Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dr Hestia Idiodi-Thomas, Consultant Neuro-Surgeon: Murder And The True Definition Of Our Collective Existence.

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Dr Hestia Idiodi-Thomas, Consultant Neuro-Surgeon: Murder And The True Definition Of Our Collective Existence.

What Happened to Hestia?How did she die?Who Killed her?

The Citizens Advocacy for Social and Economic Rights (CASER) views with utter seriousness the incipient Nigerian factor in what ought to have been regarded not only as a national tragedy but a callous challenge to our way of life, depicting us, usually as a nation of myopic, self centred and corrupt leadership even in matters regarding the truth about the death of no ordinary medical doctor, but a Paediatric Surgeon with distinction, Dr Hestia Idiodi-Thomas.

LATE HESTIA THOMAS AND FAMILY

This Nigerian factor which has many facets is characterised by a national ethos that suffers from an amnesia which hinders development and refuses to respect the value of human life with the right to a standard or quality life.

Undoubtedly, the profession of medicine ranks the highest in relevance and responsibility hence, the high degree of love and respect that are accorded to medical doctors all over the world but here we refer to one who is not just an ordinary medical doctor but a consultant Paediatric Surgeon, whose circumstances of death have been so shockingly dramatic yet exposes the highly placed medical and health community as petty, divided and willing to trivialise this horrific death of Dr Hestia, in further devaluation of life as it is perceived in Nigeria.

No doubt still, we have our ways in Nigeria. That is why the Network News of Radio Nigeria reminded us on the 26th of October, 2015 that, 14 years have passed without the resolution of the death of the revered Bola Ige, SAN, who was murdered as a sitting Attorney General of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. If such a high profile murder as that of Ige has gone so unresolved and perhaps drowned in the ocean of amnesia, whither the resolution of Dr Hestia's death?

It does portend a forlorn situation where there have been a clash of claims, counterclaims and charges between medical doctors at the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital (LUTH), the Nigeria Medical Association, Dr Hestia's family with friends and NGOs that have supplied intelligent conspiracy theories with conjectures that have been recently purveyed in the media.

However, one group of persons, so shocked and heartbroken beyond expression, reels from a deep but hushed cry for the truth regarding the death of Dr Hestia Idiodi-Thomas. CASER has therefore decided to stand with this group of persons in firmness.

Members of the 2003 Class of College of Medicine, University of Benin (UNIBEN), notably spent about 7 years in personal relations with the late Dr Hestia and many of them are yet to come to terms with the rude and crude death of their highly lovable, amiable, brilliant and close friend, the late Dr Hestia.

Dr Sunny G. Eyaru, on behalf of the 2003 Class of College of Medicine, University of Benin has expressed the collective grief of late Hestia's classmates who have steely resolved to ensure that the truth regarding her death is made known, in fact.

The Citizens Advocacy for Social & Economic Rights (CASER) has staunchly identified with the position of the 2003 Class of College of Medicine, UNIBEN and consequently, calls on the Inspector General of the Nigeria Police to truly and fully take charge of this most seemingly homicidal case. CASER is not impressed, in the least, the way the Nigeria Police is so distant from the centre of the preliminary investigation of the death of the excellent consultant neurosurgeon.

Whereas, CASER expects the Nigeria police to give daily and weekly news briefings on the progress of the preliminary investigations on the doctor's death, the confusion arising from skewed, biased and highly uniformed statements credited to Doctors at LUTH, NMA, the Idiodi family and members of the public reflect a deliberate attempt by the authorities by unresponsive omission to allow the questions regarding the doctor's death to go unresolved as usual in the Nigerian way.

It is curious that some of the leaders in the medical and health community have made reckless statements that reek of biased conclusions in such matters regarding autopsy and coroner's inquest in the case in question. CASER considers this to be unacceptable and expects that the police should have taken full control, leaving no room for unwholesome external influence in the investigative processes.

The opacity of the personalities involved in the investigation is quite unfortunate. CASER expects the particular coroner in the case to be publicly named. The commencement of an inquest must be formally announced and where there would be specialist medical practitioners to be involved in the processes such as autopsy, those medical persons must be named publicly. These pieces of information have been hard to get.

CASER believes, from information and analysis available to it, that the preliminary investigations of Dr Hestia's death are already being compromised, so sadly. CASER calls on the Nigeria Police and the Lagos State Ministry of Justice to ensure transparency and justice in this case by adhering strictly to the provisions of the Lagos State Coroner System Law of 2007.

CASER has therefore set up an independent team to monitor the investigations and has resolved to move to Lagos and apply pressure on the authorities to observe best practices in the investigations. CASER shall where necessary approach the courts to compel compliance and decry infractions. 

CASER commends other civil society groups that have taken interest in Dr Hestia's case and call on them to sustain the campaign for truth and justice for the departed medical consultant.

by Frank Tietie

Executive Director, Citizens Advocacy for Social
And Economic Rights (CASER)
Abuja. 

60 comments:

1. May God Almighty continue to console the family. Take good care of the children in Jesus name, Amen.

1. Perhaps we may have to wait for judgement day to hear the truth. The Nigerian police cannot find a polythene bag in a locked room.

All those 'resolved' cases that they decieve you people with on T.V? They just drag some victims in prison, torture them to 'confess', present them to journalists as culprits and then kill them quietly or send them back to prison.

By the way, what ever happened to that guy who killed his Access bank wife and removed her breast and bowels? Sure he is chilling somewhere.

2. Well, let me repeat it here again. I commend the project alert team who are seeking to know what actually happened to this woman. As per thier last info released to the public, I think it shouldn't have been made public yet because they named the gate man as thier key witness, therefore jeopardizing the guard's life/safety.
      And also, the vital information they got from neighbours should at best have been shared ONLY with the police for now, until everything has been concluded. Then they can feed the public with their conclusive findings. The last report that was released will only give the suspect, who's the hubby, enough time to prepare his defence. If in fact he murdered her.
      Kudos all the same to everyone seeking for justice. She will not die in vain if she was killed. And if reverse is the case, may God grant her eternal rest and bless the loved ones left behind.

1. Nne, re u really fucking the 'General'? As in TGW's hubby? Nawa ooo! Ife na eme.

3. It is well, such a pity sha. The truth cannot be hidden for long
    Women, you only live once

4. May her soul rest in peace. I pray God to unravel the mysteries behind her untimely death.

5. May her soul RIP
    But the epistle is too long, repeating what has already been said

1. Too long
      Couldn't read all
      RIP
      All these epistles won't even bring her back

2. Too long ooo... Make I follow talk RIP to the dead

3. Stupid as, pray it never knock on ur door, then you will understand that the episode is short

6. Replies
    1. Pray it never get to ur family, u will understand by then how short the epistle is.

7. One thing is 4 sure, nigeria don't value life.....be you who!
    Am happy that an attempt is being made to unravel the mysterious death of dr hestia.

8. God pls give d dead the justice
    Rip

9. See English can any of you here write like this ?!!! Including the owner of the blog . No !!!!

1. Are u here to do literature competition or something?? Look at how stupid u sound in the face of such a serious matter. What is about the English up there that is so spectacular to ur brain? Shows u are one of those who look at people's mouth when they form big big grammar, irrespective of whether the grammar is correct or not. You'll sha be applauding them and be jumping for joy. Ahahah I know ur type.

OK bye

10. I hope they get to the root of this issue in no time

11. May her soul continue to RIP.

12. RIP doctor. God pls reveal the person that killed her.

13. I pray justice is served!

May she continue to rest in thw bosom of the lord!

14. Stella please repost the voting link and let those that may have forgotten start voting for you, you need to bring the crown here.

15. That late doctor husband look like somebody dt has skelenton in his cupboard because to me there is no smoke without fire.Let him swear by ogun lakaye if he knows nothing about this woman death.Oh my I wish that dead body can avenge her killer by her self,but this one that dey have put her in motuary nothing can be done to again;only God Almighty the creator of heaven and earth will surely averge your death.May the Almighty help and rescue us woman from the hands of abusive,satanic,ritualist,bisexual,army robber husband.

16. I read somewhere that the mother of the bride believes that she truly committed suicide. If the family is not determined to find out the truth, then CASER may just be wasting their time.

17. I said there was something familiar about her, Uniben!!!! After so many years of studying and now she just died like that, her killer(s) will never know peace except he/she confesses and repent +brought to law to face his crime!!!! RIP Dr

18. It is not well until something is done. What kind of system do we have in Nigeria? And this is just one of the many deaths that occur on a daily basis and gets swept under the carpets. It is a very sad case.

If this case turns out to be that it was a case of prolonged domestic violence which was endured with the hope that the man will change, dear women, let this be a lesson to all. I know this may sound clichè, but you were born ALONE, you will die ALONE. Never stay in a marriage because of your children when you see the signs of a beast. Truth be told, if you die when your kids are old enough to understand, they will HATE you for putting yourself through such, even in death. They will grow up and be people who they shouldn't be, and they will blame you, even in death, for their predicament. It is hard, I am not even married yet, but I know how hard it can be because my mother went through various NDE because of marriage, and her excuse was that she did it for her children. But I know that I can never get over those traumatic experiences I had to go through daily. Her case is just one of the few that got lucky, I wouldn't say it is favour, because she could have been one of those many people who died in the process. Dear married women, please LEAVE AN ABUSIVE MARRIAGE. If you want to pray for the man, you can only do that when you are ALIVE. If you need to separate, do that. Step away, guard your life. Your children can't do that, your family can't do that, society cannot do that, friends cannot do that. Only you have control over your life. God has given it to you to take care of. Take care of yourselves first. I cannot emphasise it enough. Please if you are in an abusive marriage, leave first, think of what to do next. I read stories of women strategising, that's why they are still enduring slaps. My dears, in your strategising, you can be KILLED. You need to be ALIVE to take care of your children. You need to be ALIVE to bring the so called 'shame' your family will accuse you of. Never mind if it is your 5th marriage. As a matter of fact, if it is your 5th marriage, then the fundamental problem lies with you. It is possible that you haven't yet evaluated yourself to give to someone else. That simply means you need time ALONE to think. I can't stress this too much. I hope I pass a message across to someone today.

Remain blessed!

19. hope justice get served, Aluu 4 is still dragging on, year after. our judicial system is so fucking slow mehn

Accounting Blog

20. I wonder how many paediatric nuerosurgeon are in naija. This is how her story ends after all the years of exams. God rest her soul.

21. Is this the same doctor that an anonymous sender gave out a crucial information about. I pitied the woman after reading that story. what will have been her thought during the act. may her soul rest in peace.

22. It is well, May her soul rest in peace.

23. Dis group should go and sit down...with dier cheap fund soliciting...most of d ngos in abuja are very good at dubious deals, like ledap, csnac and co...hungry set of people

24. my hubby doesnt give me money for food again cos i don't want sex for now again we r treating staph aureus,pls bv wat should i do?

1. Don't mind him o...when u no born now,him go be first to call family meeting

2. Selfish men everywhere..who give you staph?

3. Run before he give you AIDS!....and find your self job, get busy.

25. God pls bring d culprit to justice.

26. Hope all this epistle will bring the desired result.. Justice should be served!!

27. I couldn't read this abeg..too boring! hmm so these kids have no mother now? The neighbours should come out and tell the police if this man had been hitting his wife before the incident, cos they would def know as they would be hearing her screams and all. someone needs to train the police on how to handle homicide or suspected homicide cases for heaven sakes. Even from watching enough CSI and Crime on dstv, anybody can solve this case. what are the police doing? neighbours need to be questioned. her first child needs to be questioned. friends need to be questioned. house help needs to be questioned too if they had one. from there the truth will come out without too much stress sef

28. What happened to the autopsy, how long does it take for an autopsy to be ready?....

29. What happened to the autopsy, how long does it take for an autopsy to be ready?....

30. Anon, then use your money to buy food. Your husband though, I smh

31. Anon 11:47, who gave each other staph. why did your husband stopped giving you money. Better talk true and let the devil be ashamed

32. May God watch over the children and console the family

33. Seriously?? I am not an ELA (English Language Arts)major, but the person that wrote this should go to a writing class. You are meant to engage the reader, not distract/turn them off with words that the lay man cannot understand; focus on the main story (which was lost in this exhibition of "vocabulary bravado" (my coined up phrase)). Please rewrite the article if you can, so the GOOD CAUSE you stand for will be understood by all.

1. Lol. And one anonymous up there wan die ontop the supposed grammar. Saying which bv can write this "good'....including Stella. Lol. Imagine.

34. Stella it is sad that the only person who truly loved her is being accused all these people claiming that they are looking for the truth never lived or grew up with her some secrets are better left secrets because of her kids but I will say this so an innocent man isn't rubbished as guilty. She committed suicide. That's the truth the details are evident the history is there. This isn't the first time she tried it. Please people should leave her hubby alone.

35. I knew hestia when she was a child when they returned from Canada I knew when the mum had oke, I was in sec school,wow poor her name stands out a name one can't forget I said I wonder where there people are, it's been like 30something yrs rest in peace,hmm! ready in peace