The Delta State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal, sitting in Asaba, has dismissed the petitions filed by the governorship candidates of the Labour Party (LP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC) challenging the election of Mr. Ifeanyi Okowa as governor on April 11, 2015.
The candidates: Great Ogboru (LP) and O'tega Emerhor (APC) challenged the declaration of Mr. Okowa of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner with 724,680 votes, defeating Ogboru who polled 130,028 votes, and Emerhor with 67,825 votes.
Delivering the controversial judgement, which is said to have been written by the Delta State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Peter Mrakpo, and handed over to the three-man panel, Justice Nasir Gunmi, the chairman, today dismissed the petitions for what he described as lack of merit and the inability by the petitioners to prove their cases beyond reasonable doubt.
Reacting to the judgment, the Delta state chairman of the LP, Tony Ezeagwu, said the judgement was unexpected and that his party would be heading to the Court of Appeal.
*The perfect rigging.
Very nice.
ReplyDeleteI guess Aso Rock backed down on this one.
Good for him
ReplyDeleteAbeg na how many people dey Delta state again? Okowa talk true, para catch you abi e nor catch you.
ReplyDeleteNext time read, digest and if you do not understand, ask or shut it to avoid displaying your lack of understanding you frustrated nitwit.
DeleteCongrats to him
ReplyDeleteGood for him.
ReplyDeleteI hope court if Appeal would uphold it also....
I’m almost tempted to state that some of these Nigeria judges should be executed by firing squad for these brazen miscarriages of justice/errors of impunity.
ReplyDeleteThis ruling is totally absurd. Why one is not expected that it (this ruling favours the APC), it could have cancelled the entire results and call for a new election , due to inconsistencies in the number of accredited voters and the votes cast. How would this Judge (can I even call this barbarian a judge), justify this ruling?
Premium Times reports that “The accredited numbers of voters as at April 29th was 709,000 and at the expiration of the shutting down of data upload, the final tally was 715,393.” Mr. Okowa and INEC returning officer connived to cheat Nigeria when Mr. Okowa was declared as the winner of the election on April 13, by the Returning Officer, Bio Nyananyo. According to Nyananyo, the PDP candidate polled 724,680 votes, which translated to 14,980 votes higher than actual number of accredited voters.
How can this stand in any temple of justice!! This is simply ridiculous. Time to "roast" most Nigerian judges!!
Ghanaman signing out!!!
I’m almost tempted to state that some of these Nigeria judges should be executed by firing squad for these brazen miscarriages of justice/errors of impunity.
ReplyDeleteThis ruling is totally absurd. Why one is not expected that it (this ruling favours the APC), it could have cancelled the entire results and call for a new election , due to inconsistencies in the number of accredited voters and the votes cast. How would this Judge (can I even call this barbarian a judge), justify this ruling?
Premium Times reports that “The accredited numbers of voters as at April 29th was 709,000 and at the expiration of the shutting down of data upload, the final tally was 715,393.” Mr. Okowa and INEC returning officer connived to cheat Nigeria when Mr. Okowa was declared as the winner of the election on April 13, by the Returning Officer, Bio Nyananyo. According to Nyananyo, the PDP candidate polled 724,680 votes, which translated to 14,980 votes higher than actual number of accredited voters.
How can this stand in any temple of justice!! This is simply ridiculous. Time to "roast" most Nigerian judges!!
Ghanaman signing out!!!
Shut up liberian boy always commenting rubish.
DeleteGood judgment! Congrats to him.
ReplyDeleteWhat of wike ooooh!!!
ReplyDeleteOK!!! Ki lo Kan mi???
ReplyDeleteContinue to appeal everywhere,even when it's obvious that people want Okowa,corrupt politicians always thinking every election is rigged;90%of them are thou
ReplyDeleteI don't know why I don't see any tribunal being setup for the kano rigging.
ReplyDeleteNa dem sabi
ReplyDeleteOkowa is the man. Thank you Jesus. He's my church member. St philips Asaba. We fired prayer for him on Sunday.
ReplyDeleteThis is the same Stella that was happy when Okowa won now talking about perfect rigging. The same Stella that was supporting Jonathan is now forming loving Buhari. Stella kindly try and be straight forward. Let your yes be yes and your no be no.
ReplyDeleteThank God you noticed. She is just a hypocrite
DeleteWhat's ur point?
ReplyDeleteCongrats and good luck to him
ReplyDeleteThis great Ogboru sef is he cursed? He is always in court wasting his time and resources with any government in power. Ortega Emerhor has joined now. Is delta state for one tribe only? We are rotating now , it's the turn of Delta East, urhobo has tasted that seat severally , why not let this people have it now then the pendulum can swing to the next direction. Na lie as Ogboru is hopping out of court , Otega is hopping in, una no dey tire? Na so una disturb Uduaghan so tey he spent state resources that could have been used for development of the state as legal charges. Shiiiiiiioor. Una two make I draw una ear Na IBB inlaws una dey drag seat with so ? He dey hilltop for Minna dey decide una fate, especially you Ogboru that plotted coup in his time as president. You will just spend your resources chasing shadows.. My own two cents, I'm a concerned Deltan and not a politician.
ReplyDeleteGood judgment I see