These are the tree graves of Indonesia where dead babies are 'buried' inside the trunks of living plants so they can be 'absorbed' by nature.
The ritual takes place in the regency of Tana Toraja, a remote part of the mountainous region of South Sulawesi, 186 miles north of the capital Makassar.
Villagers hollow out holes in huge tree trunks before wrapping the deceased child in cloth and then placing the infant inside.
The hole is then sealed over with palm fibre and, as the tree heals over time, the body is believed to be absorbed. Dozens of babies are interred in each tree.
Only children who die before they have started teething are buried in this way with locals believing the wind then takes away their souls.
-Daily Mail
where
ReplyDeleteThe hoot?????
DeleteChaeeeee! Dat place no go dey smell?!!!
DeleteAbeg some1 should remind me not to eat fruits from Indonesia.. tenk u!
Blood of jesus
DeleteHia!!
Scary
DeleteNa wah o. So many odd things happen in Asia continent. I hope those trees won't start growing babies ss fruits and branches.
DeleteTufiakwa.
Weird.
DeleteHian...
ReplyDeleteToor
ReplyDeleteOh chim!
ReplyDeleteGod is GREAT!
ReplyDeleteCreepy!!!
ReplyDeleteWarris dis???
ReplyDeleteEvery country has its weird culture. Whether you bury a child in the soil or in a tree you're still giving the corpse back to nature.
ReplyDeleteExactly
DeleteGood Lord!!!!! What barbaric practice is this?
ReplyDeleteWeird
ReplyDeleteFor real?
ReplyDeleteHmmm strange cultures everywhere.
ReplyDeleteI don't know how I feel about this biko.
As in ehn, its so odd.
DeleteWow. So the babies become part of the tree??
ReplyDeleteAsk the Tree Dummy!!
DeleteNa wa...o
ReplyDeleteEvery day, one wakes up to strange happenings. May God help us.
ReplyDeleteSo the wind takes away their souls for what exactly?
Strange things are really happening
DeleteWhat the hell!
ReplyDeleteAm terrified.
DeleteSome babies are born with teeth na,at least mine was
ReplyDeleteAbnormal babes are born with teeth, just watch and see the babe grow up
DeleteBiko wat kind of baby is born with a teeth madam?lmao... Odiegwu really!
DeleteUr baby was born with teeth?
DeleteHow weird!
Better watch out for that baby of urs
Its not normal at all!
Winch pikin!
God have mercy
How many teeth were they @ anon 16:54?
Delete4, are u people happy now.
DeleteDracula tinz?
DeleteYour baby is normal, dearie.
DeleteWeird culture. They won't even let those babies rest in peace with their plenty wahala.
ReplyDeleteKeep seeing/reading weird shiiiii everyday
ReplyDeleteInteresting!!! Yet very sad!!
ReplyDelete*tears*
THELMA ENEMUWE said...
ReplyDeleteWhat a strange barbaric culture
Wetin person nor go read 4 here
*faithful BV enemuwe thelma*
THELMA ENEMUWE said...
ReplyDeleteWhat a strange barbaric culture
Wetin person nor go read 4 here
*faithful BV enemuwe thelma*
Eerie.
ReplyDeleteStrange to us but I'm sure it's normal to them.
ReplyDeleteTo think I will be in Indonesia in 3weeks,gives me the shivers...
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Nna mad souls..... #NowPlaying>> sugar: yemi alade
May there souls rest in peace. Personally I think its a good way to bury them.
ReplyDeleteWeird and disgusting!
ReplyDeleteCan u. Imagine?
Dat forest will be so scary to enter
ReplyDeleteWhatever they still rot away
ReplyDeleteWat won't I read
ReplyDeleteOh chimo!!!
ReplyDeleteWeirdos!
ReplyDeleteHmmm
ReplyDeleteDifferent believes everywhere.
ReplyDeleteOuch! Creepy!
ReplyDelete*WHERE
ReplyDeleteScary shit!
ReplyDeleteheeeey! i went to the general Hospital at igando yesterday to greet someone that gave birth,, ohhhh i have been down since yesterday, i cried out of the hospital and they had to take me away!
ReplyDeletewhat brought tears to my eyes was when i entered the ward, i saw many women that gave birth tru cs including the lady u went to greet, some couldn't walk, some crying in pains, eyyyyy
i couldn't hold the tears when i saw them pass one pipe to the viginal, that they can't urinate by themselves and they can't eat until after 27 hours, argggghhh
the tears was just flowing and i began to thatnk God almighty for my life four years ago, not that i am righteous or good, but God had mercy on me on the day of my delivery
cont..
ReplyDeletei didn't go to any hospital because my baby daddy was a broke ass, so we agreed on giving birth inside our one room apartment, that we will just call a nurse to do it.... i would have been dead by now!
two days before the labour day, we just locked ourselves inside and keep hoping, the next day we invited a nurse and she gave me an injection the next day, i almost died when the wicked injection went to my throat, but God had mercy and the baby boy came out! on the floor, no test, not drugs no hospital and JESUS took over!
oh dunno how to thank this God oooooo
Hmnn. So u ve been collecting prick while waiting for man of God and even dropped one? May God answer u anyway. *not judging*
DeleteWith your baby daddy? Shameless woman. No wonder u are a single mother
DeleteWicked injection? Lmao
DeleteSee them...Accusers of the brethren. Some people are so predictable, makes me wonder. Did u ever stop to think for once, dear anonymous 22:14, that this lady up there gave this info voluntarily without duress? Would u have known this if she didn't share her testimony? Do u even know her? Yet u quickly came to chastise her with an info that isn't privileged to u, something she's not ashamed to share???
DeleteBut u want to force her to succumb to guilt and shame, because u are who? a cyber thug right? The SHAME and joke is on YOU, not her.
The cyber space is where we meet people from all works of life, irrespective of status. As a matter of fact, we are all levelers here until u can put a name or face to anyone here. We come here to learn, to share stories, to play, empathise with one another, encourage ourselves, seek advice where necessary, and of course, to cuss ourselves out whenever possible.
But in the end...we log off daily, fulfilled that we've satisfied our urge to interact for the day. Yea I'm issuing an epistle because of how I condemned this lady. And I think that u owe her ur unreserved apologies.
Whether u are cloaked under anonymous or not, ur conscience will stand against u in judgment. That's all.
Sisi eko I have watched you for sometime now and I can tell you that you are the most pretentious person on this blog.
DeleteSisi eko dont burst ur vein wit dis ur epistle to galatians, u hear? Mcheww
Delete@sisi eko, thanks!
Deleteplease don't even give yourself headache cos of anonymous them.... am only using this medium to thank God, any of them can say whatever dey like, i don't bloody care!
Look at this one. Pretentious my bloody ass!!! Pretentious for telling u not to use another person's situation to insult them? Oh pls, Pretentious I wish to remain then. Just be patient ehn, you'll get more of my Pretentious vibes. Now u can buzz the hell off!!!!
DeleteGiving back to nature what belongs to nature...
ReplyDeleteWeird and disgusting!
ReplyDeleteCan u. Imagine?
Orishirishi lo was laye yio.
ReplyDeleteKai
ReplyDeleteWhat could have be their reasons? Scaring.
ReplyDeleteHmmmm I no fit shout at all.
ReplyDeleteOne thing i lyk about dis blog z dat d bvs r mature, dey r so absorbd in minding their business. Though we are not all frm dsame culture and we hav different religions yet u hardly c a comment seriously insultin other religions and what dey blv in. Jst keep it up. It doesnt add any value to ur lyf to insult oda ppl's faith.
ReplyDeleteObviously you are new here!
DeleteTeeter,please shut up.
DeleteNt really, bn arnd 4 a whyl, i jst read comments n laf @least i kno d vry frequent ones, i mean their names n iv read d fights n all dat. Jst droppin comment 4 d first tym
DeleteVery new
DeleteYou are very new here. Lol Don't worry, you'll see!
DeleteLmao.
DeleteWelcome newbie
Tufiakwa
ReplyDeletehmmmm nawa oooooooo
ReplyDeleteTheir culture, their way of life respect them and u will not need to disturb your head about why things are done that way