judging others when u are not holy. Even liars, thieves, gossips, etc will all will end up in hell fire same as them.

1. Wat trash are u talking? ? Olodo sumborri

2. And you are holy? Join the line to hell

14. Why will they even think of airing such program.
    GOOD idea NBC

15. Good Good Good!!!

**Som Baby**

16. Very boring importantly, I am Cait should be taken down too. only God knows how much I hate Dat program.

17. It is remaining I am Cait on E-Entertainment. God that made us in his image knows why he created male and female specie. We don't have the right to change Gods work.
    Meanwhile reading that Anonymous post yesterday. I fear the amount of lesbians we have in dis country o, I honestly hope some of dos things I read are make belief and not real. The day a lady will try and entice me for sex, that is the day d demon inside me will come out.

18. These south africans behaving like Americans. They are not serious at all. why do you guys want to change Nigeria overnight. Just imagine me watching Love and Justice and saw where they told Dablo to type 666 to blow up the prison, who does that.

Now gay and lesbianism don dey enter telemundo. May God help us all AMEN.

DSTV UNA DEY CRAZE FOR HEAD

19. Don't see any thing good about it jare

20. Parents should be very mindful of there kids, God bless *the African child*

21. Am disappointed at some parents who open their dirty mouth to support DSTV and their hidden agender. i understand that you have no idea of what the media is doing to this generation. now i ask you a question, if u succeed in blocking the channel @ home, will u do the same when your kids are at school? if u understand how powerful a kids mind is, i bet u will change ur confession. these people are snatching your children right under your nose and you are there speaking english of parental control mstchheww.

22. Am amazed how some mothers here will open their mouth to support multi choice and their hidden agender. Let me ask you a question, if you block ur child from viewing some stations @ home, will u do d same while he is in skool. No wonder some kids turn out to be something different to d ignorance of deir peeps. If only you understand how media is destroying dis generation, I bet your confession will be different...let's not sit down and be speaking English of parental control, rise up ad speak for the future of ur child.

23. Gay Movement is gradually winning in Nigeria. Until we shut down media and blogs promoting this agenda.... they will get us all.

24. After shutting down the Dstv program, who shuts the ones that can be accessed via the internet?????