Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Elizabeth Aisien Of Prive Luxury Events Tells Ruth Langsford That I Isn't Unusual For Wealthy Nigerians To Spend £1m On Their Wedding Day

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Elizabeth Aisien Of Prive Luxury Events Tells Ruth Langsford That I Isn't Unusual For Wealthy Nigerians To Spend £1m On Their Wedding Day

Million pound brides: Inside the extravagant London weddings of the super-rich Nigerian couples who spend £150,000 on bubbly, £100,000 on a dress and £6,000 on favours 

Every bride wants to look a million dollars when they tie the knot - and affluent women from Nigeria are spending just that to achieve it on their big days.
According to a London-based wedding planner, super-rich couples from the West African country can easily blow a small fortune on their nuptials, from spending £100,000 on a designer wedding dress to £150,000 on alcohol.

In-demand event maestro CEO and founder of Prive Luxury Events Elizabeth Aisien says London has become the destination of choice for Africa's wealthy elite when they tie the knot.

'It's a competition, people want something like "wow, she arrived by plane". The bride wants to look good and wear the best of everything.'
As a result, she said brides will pay around £100,000 for a bespoke dress by a designer like Vera Wang and £475,000 on diamond jewellery.
She added that it is not just the bride who will push the boat out on the gems they wear to accessorise an expensive outfit. 
'The other women want to make a statement, "I wore this diamond, my diamond is bigger than yours",' Elizabeth explained.

Ruth visits a Vera Wang shop with wedding planner Elizabeth Aisien, far left. While there, a jeweller, second from left, brings diamond earrings, pictured front right, for Elizabeth to chose on behalf of her rich client 

She added that the venues of choice for weddings and receptions are up-market London hotels including The Dorcester, The Landmark Hotel and Claridges.
She added: 'Kensington Palace is another favourite for Nigerians now.'
According to the Historic Royal Palaces, prices for weddings at the Palace start from £12,500 exclusive of catering and VAT. 

The luxurious Dorchester hotel is a popular wedding venue for effulgent Nigerian couples
Elizabeth said after forking out to look her best, a bride will then spend a fortune wining and dining her guests - all three thousand of them. 
She explained: 'They will spend the most money on Champagne as you have two to three thousand guests at a traditional Nigerian wedding and they will get a bottle of Champagne each.'

Five bridesmaids accompanied one Nigerian bride showing how no expense is spared
This means at an average Nigerian wedding, £150,000 will be spent on booze. 
And it's not just food and drink lavished on the guests. While at British weddings, attendees may get a token favour like a chocolate, at affluent Nigerian weddings, they will get a gift bag worth thousands.
Such a bag might contain a £345 perfume, a cashmere scarf worth £350 and a £5,000 watch.
With such luxuries being given out at weddings, it is perhaps no surprise that according to Tatler, every third pound currently spent in Harrods is by a Nigerian. 

A traditional Nigerian wedding held at The Dorchester pictured in Channel 5 documentary Eamonn and Ruth: How The Other Half Lives

Thousands are spent on Nigerians weddings, like the one pictured on the Channel 5 documentary
Nigeria is Africa's largest economy as the Niger Delta region in the south holds some of the world's richest oil reserves. A recent world wealth study found the number of millionaires in Nigeria has risen about 305 percent since 2000.
Many of affluent Nigerians are moving to London - helping the city become home to the most billionaires than any other city in the world.

Presenters Ruth Langsford and her husband Eamonn were tasked with investigated this uber-rich lifestyle for the Channel 5 show.  
While Ruth went wedding shopping in designer stores with Elizabeth on behalf of her affluent clients, Eamonn was flown to meet Russian billionaire Emin Agalarov in Moscow via his private jet.
Eamonn experiences the super-extravagant lifestyle of an oligarch getting a tour of his $20m home, riding in his supercar and attending the extravagant parties he hosts.
But he learns it doesn't always buy happiness as Emin explains how he has to travel everywhere with security guards as those as rich as him are constantly in fear of being kidnapped and being held to ransom. Those with children are particularly at risk of having their offspring snatched.
Despite not being hard-up themselves, the celebrity couple admitted gaining an insight into the world of the super rich was like nothing they had ever seen before.  

Ruth said: 'Getting into the world of the super rich in London has been a revelation to me. It reminds me of Harry Potter, there is the wizard world and the muggles - and that is what it it like, the international super rich and us.'

Eamonn & Ruth: How The Other Half Lives, starts Tuesday 27th October, 9pm, Channel 5  

culled from dailymail.co.uk

36 comments:

1. Spend it if u have it
    Life is too short to be stingy to oneself

1. If you have the money, y not!

2. I saw this last night and I felt they were both trying too hard! I also felt there was a lot of exaggerations about the expenditure.
      For instance Elizabeth said clients typically spend the most on champagne, so for a wedding with about 3 thousand guests you would expect to spend £150k roughly, on champagne.
      They now also want us to believe that goody bags can cost as much as 6k (perfume £350, watch £5k). Well if that's true, goody bags for 3 thousand guests would cost about £18million! Na dem sabi sha.

...and Betty's face....lips sealed!

3. Stop getting stories from daily mail. They are filled with nonsense. That is not even the Dorchester hotel but porchester hall. An affordable and popular wedding venue for many regular Nigerians.

Also that Betty lady's face was somehow. It looked like she has gone under the knife a few times. She should take it easy because she looks weird.

Nigerian wedding part only made up about 6 mins of the 1 hour programme. I do not see why daily mail focused on Nigerians. Why are they so jealous and quick to write nonsense articles about Nigerians and blacks in general. Please don't waste your time reading that paper.

2. Pathetic, and many of them after d lavished wedding begs for food indirectly. What a shame!

1. Did u say beg food? If is that, then is good. It is the divorce that worries me the most after spending fortunes.

2. I couldn't be asked to watch the show on to last night. Na so depression de start LOL

3. That kind thing, sometimes you'll just be vexing just like that.

3. Stella,no news today? Lol

4. I couldn't agree less 'It's a competition, people want something like "wow, she arrived by plane". The bride wants to look good and wear the best of everything.'......that's why Nigerian women can go any length to get what they want. Smh4mygeneration.

1. Die in poverty den hypocrite

5. I want a big wedding o! not too too big but big! I've planned it in my mind already sef hahaaaa! future husband better show yourself now!

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    So they will pack the money here and go spend it there......

7. Is it not mostly stolen loot?
    What do I know?
    Their problem joor!

8. If you have the money spend it. So far its not Nigeria's money im not concerned. Afterall they say you cant carry money to heaven.

9. This one just take style deh chop their money. Good for them o

10. Eloho is known to exaggerate and live fake life
    £100,000 untop a wedding dress , I don't believe it

11. Saw the programme but was distracted by Betty Irabor 's tace.
    Something strange going on with the face she had on!!!

1. Botox gone bad on Betty Irabor.

12. The rich are getting richer while the poor are getting poorer.
    It's not a fair world
    Lord please I need a job, am begining to lose my mind

1. Don't lose your blind
      You need your wits about you when you get the job!

2. Hold on dear.
      I need a job too. Need to make some money before service next year.

13. Flaunt it if you have it. spend if you have it. It is once in a life time

14. If you've got it spend it.. But they should stop spending it abroad! They should hold their events here so our vendors can benefit. *sideeyes to naija vendors*

15. I watched it and Elohor can lie like mad. Betty has spoilt her face. She's never been fine but looks worse now.

16. I want a big wedding o!!!!
    Spend your money if you have it don't borrow!

17. Nigerians love to show off..

18. You get a stick to reach a bowl of fruits in a rich man's home, hmmmm.

And what happened to Betty Irabor's face? Too much plastic surgery or accident?

19. Spend it while u are alive.... flaunt it spend it...
    That's if you have oooo... no go thief ooooo hehehehehe

20. Small quiet wedding with the people i love thats all i want. I hate noise and and asoebi wahala.

1. Aren't we just of same mind, I don't like all this wedding brouhaha o.

21. If aso ebi is not part of your culture, don't choose that option.

22. How long will the marriage last...2years now...de part way...nonsense

23. Stella do you how much Adejumobi daughters wedding was in Lebanon? Go and ask people who attended. That's why it's not seen anywhere. It was the wedding of the year.. It was worth over 1 million dollar.

24. They spend all this money and do not have a roof for their head, the most annoying is when they have to loan,money to accomplish this luxury.