Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Releases N56 Billion To Develop Insurgency-Ravaged Areas

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

FG Releases N56 Billion To Develop Insurgency-Ravaged Areas

The Federal Government has released N56 billion toward rehabilitating victims and places ravaged by insurgency in the North-Eastern part of the country.

Alhaji Muhammed Sani-Sidi, the Director-General of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), announced this at the second “Safe School Initiative Leaders’’ meeting in Tehran, Iran.

This is contained in a statement, signed by Ibrahim Farinloye, the Public Information Officer of NEMA, and made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Monday in Lagos.

The statement quoted Sani-Sidi as saying that the government had released N53 billion for the Victims Support Fund (VSF) and N3 billion for the Presidential Initiative in the North-East (PINE)

According to him, the federal government is committed to safeguarding students, teachers and schools’ infrastructure in the country.

“The federal government has demonstrated this with the release of N3 billion for the Presidential Initiative in the North-East (PINE) and N53 billion for the Victims Support Fund (VSF).

“The funds are meant to address the various emerging issues to mitigate the effects of the fading Boko Haram insurgency in Nigeria,’’ the director-general was quoted as saying.

In his presentation at the meeting titled an “Overview of Safe School Initiative (SSI)’’, Sani-Sidi stated that the Safe School Initiative in Nigeria had received $50 million as support from Nigerian government, foreign governments and International Donor Agencies.

He highlighted the major causes of threats to safe schooling and school infrastructure as flood, rain/wind storm and community strifes.

“The catastrophic Boko Haram Insurgency in the North-East has become the single most significant threat to schooling and school infrastructure.

“NEMA put the figure of displacement of people within Nigeria at two million, while about 57,743 displaced people were temporarily sheltered in Niger Republic, Cameroun and Chad,’’ he said.

Sani-Sidi also revealed that 254 schools were destroyed by the Boko Haram insurgency, while government was making efforts to assist 2069 students affected by the destruction.

-PM News

30 comments:

1. Nigeria keep wasting money for stupid shiiiii.....why waist 56bn naira for nothing...... Wch sch and students are they talking about...... Do dey even go to sch

2. Nigeria keep wasting money for stupid shiiiii.....why waist 56bn naira for nothing...... Wch sch and students are they talking about...... Do dey even go to sch

3. That money should be monitored , we have the habit of stealing monies meant for relief efforts. I remember the last flood case that swept the entire nation. Relief materials and cash were stolen by same people assigned to share them. Greed is in our blood. A typical Nigerian "bigman' would steal from the poor to get reacher.

4. That's very kind of our amiable President.

5. Nice.. i love this!!!
    But make them no chop the money finish before they start the projects oo lol

6. Have they tamed boko boys before releasing billions for themselves?...
    Nonsense clueless government....

1. Queen Queen!
      Did u say clueless??

Asa don't use "clueless" again o.cos it automatically reminds people of 'Somebody"
      Kikikiki

7. It's only God that can just restore this people. I feel their pain and I pray our president can put an end by December as promised.

8. Story, half of the money would enter their pockets. Ndi oshi

9. Will that stop Boko boys 2 stop attacking those states!
    He should spend wisely.
    I taught he said nigeria doesn't have money......or is it from the one he claimed he borrowed.

10. I hope d money would be used for what it is meant for....

11. I hope d money would be used for what it is meant for....

12. Hmmmm, where are the girls? #Forgotten?

1. @paka nima .well said. No one is talking about the girls anymore.
      Hypocrisy in the highest order.

13. Curtail the insurgents before you give us another excuse about where the whereabout of the money.

14. I don't see any difference between this administration and the previous ones corruption reeks everywhere

15. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Someone is eating that money immediately it gets to the affected area and thats fact though....

16. Owuya ka owuya?

17. i thought there is no money in treasury...

18. I thought he said he met an empty Treasury

19. That's the way they make their money! Even Buhari that approved sharp sharp will have his own cut inside.

20. Aboki dey go school?

21. Pls how can I join dis committee dat has been set up, bcos we most make good use of de money FG has release. Martins was here

22. thanks Mr president

23. N56B to develop the Northern area scattered by their kids. Baba you try o

24. Why would the insurgency stop when the votes keeps rolling in. Some people are benefiting from this whole venture. Anyway PMB please don't forget voting for the south too you hear. We need the billions over ere too. The treasury is buoyant after all.