Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal University Of Agriculture Final Year Student Dies Due To Docs Delay...

Monday, October 26, 2015

Federal University Of Agriculture Final Year Student Dies Due To Docs Delay...

RIP MARIA

''Good morning Stella ...I'm typing this with Shakey hands so please kindly ignore my errors.....

We lost a student of the University of Agriculture Abeokuta due to the incompetence/negligence of the Doctor on duty.She had an accident on the road that leads to school while on bike and she was rushed to a private hospital,the Dr at the private hospital then said the case was too much for him and she had to be transferred to the Federal Medical Centre and a letter would be requested so they had to go to the health centre to get the letter and also requested for an ambulance to convey her to make it faster .

The Doctor on duty refused  despite it being the SUG president that went to request for the letter insisting they must bring her first which would have definitely led to more time wasting,eventually they went back to the private hospital and the Dr there gave them the letter. 

They got to FMC idiaba in Abeokuta with the student Union Bus 10minutes afterwards and she was pronounced dead! Then the Ambulance got to the private hospital an hour afterwards long after she had died! 

I don't know this student but she definitely didn't deserve to die after spending 4 years in tough funaab and preparing for final year.It is not the first time they are displaying such incompetence as they give antimalarial/antibiotics for practically every kind of ailment yet we pay for medicals every session.

I had an ailment before last semester exams and they kept giving me antibiotics for what they don't know, despite several attempts to get a scan done they refused saying they needed Dr's letter even when I was in pains,I bore the pain till I came home after exams and conducted my scan and found out I had colitis.

Bottom line please help us spread this they should stop killing us,I learnt a protest is on going but it shouldn't just stop there because I'm sure like every other incident they would like to cover it up.attached is Maria's picture a 400l student.thank you for this platform''

84 comments:

1. RIP Maria

#Sad
    #SheWasSomeone'sMuchLovedDaughter
    #HerPoorMom

1. RIP maria,this is so sad!! All these fake Doc shud stop this,haba!the oat they took was to be killing ppl?

2. Rip
      Which way nigeria?
      Which way nigeria health sector?
      When are we going to get it right?

3. Something is not quite right with this narrative. You took an accident victim to a private hospital and the Doctor said the patient has to be transferred to Federal medical center. Now,instead of rushing the patient to the federal medical center immediately, an "assumption" was made that they (at FMC) will first require a letter from your school medical center and an Ambulance to be faster. The patient was left in the private hospital while the SUG president went alone to the school medical center!!!! Now, you want the doctor on duty to write a "hear say" letter for a patient he hasn't seen that was left in another hospital. You also want them to release an ambulance for a patient in a private hospital.
      First of all, a medical ref feral letter must contain detailed and important medical findings of the patient and how does the doctor write that with the patient not in sight?
      Now, after the futile effort to get the letter and the Ambulance, the SUG president now went back to the private hospital where they now conveyed the patient "WITHOUT THE AMBULANCE" to the hospital on the SUG bus. How many hours was wasted in this merry go round?
      The patient finally arrives at the FMC and was not rejected without ambulance.
      In my opinion, I think it is very important for us to know what right actions to take in emergency situations, the most appropriate thing to do was to move the patient out immediately in the bus they came with straight to the FMC! Get there first and let them now fault you for not bringing an ambulance or letter. What prevented them also from carrying the patient along with them to the school health center where they went to request for ambulance and letter.
      The truth is that they must have reasoned that as a student, going with the school ambulance and letter from school medical center will make the treatment at FMC FREE, so on getting there the doctor didn't give the letter because there was no patient. By the time they realised the dangers and took her to FMC, it was already late.
      Please, let us all as individuals be able to take the right decision at emergency situations, it is not in this kind of condition that you need to wait for the SUG president to start fighting for Ambulance right for a patient that is already in another hospital, it is not in this kind of situation that you will start looking for letters to clear you as a student so that your bills will be written off, it is a time to act fast. If you can move around with the SUG bus, why don't you think you can move this patient first and then fight for her write of free medical bill later!
      Read inbetween the lines and you will understand the complex interplay that lead to the delays. She was taken to the private hosp without an ambulance! You don't look /seek luxury in times of Emergency!!! In govt hospitals, there are protocol to the use of Ambulance, Infact the doctor doesn't even have the right to send out an ambulance without providing certain details of the person involved. It is different from ambulance patrol that responds to accidents helpline (I ve seen that work only in Lagos). It is a very sad thing that someone has to die in this manner! I also think that we shuld reduce the amount of laws guiding the use of Ambulance services and other health facilities but Nigerians unfortunately likes plenty recognition and analogue due process. Even for inpatients, doctor certification alone cannot guarantee an ambulance, the nurse management will sign,then the admin officer on duty will sign, plus other people that feel they are also important to be recognised Ontop of a patient dying. Sad!

4. Yes...na dr be dis. ..tiri gbosa

2. Omg!
    Rest in the blossom of the Lord dear..

**Som Baby**

1. If only we had a minister for health already at least this complaint could be channeles to his office so that he could look into this case of students dying in school clinics due to doctors negligence, since we dnt have one yet i hope it gets to the proper authorities and that will make sure that justice is served to erring party in tjis girls case

3. R. I. P Maria
    They practically do this in all higher institutions.

4. So sad! RIP Maria
    www.alabekee.com

5. Oh!!!
    RIP Maria. May God grant your parents the fortitude to bear this loss.

6. May her soul RIP.

Health centre in my school then was too good. I was admitted there once and I got the best treatment, my parents came to take me home for proper treatment my family doc certified me ok.

I wonder if it's still like that.

7. May she RIP
    Always so sad when the young ones die.

8. RIP Girl. Almost all staff of Nauth Nnewi are on strike. The institution is in comatose right now. And so many people will be passing through this situation. They are the only people that has a sophisticated medical facility her.

9. Rip maria. We need divine change in this country in all sectors

10. I just wonder when this request for some paper before a life can be saved will stop. This country sef! Rip beautiful one.

11. What a shame! May she rip. My condolences to her loved ones.

12. There is something I dont get..what kind of treatment would be too much for a medical doctor?
    Lets assume its because the first hospital were not well equipped to handle trauma,does it also stop them from stabilising a patient before doing a transfer?
    And why cant they treat a dying patient before requesting for whatever protocol?
    What does it say about the hippocratic oath?

Stories like this gets me all riled up.
    Doctors on this blog get in here and explain why a patient's life is not being put above a mere piece of paper.
    We need more doctors that would go above and beyond to save a life.
    I know we also have good doctors dedicated to saving lives.
    This is not the first of such stories we have read,but I hope to God it would be the last.

But then again, if she was meant to be called to her creator,even if she was attented to on time,it would have still happened.

There is always where science ends and God begins.

Rip beautiful one.

1. Hmm health care in Nigeria is disgusting. They severely lack diagnostic skills. A friend of mine contracted TB. First they said it's malaria then it's typhoid. Then it's malaria and typhoid. Then they wanted to say it's hiv cos by then she was skin and bones.

She came to uk. Told the dr her symptoms. Immediately he sent her for a chest x ray. Diagnosed immediately. Took ages to heal cos it had really done damage to her lungs. Thank God for her life. Nigeria is just not it for health care

2. Loools, Olufemi. It is either your friend was lying about her symptoms or he/she went to a babalawo (backyard doctor/chemist).
      Even a lame person knows cough with bloody spit is TB.

13. Nigeria has a long way to go and i fervently pray that we get there.

Why do we need to carry accident victims from one hospital to another in times of emergency?

It should be the other way round, an ambulance with paramedics who will administer first aid pending when she gets to the hospital should have been there to take her immediately.We just don't value human life in Nigeria.

All these avoidable deaths really upset me.

RIP girl.

14. Oh God!!! RIP why are some doctors heartless, I pray she rest in his bossom

15. Thank you ma...rip Maria

16. So sad. May her soul rest in peace.

17. I'm a student of FUNAAB too and the doctors in the health center are pathetic. They ate always quick to prescribe Lumartem no matter your symptoms, a friend once had sore throat and he was given Lumartem. The only time I was diagnosed right,(Anaemia) I wasn't given the right drugs. This is the height of it, government needs to look into their case. RIP Maria!

1. ...and that is because malaria commonly presents with sorethroat.

18. Linda's protégé26 October 2015 at 10:54

Rip Maria.....y for God's sake of this a trend in general hospitals or medical centres in Nigeria universities? It's really bad

19. This is so painful. May her soul rest in perfect peace

20. Linda's protégé26 October 2015 at 10:55

Rip Maria.....y for God's sake of this a trend in general hospitals or medical centres in Nigeria universities? It's really bad

21. Oh Jesus.
    Father,please cover our kids in the Unis with the blood of Jesus. I soak my daughter,son,niece n nephews in the blood of Jesus,AMEN.

I know protocol sometimes makes it hard for things to go easily,but these Drs no dey try,at all.Only their kids are human beings.

22. Chai....so sad
    May your soul Rest in peace

23. I think they need to start revoking some Doctors licenses in this country and charging them for incompetence and man slaughter. Stupid protocols are more important to them than human life.

24. Who ever wrote this didn't lie about the antimalarial/antibiotics
    they do that most of the time.
    Health centre ehn, na die.

25. I feel ur pain poster. Most of d universities med centres are just there for decoration. Dey do notin. They give u paracetamol foR all and every illness yet we pay insane medic bill for notIn.

26. Jesus!!! So so pathetic... maria rest in peace.

27. Another future generation wasted due to negligence. Hmnnnnn!

28. RIP DEAR...SMH NIGERIA DOCTORS

29. its a pity..rest in peace dear

30. Nigerian health centres has to be more like the Emergency Rooms here in the US. You are given top priority irrespective of who you are or if you are insured or not. It's about saving lives before asking questions.

31. RIP Maria. God comfort your family.

LaFresh na everything you dey inside. Lair everywhere. Anything that happens must relate to you . Oshi

32. Aww..
    This brought tears to my eyes..
    Nigeria still have a long way to go..
    Rip Maria..

33. Rip Maria,may God grant ur family d fortitude to bear ds great loss.

34. Corruption everywhere,
    Rip maria

35. The referral letter was for the use of the school ambulance...

1. And now that she's dead hope they've eaten the ambulance & letter !!!

36. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Rip....

37. Nigeria has a long way to go when it comes to health issues, RIP Maria.

38. Hmmmm final year!!!! Gush!!! All these letter this letter that, has really taken life...
    What happened to first aid? Doc should at least administer first aid before sending the patient away... this mistake is very costly..
    Rip

39. ouch tooo bad and thats the school i graduated from.....the spate at which people die nowadays is so high due to the nonchalant attitude of those health workers,this is no different from wat happened to that unilag gal...God help us in this country,i see no reason one would be in a critical condition and a human being wud still be asking after a mere paper before treatment begins....Health sector needs to be sanctioned thoroughly...RIP Maria

40. Why won't they prescribe only antimalarial. U don't give what u don't have. Those doctors working there are just first degree holder with little experience. Tell ur school to employ specialists,equip the hospital. Then every case can be handled there . I don't blame the doctor, he can't do more than his power in this case. For example, if its severe head injury that will need craniotomy, do u expect the doctor without an expertise in brain surgery to do it. Poster u have to believe any doctor that tells u that he or the Hosp can't manage a case. Our hosps are not equipped with manpower and infrastructure. Vent ur anger on the govt. Abroad there is virtually no Hosp without a consultant specialist. What do we have , they are mostly seen in the tertiary hospitals. RIP to maria.

41. So sad, RIP maria

42. Life is very cheap in Nigeria. R.I.P.

43. Nigeria is just sick.. It amazes how we don't value our lives. Poor lady? Im short of words. I cant imagine what her parents will be going through.

44. As a doctor, some things are funny. A private hospital could not handle something and then they want to transfer to a lower unit of care - a health centre, when there are teaching hospitals and several general hospitals in Abeokuata. Instead of getting a taxi if it is an emergency, you further waste time by first going to the healthcentre and then as a doctor, how can you want to refer without a letter of referral, detailing the key issues so that the accepting facility can be prepared. Even in an emergency, there are proper steps to take.

Even if you facility in not that equipped, ABC of resuscitation should be done. Make sure her airway is patent, she is breathing ( if need be, put her on oxygen). You should not be operating a 'hospital' if you don't have oxygen and then ensure proper circulation to prevent her going into shock and then refer.

45. Hmmmmmm RIP Maria. Sad story

46. Rip Hon. Maria... we will miss you!... #Sad