....So, we have all been happy for Nigerian Reggae legend, Majek Fashek after returning from many weeks of rehabilitation following his battle with drugs and alcohol addictions.
Thinking back to the heartbreaking situation the brilliant musician was in
months back before respite came his way, I will never wish my number one enemy such.
Thanks to billionaire Ayiri Emami who is believed to have single-handedly taken it upon himself to foot the bill of whatever it took to get the rain-maker back to sanity, even when all his so called friends initially shied from him.
Of course, many thanks also to the gentlemen of the press, especially Joseph Edgar who wrote that heartfelt article on his encounter with Majek Fashek who was then begging for 'Ogogoro' at Fadeyi.
However, the joy we are all currently experiencing over his rehabilitation may soon be cut short if Majek Fashek is not well guided by those close to him who are supposed to guard him jealously.
Majek Fashek had his come-back performance on Thursday at Felabration 2015 and the atmosphere was simply nostalgic!
I was held spell bound as he dishes some of his popular songs such as "Africa's Unity", "Majek Fashek In New York", "Send Down The Rain" and a few others that gave me serious goose bumps and almost moved me to tears.
Chai, addiction na bastard! I thought aloud! It's obvious the rain-maker still has his musical charms and I just couldn't help but imagine the huge talent that has all this years wasted away under the shackles of drug and alcohol addiction.
With the performance I saw that night, I can proudly say that the rain-maker is back; but for crying out loud, why in the whole world would someone think of bringing Majek Fashek who is fresh out of the rehab to hang around and perform in a place like Fela's shrine which reeks of all the appearance of almost everything that landed him in the rehab in the first place?
It is common knowledge that addicts who just left treatment facilities are always advised to steer clear of environments and association that can trigger their cravings.
A lot of time in rehab is focused on preparing people for the move back home–a transition that can be a perilous one if the client is not careful because the learning is far from over; the toughest challenges lie ahead of them.
All the conditions that supported substance abuse may still be there, and the individual needs to be ready to face these.
Staying away from alcohol or drugs while in rehab is made as easy as possible only because the client is protected from temptation and the whole focus of the environment is on helping them beat their addiction.
However, going home means no longer having such favorable conditions to promote abstinence and any mistake to go back to the former lifestyle can end the person in a worse state than he or she was before checking in into the treatment facility.
Therefore, when the thick smoke of 'Mary Jane' that danced all over the air inside the African shrine that night at every sound of Majek Fashek forced me to leave the venue immediately after his performance, my thoughts were with him throughout my journey back home.
"They better get him out of that premises already or he will end up trying some wraps tonight," I thought to myself. And that's if they didn't actually offer him some that night, aside from the mass of the smoke from the air that must have saturated his system as he performed on that stage.
And you know what the doctors warn about second-hand smoking being worse than even the actual smoking!
I was like gosh! How can people be so careless with this man after all he has been through?
You wouldn't ignite a fire at a fuel station, so why take Majek Fashek to a place like the New Afrikan Shrine? Atleast not at this early stage of his post-rehabitation.
Here is deeply hoping that Majek Fashek's handlers will start being extremely careful and cautious henceforth so that (God forbid) they don't help him back to the rehab again..and that's if an Ayiri comes to his rescue this time around.
We know how long it took for someone to finally decide to do something about his plight!
Written by Morakinyo Olugbiji (Journalist/PR Expert)
ah! it true o. nigerians sef!. may Go dhelp him o
ReplyDeleteHis recovery and healing will be permanent i pray.
ReplyDeleteWell said!
ReplyDeleteHian!...
ReplyDeleteI am tired of all these...
He should go back to his old life if he can't help himselve...
Who get time?...Abeggi!...
Just imagine.... My own is why the rush to let him perform. This guy is still far from being OK. Thanks for this article observer
ReplyDeletePersonally I feel they are rushing him. We are all happy he is recuperating fine, but he should take his time off media and places like 'Fela Shrine' for now.
ReplyDeleteI also think he's still living in denial, the man won't even agree he had drug issues. He keeps saying it was spiritual.
That sounds to me like he would have a relapse since he hasn't accepted drugs ruined him (initially).
frying pan u spoke well
DeleteQuick Recovery Majek, Happy Sunday 1bigFamily
ReplyDeleteThat's true, he really needs to stay away from Fed's shrine !
ReplyDeletePoor Majek, sad to know he doesn't even have a mind of his own anymore.
ReplyDeleteWhat drugs can do ehn! I really pray he doesn't suffer a relapse.
Eeeyah, I just feel pity for him. Its not easy to totally leave drugs.
ReplyDeleteMy thoughts exactly when I saw the pics on Facebook.
ReplyDeleteI wasn't excited at all
Fela shrine for that matter#clickstongue
Happy birthday to me!!!!!!!!! Thank you God.
ReplyDeleteHappy Birthday Dear
DeleteHappy birthday to you dear. You share birthday with my friend Nnamdi
DeleteHappy birthday. You dey fear to send in ur pictures. Have a blast.
DeleteThanks sweets
Delete@Amaka, you want make dem use mouth spoil my day? I don't have the liver o
HBD
Deleteav fun
Happy Beautiful Dearie.
DeleteI just love this man....the one and only rainmaker, May God keep you for us!!
ReplyDeletefind out your skin type and how to keep it glowing and healthy
10 things a woman should NEVER be caught without!!!
6 snacks you thought were healthy but are actually not!!!
Majek, I so love this man's old school songs, I pray God gives him total healing
ReplyDeleteGod help him
ReplyDeleteWell said Mora.
ReplyDeleteI hope they get to see this.
Majek is such a talent. I pray he recovers fully. Btw, the man is old na, he should just retire and rest.
ReplyDeleteVery nice
ReplyDeleteWhat a life! He should be properly monitored biko.
ReplyDeleteNigerians are yet to understand what substance addiction means. A lot of doctors do not even know where to refer patients presenting with obvious substance abuses hence they either give them paracetamol or sleeping pills wishing they will sleep their addiction away.
ReplyDeleteThis man needs to stay away from dealers that are looking to enrich their pockets by sneaking drugs in for him hoping Ayiri left him some wads of dollars!
His friends/handlers might actually be his worse enemies.
God be with you Majek,
Rita,if you ever cared for this man,please save him. I have had this nagging/eerie feeling that going back to drugs this time will be the death of him!
Happy Sunday all.
Happy Sunday Nwa Baby m!
DeleteEeeeya....got teary knowing he is finally on his way to recovery and doing ok.
ReplyDeleteWell done Writer! Thanks for bringing this to public notice.if his Managers and organisers of dis show did what dey did out of ignorance,hope this awareness snaps dem right back to common sense and quickly whisk Majek away from dat place and any other Environment that might make him have a relapse.
God bless u Majek.and may He Complete ur healing in Jesus Name.Amen.
Nawa ooo, this life eehn, I wish him full recovery.
ReplyDeleteQuick question, is Mary-Jane really illegal in Nig (Lagos) cos the NDLEA cannot tell me they donno weed was smoked at the Felabration grounds...
ReplyDeleteIyami, see this man. Drugs na bastard, he should not be allowed to go out to perform yet. When he does, he should be properly monitored.
ReplyDeleteOh send down the rain
ReplyDeleteMama mama mama ye, send down the rain! I loved that song when I was small. Quik recovery Majek. This Lagos rains wan spoil my church show.
ReplyDeleteFeel so much 4 him no one like majek he got a Golden vioce I pray he gets well for good.1luv.
ReplyDeleteMajek is not well yet,he should stay away from drugs
ReplyDeleteThats absurd. But why! Why!!Why!!!.
ReplyDeleteSame thing I thought too.
ReplyDeleteToo soon, why the rush for him to perform and at African shrine! Mschewwww
ReplyDeleteSame thing I thought when I heard he was to perform there. Addiction is really a terrible thing and addicts require a lot of patience, medical help amd love. @ the queen and boss it will be easy for you to say he should help himself cos you/ anybody ypu know have never been affected. I pray he is able to start a new phase of life
ReplyDeleteMay God help him
ReplyDeleteWell here's the deal!
ReplyDelete1st of all heaven help those who help themselves
Its depends solidly on Majek fashek if he want to fight the addiction demons
Whatever u do for an addict if he lack the fighting spirit then he will sure relapsed
He should be willing and ready to say NO
That even when he is in a room filled with MJ smokers he can just take a walk without being asked to
But if not!
He could pretend and go behind everyone and still smoke
Everything starts and ends with his willingness to STOP
Let's hope he is ready for the change
His handlers are just too eager to make money off of him,simple. May God have mercy on them and also give MF the wisdom to decipher...
ReplyDeleteSherry's Daughter
Good morning stella,thanks for the article on majek's performance @felabration.i want to set the record straight.the problem with majek is more about the press.if the don't have good information they shoud desist from carry news dat are not thru.majek was taken to the rehab my me on the instruction of my boss,chief ayirimi emami.majek was not on hard drugs,he went for alcohol addiction which he has been discharged from.the phase majek is now is post rehabilitation and integration into d society.majek had to perform to honour fela because to him fela was one of the few people that trained him n gave him breakthrough in america.if the person that sent u the article wanted information he shd have come to ask not writing rubbish.his performance was spell bound n femi kuti came down twice to join him on stage.for further clarifications pls let them tune in to HiPTV 6pm Nigerian time for exclusive interview with majek.thank u and God bless
ReplyDeleteAlcohol or drug addiction have similar side effects. He should be well monitored, simple !
DeleteIdentify yaself and alcohol, drugs all join...he should recuperate well for there qould be more oppourtunities to felabrate jare... the road to recovery is long and bumpy so guide him well or lose out.. weldone in the first phase. una try
DeleteReally? dis is incredible.......smh
DeleteWho is the fool that sent this in? You cannot even write properly and you are there shouting! After all the shouting, you did not address the writer's plight you just sounded like someone out to defend your boss who has been getting praises o not criticism! Abeg abeg abeg if english comprehsension is a problem for you, stay away from public speaking! Mtsseew
DeleteThis reply though!!! Do you understand the poster at all?
DeleteLoll @ 'his performance was spell bound' you go fear English.
Is Majek planning to die soon? If he doesn't honour Fela in Oct, is there no other month or day or way he can honour Fela?
Abeg spare me that jackshit. The obvious is obvious to those who have brains and can use them.
Sadly, you're just on the trigger nose of a relapse.
Abeg I don't believe that alcohol is the only issue this man has. For ur info, Mr PA, I once met Majek in N York and I know what I saw, what he said, and what the people around him said about his situation. Matter of fact, I met with one of his benefactors back then. All I'm going to say is that, while it is good to want to protect ur boss's image as well as Majek's, I think it's best that one says the truth, so that those who can help will do so. I repeat, alcohol isn't the only issue with the man o, and I'm surprised that u are putting his case so lightly as tho its not a big deal. Biko let the man get all the help he needs. There's no need going tru the social media to see what is being said and issuing a rejoinder. No one is blaming ur boss for anything. Your primary concern should be Majek, and I pray that God helps and blesses ur boss beyond measures
DeleteHappy 4 him!
ReplyDeleteHe should also stop showing us his dry abs!
May God grant him complete healing, we have really missed him so much
ReplyDeleteStella pls next time use a better picture of Majek Fashek. This picture does not do justice to him since he is much better.
ReplyDeleteMy brother,thanks for your article,we the handlers of Majek has taken note of your advice and we sure will guide him,you wrote well and meant well too. Know this,Majek got to the venue at 10pm and was in Yeni's office till his performance that nite,he is an old and more matured man that understands where he is coming from and surely knows where he is going now,even we that are close to him does not need to be his baby sitter as he is so so aware of all situation. Chief Ayiri not only helped him through rehab but also helped him through basic facts of life and what it takes to handle situation. We assured you and all Nigerians that,though he is back,he will be back to his throne as the best music export from out of naija. Thanks bro and special thanks to all Nigerians. Deji Square.
DeleteYou are 'handlers' but you don't need to baby sit him...
I hope Majek loves himself as much as people do! He should just stay clear of functions and media till he is well ok to handle fame.