Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mother Of Two Now Looks Permanently Pregnant After Suffering 'Rare Reaction' To Contraceptive Coil

Thursday, October 01, 2015

Mother Of Two Now Looks Permanently Pregnant After Suffering 'Rare Reaction' To Contraceptive Coil

A mother of two has been left looking permanently pregnant after apparently suffering a rare reaction to a contraceptive.

Cassie Edwards, 27, from High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, has been forced to wear maternity clothes for the last six months after getting a coil fitted following the birth of her second child, Tyler.
She looks like she is carrying twins and is often asked by well-meaning passersby when she is due to give birth.

The single mother, who works as a dinner lady at a local school, took only five months to drop her baby weight and return to a slim size 10 after giving birth to her son earlier this year.
She then took the decision to not have any more children and went to the doctor's to get a coil fitted.
But almost immediately after the fitting, her stomach began to balloon up and it is still growing.
"Doctors haven't got a clue what's going on - my belly is growing and growing and I'm stuck in maternity clothes now," Ms Edwards said. "I told doctors it must be down to the coil, but they aren't sure.
"They keep needing to run further tests, but all the time my belly is growing.

"I feel embarrassed and scared of the big babyless bump.
"If it gets any bigger, people will think its twins."
Doctors have confirmed via ultrasound that Ms Edwards is not pregnant.
They are currently waiting to perform a colonoscopy on the mother, and are looking further into her condition.
In the meantime, Ms Edwards is dealing with the symptoms of pregnancy daily.
She suffers from a sore back, aching, swollen breasts, and a constant urge to urinate.
"My body thinks I'm pregnant again. It's so odd. I have a larger bump than I did when I was actually pregnant," she said. "It all happened after the coil was fitted, so I can only put it down to that.
"I can't go out the house without someone asking me when I'm due. I lost all my weight for nothing."
The coil, also called an intrauterine device (IUD), is a small T-shaped plastic and copper contraceptive.
It is inserted into a woman's womb by a specially-trained doctor or nurse.
It can prevent pregnancy for five to 10 years.

-UK Mirror

82 comments:

1. Too bad for her but I'm sure the situation can be remedied.

1. If na for Naija now una go begin cuss doctors.
      Oya make she go india!

2. She should rock it while it lasts!
      Beautiful woman

3. The coil should be removed first. ..then further tests carried out...In medicine never say never...even if the coil she used isn't hormonal (some iucd's are hormone impregnated),that's the only noticeable thing that happened as regards her health prior to onset of the abdominal distention and anyone can react to anything .

2. what a life when person get fibroid sef e dey bad come talk of this one

#ONE NIGERIA

3. Lol! Imagine *in my girlfriends voice*

1. Your comment proves you don't deserve a girlfriend.

4. Let the coil be removed na. She should try a different birth control method since this one is obviously not working for her. Just negodu!

5. Now I won't think of trying such contraceptive.

6. Replies
    1. It could happen to any race.

2. Yes oh. I did hand implant. Change me from size 10 to 12

3. It can happen to any one
      Not only white

7. Woooow
    That's a 1st
    Was even thinking of getting something similar, so I can concentrate and work again.
    I jus changed my mind

8. am beginning to get scarer o, haven't seen my period for three months now and scan says it's nothing, viginal test says it's an infection which i have been taking the med since last month but no period still

9. stella maris baby1 October 2015 at 08:50

Chaii!!
    what a.pity.

10. Hmmmmm na wa o, she looks beautiful in the first pix but looks like a man in the second.

11. Some contraceptives are killers!

Na wah!
    This is not cool at all.

12. Haa ds is serious ooh,that's why I don't like using anything called contraceptives,they always hv side effects.

13. Jeeez
    This is bad.i hope they find a solution.

I wonder how she'd be feeling
    I would have lost my mind

14. She brought it on herself.
    Why can't she gbensh with condom ?
    Shameless women

1. I think u are an illiterate.how does using coil make her shameless

2. What is shameless about a woman who chose a popular birth control method but sadly backfired!??

I have heard you're generous, but you're also often rude, uncouth & tribalistic.

Strike a balance. I wonder what you teach your kids or dependants! Irony is you probably claim Christianity. Weird!

3. Shut up there you idiot! Is it not men like you that refuse to use condom.

4. What if her hubby/partner no like condom? what happens then? What if she has requested dat the man shd tie his tubes? afterall, it's a less painful alternative....

Try to get all the details b4 u run off assumptions.

5. Money maker this is a new month...kindly read and comprehend don't be so fast to comment....

15. Hian!

Since she was sure she didn't want more children, why didn't she opt for a hysterectomy, instead of inserting a foreign body in there?

Probably wanted room for if she changed her mind later,i suppose.

It might also be a rare kind of tumour.

1. Seriously?
      Do you understand what hysterectomy means at all?I presume you just heard it and feels typing it will make you appear smart
      Doctors won't advise hysterectomy as a form of contraceptive except it's life saving and then it won't be a form of contraceptive rather it would be a form of cure to something else entirely..
      You didn't even think of tubal ligation
      Don't worry...I hope you get to make use of your own advice soon..
      Psst.....

2. Seriously?
      Do you understand what hysterectomy means at all?I presume you just heard it and feels typing it will make you appear smart
      Doctors won't advise hysterectomy as a form of contraceptive except it's life saving and then it won't be a form of contraceptive rather it would be a form of cure to something else entirely..
      You didn't even think of tubal ligation
      Don't worry...I hope you get to make use of your own advice soon..
      Psst.....

3. Lol

Orela,please,not all medical personnel, come here to show off.

I know of cases where women opt for it out of their free will.
      And keep that hope to yourself for future use.

Thanks and Happy Independence.

4. Lol
      Sweedie. ....This no be show off. .show off who E help?.even for real life E no help o...
      But this ya advise na using hammer to kill fly..haba you think am na...single mother at 27 next thing hysterectomy.na so the thing tire am?
      .no one is discrediting you dear ..IJS

You are welcome dear and happy independence to you too

5. E no help truly..lol
      In retrospect, tubectomy would have been the more viable option, I concede.

Thanks for your courteous approach to this.
      Some other person might have come at me guns blazing. :D

6. I commend you both on how the conversation ended. At a point I thought fireworks were about to start flying from all angles. You both showed maturity and class.

16. Contraceptives are not good.Doctors say they are safe&easy to use but I disagree.I think the best are condoms.I have heard stories of women bleeding from the pills or injections.some even stop seeing their periods.I guess it differs&is based on what works for our bodies....The silent observer...I love SDKblog

17. Were u living with a man ? Why IUD

18. She looks like miley cyrus. Maybe the baby is hiding somewhere in her tummy invisible to ultrasound devices.

19. She should remove the coil nah.

There was a time my SIL fixed one that gave her gigantic pimples on her face. There was nothing we didn't use o, the pimples refused to go.
    Until the day she remembered that the pimples started after fixing her coil. She removed the coil and all the pimples disappeared.

Women are suffering.

1. Hmmm....women are suffering no be small o.
      It is d iud causing her problems....I felt d same way after I inserted my iud....I was bloated, tummy, boobs and all....people kept telling me I was pregnant! Hmmmm....I quickly removed it o....then actually got pregnant and had a sweet little princess. I then decided to use contraceptives and my doctor gave me cerazette, a progesterone only pill cause I was breastfeeding exclusively....Na so d pill push my period out and caused me to have hives all over my body....I would not stop itching until I realize the mini-pills was the causer of the hives! I threw the pills away o and started taking antihistamine tablets to counter the effects of the histamine in my blood.
      I am done with all forms of pills or iuds....Oga can use a condom if he so wishes or keeping skirt-chasing for all I care....Moreso, I heard pills increases the risk of breast cancer. I can't come and go and kill myself cause of an undeserving being called man abi na husband...Shiooorrr.

20. So I ask the mothers and Doctors here, please, which is the best form of contraceptive?

1. Am neither, but I can tell u there's no 'best'. Each woman has to seek out the one that's just right for her, in consultation with a Gynaecologist. From my wide reading, if a woman is done with childbirth, I think the most balanced is the 91 day cycle injection. It makes a few women put on weight, but its not permanent.

So see your gynae & read a lot.

2. Condom....yes o , let d guy use condom....pills cause breast cancer o

3. Abstinence.

SHARONNA

4. @Orela,well said.
      U are a very intelligent woman.

5. So married couples should also practice abstinence? Really?

6. Check for natural herbal contraceptive. My husband use organic neem leaf capsule and if we want to have sex during my highly fertile period I put some drops of organic neem oil in my ......, because it kill sperms within 30seconds and is effective for five hours.

21. Money maker,you are such a big fool.is condom not a contraceptive? Do you know how many unwanted pregnancies that have occurred following the use of condom.
    I have been on IUD for 2 yrs and am ok but it's rather unfortunate that this lady is reacting to it. Is her decision not to have more kids not wise? Some1 will just open his gutter of a mouth and yarn thrash!

22. See wahala! I pray she gets help

23. Aww..
    And she is such a pretty lady.

24. Well I have used this iucd for 2yrs and counting but am good,nothing like that happened to me.and my dear money maker is not easy asking hubby to get a condom every time we make love....all these contraceptive depends on what works for you...

1. Yep I have had an IUCD for three years now. And am good. Anyway like the article said its a rare reaction to it not like it happens to everyone.

2. Thanks ladies! I was considering getting one but this post almost discouraged me. Abeg I no fit for condom.

3. I have IUCD without any side effects but I later got pregnant with my IUCD still in place. It was like a magic but since then I Shine my eyes.

25. She should remove the coil na. Ha!

1. No be small tins ooooooo maybe she likes the way she looks

26. I got one in February & now I'm scared cos I normally hv unexplainable abdominal pains. I'm done with having kids & I don't want stories oh.

27. May they find solution to her predicament.

28. what is stopping the doctors from removing the damn thing from her body.ah ah! which one is conducting test upon test on someone suffering as a result of what they inserted into her body.smh.

29. I've been married for 11 years with 3 kids but I've never been on any kind of Birth Control. For God sake, a woman's chances of getting pregnant is just 3 - 5 days out of 30 days. Ovulation is actually 1 day. Why then would I allow something as dangerous as a contraceptive be placed inside me? I am in the medical field and I can tell my fellow women that these hormonal based contraceptives are very dangerous to our health. Rather than fix these things to make a man happy, let the man get himself fixed not you. No human being is worth risking your life for. Biko nu.

1. Nne u finish talk...let d man fix himself .

2. It depends on your body type.madam this your method is the billings method,i can't even risk it because my menses is irregular

3. My dear! You took the words out from my mouth!!

Will he die if we abstaines for 5day within a month?
      When the sex no be blood tonic!! Shiooor!

4. You should be ashamed to call yourself a medical personnel for this ignorant comment.

5. Billings method doesn't work for women with irregular periods, you should know better madam "medical field". By the way sex is sweet when it's spontaneous not using timetable.

30. some posts here have me worried!! the ignorance hmmm. number one she is assuming it is the IUD it could also be a million other reasons, which is why they are doing further investigations. there are various methods of birth control and what works for one may not necessarily work the same way for another. comments like the woman being shameless because she decides on using a contraceptive is alarming please get informed.
    http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs351/en/

31. I have had mine for 5 years and its ok except for some abdominal pains, heavy periods

32. Mirror reported only the claims of this woman without seeking the perspective of medical experts unlike how DAILY MAIL reported it. Based on scientific evidence, unlike the hormonal intrauterine devices (that can cause bloating and even mimick some pregnancy symptoms), It's strange that a copper containing iucd can cause this, as claimed by mrs edwards. Medicine is dynamic, though. I hope this post will not further worsen the perception of our women about contraception and family planning. The negative implication of poor contraceptive uptake on our maternal and child health indices is incalculable!!

33. Hmmm mine is just 3months,have not had nmy period for 2months,no weight gain,i did the implanon type.may God help women

1. It is because you just have it, check your symptoms in 6months to a year plus. IUCD is the best so far because it is non hormonal contraceptives, every other ones has their own side effects. Google is you friend.

34. The woman has only attributed d distention 2 d coil,but she can't be sure. It s not uncommon 4 pple on contraceptive 2 add weight ,which is often distributed 2 d buttocks abdomen breast and thigh but she should at least remove it and c if swelling would regress . imaging ,hormonal and other biochemistry checks should be beneficial.

35. @ Indigo kindly offer one that isn't ignorant.
    @ Jane Billings has nothing to do with irregularity in menstrual cycles. This is were communication come in. Hubby looks forward to those few days of abstinence, the subsequent love making is out of this world, trust me. I'd rather sacrifice a few days than have an abortifacient implanted in me.
    But then again, it's your body ladies.