Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ghana Moves To Solve Energy Dispute With Nigeria‏

Monday, October 19, 2015

Ghana Moves To Solve Energy Dispute With Nigeria‏

Ghana is hoping to reach a deal with Nigeria this week over a $103m (£70m) unpaid bill for gas after Nigeria's gas company suspended its threat to cut supplies. 
Ghana has struggled to pay its Nigerian gas bill after the Volta River Authority (VRA) utility ran out of money because it stopped borrowing funds from banks as interest rates soared during the country's financial crisis.

The VRA stopped paying for gas in August last year, but last week the government did pay $10m, opening the way for talks on how the remaining sum will be paid.

Ghana's electricity industry is mired in a crisis, with tariffs too low to be profitable, reduced supplies from the country's dams and residents stealing power. 
The gas, which is piped from Nigeria through Benin and Togo, is used to generate a quarter of Ghana's electricity so any cut in supply will hamper power production. 

It's also a political problem because President John Mahama has vowed to end the blackouts by the start of next year.

BBC reportage

24 comments:

1. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    So na we dey help their lifes all those while, while we dey here dey suffer like mad... Serious matter i swear...... #NowPlaying>> right nw: sheyi shay... #NowPlaying>> right nw: sheyi shay....

2. I think say dem say Ghana de...... Any way make i shut up.

3. They better pay up,most of these african countries take Nigeria for a fool. They expect us to keep doing good to them while they show us disdain most times.

4. and yet these Ghanians does not respect Nigerians as the big brothers.... even at our country's government waywardness we could still boasts of electricity supplies to our neighbouring countries.. this goes to buttress the adage that nobody is outright useless.. lol

5. They should pay up ASAP. Jona kill this nation no be small, since last year Ghana have using free gas and the likes of Deziani or what is her name kept quiet knowing fully well that this is lost of revenue.
    Olorun make ka ri RU Jona no no le yi. Amin.

6. I pray they don't find a solution.
    Let them cut them off.
    I thought they claim they are superior ro Nigeria.
    They can't even pay their own bills.
    Anumapa!

7. Nigeria, giant of Africa, supplying energy to Ghana while enjoying blackouts. Odi Nma!

8. So we supply em Gas??? Then wat is our problem???

9. Light weh no reach us at all this we still deh sell, mtcheew

10. Ghanians leeching of Nigeria since 1900.

11. Ghanians leeching of Nigeria since 1900.

12. Leeching *off

13. No mind them. They've been enjoying power all this while and Nigerians have been suffering in darkness. PAY YOUR BILLS!

14. They should cut them off kpatakpata! What nonsense! We dey complain say the one we produce never belle full us na to dey look for countries to supply to... And to imagine that they are owing us such amount of money yet they are quick to run their mouths off in social media when it comes to bashing our epileptic power supply. Let them feel what it means to try to be financially productive without constant power supply msheww

15. Ghanaman, before you post any comment. You must first acknowledge us for all the benefits ur country is enjoying from us.

16. Ghanaman come and tell your ghana must go to pay us our money quick quick. thank God Baba Go slow is trying to work

17. They are owing much more than that or is this the discounted ammount?