Sunday, October 18, 2015

Doctors In House Section

DOCTORS!

IUCD WAHALA
Hello Stella.
Hope you are good. I think this mail will fit in the doctors in house section. Please I need some help. I inserted IUCD earlier this year but I noticed recently that I can't feel the tread that shows that it's  in place. I went to the family planning clinic to complain and they sent me for scan. The scan result shows that the IUCD is in the womb.

When I took the result to the clinic they said I have to come back when I am menstruating to remove it and insert another one or choose another family planning option. Now here is my concern, this IUCD is supposed to last for 10 years and 6 months after insertion , I am told I need to remove and insert again. 

So how long will the second one last with the tread intact  and please is there any other option aside IUCD and the implant. And has anybody experienced tread in IUCD cutting off before and how did you handle it.
Thank you.

From Worried mother of 3

.............................................................................................................

CATHERIZATION

I am TTC and I went to for a HSG and was told that my external Os wasn't seen and I should go to my doctor to be Catheterized...What does this mean in simple language or terms.Can this hinder chances of having a baby?

38 comments:

1. Where is Dr sabosco and Dr Orela?
    You guys have been missing in action.
    Pls get in here.

Meanwhile Elena Majesty the doc, kindly do the needful while your co-colleagues join you later.

Posters, I leave you both in 'good hands'

1. Poster 1 pls try implanon. Its fixed in ur arm and I think it has less effects than other forms of contraceptives.

Poster 2, why don't u see ur doctor for the answer, is dat too difficult for u to do? Stop annoying me dis hot afternoon oo

2. All this big big grammar, haba... Make una break am down jor... No be all of us understand all those medical terms jor

3. Poster 2 na wa oh. U were with a doctor and couldnt ask these questions you're asking us here. Smh for u inugo

2. All will end in praise too both poster.

1. Why not save ur stress and go for other forms of contraceptives. Implanon or injectable!
      Poster 2 it won't affect ur womb

2. Implanon has bad side effect. It made me depressed. I had to take it out after 5 months.

3. You're both stupid.
    1. There is Google or Wikipedia
    2. Why didn't you both ask the doctors or GPs or whatever?

Na everything una dey carry come blog.
    Mtcheeew.
    Nigerians can be irritating, gosh!

1. You're the stupid one, unfortunately.

2. JayEm are you for real?
      They are stupid because they have health issues and need help?

You just cursed yourself... your own sickness ehn... e no go even get spelling talk more of treatment.

3. Are you out of your mind? You are coming here to call people stupid. May you not have a problem 10x greater than theirs. You think if they knew different they wouldn't act different? You think it's easy to bring your problems to the public? You had better be very very careful and be more considerate of others

4. have been thinking about my IUCD and then this post. hv been having mine fr 5months now. have been having pregnancy symptoms like naesea,a little stomach pain and smell irritates me,since yesterday. menses was suppose to come tmrw but has been no were to be found. and on top of it am felling feverish.am a mum of three and i am not ready fr another baby now. but paraventure it occurs,glory be to God cos abortion is not an option. pls has anyone experienced failed IUCD?

5. I don't just get it. All this peeps went to the hospital and couldn't ask the doctor all this question.

1. Wait until you have an issue that takes you to the hospital, and after doc prescription, you still want to hear from someone who has such experience and you come to doc in house session. Till then no word for you.

6. Poster 1,why dnt u use condom to avoid any un4seen wahala

7. posters one n two, why dint u two look ur doctors in d eye n ask dem ds questions??? Nawa o

8. posters one n two, why dint u two look ur doctors in d eye n ask dem ds questions??? Anyways I hope u get d needed ansas here.

9. Anoda option is condom jor... it was in my parents. room dt I saw femalecondom andd how it looks lyk and they neva got pregnant, only for them to go nd do family planning and it failed. Thank God for saving my mum,she started bleeding clot of bloodd @7 mnths nd she had cs nd d baby died, up til now. God shd pls save all mothers.

10. Dnot know why you need to be catetherized,but mostly is for patients after sugery that can't go toilet in their own,or who can't control their bladder,even with time they will be on free flow,that's just the catheter in the bladder without the bag.and with time they remove it.it has no effect to you getting pregnant or not but when your bag is filled up,and you don't empty in time and the urine goes back to the bladder,you can have infection. But am still surprise why a sonographer would be the one to tell you what you need.uhm naija.it is well.

11. Abeg make all d bzzy body wey dey dis blog relax,why is it called "doc in house section"
    wats d cussing for?? so stella d madam of dis blog is foolish to oblige der mails n post dem here abi?
    it's not every1 dat has d courage/money to visit a doctor....so plz if na no get anytn nice to say skip d jist mbok!

12. Everytime people ask questions on this post, u people call dem stupid, insult or tell dem to ask Google or their doctors, indirectly saying that there is absolutely no need for this post then and should be scrapped. Pls it is wrong. If u cannot help by offering useful advice or sharing ur experience for one to learn, kindly skip dis post entirely.

13. @IUCD WAHALA

one of the risk of IUCD is its getting missing in the womb.
    During your family planing counselling the should have informed you that during/after every sexual intercourse you need ensure that thread is felt. it has to be in place, so it isnt pushed in. Yes it can stay for 10 years if care is taken to avoid such mishaps.
    so i'll advice you read extensively on IUCD before you embark on a 2nd journey.
    information is key. so what you don't understand you ask your caregiver.
    Asides IUCD and implants there are injectables , male condoms, female condoms. you should be counselled at your center before you make a choice because all contraceptive options have indications and contraindications.

@CATHETERIZATION

i dont think your question is very clear.
    To catheterize means to pass a tube in
    The process of a HSG is done by catheterizing the cervix for passage of the die.
    Do you mean the procedure failed then before take off?

Catheterization hinder chances of making a baby??? No
    if there is an occlusion in there....then that is where there may be a problem.

1. Thanks jor. @iucd wahala. Somehow scared of this contraceptives.

14. poster 1 Condoms, poster 2 may God heal you.

15. Ok,,,let me help u ask google

16. Well poster one,i guss why u were told to come for removal was 'cos the string has been displaced and that actually is not a problem.I cannt advise u to change ur method since it didnt pose any danger to ur health.You should go and change it.IUCDs can stay for 5yrs and above.Other family planning methods also have their own effect 'cos what's gud for me may not be good for you.

17. Really scared of that IUCD, why not use a condom? Best of luck...

18. Poster 2, Probably you have cervical stenosis. Had a similar issue in like 3 places that I went for HSG but eventually I was able to do it successfully though quite painful in crest view radiological ltd in VI. You can give them a trail. Most times cervical stenosis doesn't cause infertility except in severe cases.

19. Poster1 why not try using Spermicide

20. Ordinaily, Leech-wilkinson cannula is used for HSG ((there are other cannulae, though). It is inserted (more like screwed) through your external cervical os and the contrast medium for HSG is injected into your reproductive tract through it. However, there are situations where the radiologist may have difficulty visualizing or cannulating the cervix (due to partial/total cervical occlusion/stenosis). At such times, urethral catheter (same one used as conduit for urine) may be adapted. It's smaller and less painful. If there's no complete occlusion (evidenced by menstruation), paediatric-size foley's catheter can be manipulated through your cervical canal and retained. You'll then have your HSG through it the following morning and cather is removed immediately after. If menstrum still passes though your cervix, then no worries, you have a patent canal to a reasonable extent. Goodluck.

21. Poster 2: I can see that you are trying to Conceive. You don't really need all these medical stuff.

Pls send me an email (it can be seen in my profile) cos there's a sanitary towel that can get rid of any irregularities internally. Its harmless and without side effects. I will send you the portfolio to read first. We never can tell what we have taken during the past that must be hindering our chances of conception.
    I'm a living testimony cos it worked for me.