Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Deji Falae’s Wife Demands N245.5 Million Over Husband’s Death In Associated Airline Plane Crash

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Deji Falae’s Wife Demands N245.5 Million Over Husband’s Death In Associated Airline Plane Crash

The widow and children of Deji Falae, a son of one of Nigeria’s former Finance Ministers, Olu Falae, are demanding N245.5 million from Associated Airlines and the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) over the death of their bread winner in a plane crash. 

Ese Lynn Falae during her husband's burial in Akure , Ondo State
          Pic by Sahara Reporters Media.

In a lawsuit, the widow, Ese Lynn Falae, and her three children stated that their demand represents compensation for the earnings Mr. Deji Falae would have made over the next 15 years less living expenses, cash discount and the statutory limit of one hundred thousand dollars. 
Olajide Oyewole filed the statement of claim on behalf of the plaintiffs at a Federal High Court in Lagos. Apart from the late Falae’s widow, the other plaintiffs are Ayomide Falae, a 15-year old student at Day Waterman College in Abeokuta, Omowonuola Falae, a 13-year-old girl, and Oreoluwa Falae, a 7-year old pupil at Corona Schools in Lagos. 

Deji Falae, whose father, Mr. Olu Falae was recently freed by abductors who demanded and received a significant ransom, was 42 years old at the time of his death on October 3, 2013. A lawyer by training, he died in an aircraft owned by Associated Airline that was conveying the remains of former Governor Olusegun Agagu from Lagos to Akure, the Ondo State capital, for burial. At the time of his death, he was the Commissioner for Culture and Tourism in Ondo State. 
Apart from his legal practice, the late Falae also owned a construction firm named West-One Resources Limited. 

In addition to Deji Falae, staff of a funeral company, some members of former Governor Agagu’s family and staff of the airline also lost their lives when the plane crashed shortly after takeoff at 9.32 a.m. on October 3, 2013. 

The lawsuit asserts that the aircraft crashed due to the defendants’ wrongful acts, neglect or default. 

Extracted from saharareporters.

34 comments:

1. Eeeeya.....
    The pix of that crying man moved me.
    And the very young kids,the oldest just 15 years old.
    Dunno what to say....
    The hard economy should be fair on u.It's well Ma.Cant imagine the Lonely days and nights.God is ur strength.

1. Forget dat crying man o....you see im tears? He is only plotting to take over.

2. Disheartening. Well, I think the first suit should be that of negligence, and should be done independently. And once that is won, then they can pursue further financial damages etc. I'm not sure the family has been able to win the initial case of negligence (if any was pursued) against the airline. So I doubt that this particular suit against them will yield much. Not unless it's a consolidated litigation. Then, I also forsee a query/challenge by the respondent against the plaintiff, where they are seeking the anticipated earnings of the deceased be given them. It's gonna be a tough one

2. They say "if you can't say something nice don't say anything at all". Whistling off to the bank.

3. I hope they reach a settlement with the airline without spending years going to courts.
    RIP to the dead.

4. Poor Woman
    Its high time companies start taking responsibity n pay up. If they calc how much they will lose in a suit, they will swiftly service their planes n make sure everything is in order

1. It's high time companies started taking...

5. Its high time every wrongful death is taken to court and compensation paid. Thats the only way nigerians will start taking human life serious. even hospitals too...road accident victims also, its that "Its the will of God" mentality thats killing me cos sm1 will do something negligently and kill someone and u say its God.

6. She's demanding 245.5 million? No offense but isn't that too much?

1. Just because you live in abject poverty does not mean you come here with your poverty mentality and spew dust. Life is priceless and that money is way too small sef. Poor church rat

2. She said no offence. Why the insults, nobody?

3. Anonymous na wa for u o. I wonder why some of u are like this. A honest question was asked and look at the nonsense insulting response u gave her. Smh.

If in ur own words, life is priceless and no amount will suffice. Then it also means that no amount can be granted by the court to please the bereaved. Hence it becomes a baseless charge. This is me towing ur line of intelligence, anonymous. Although I insist the airline compensates the family financially.

7. Hmmm Rip to the dead.* lips sealed*

8. good one madam. yes,it won't bring back ur hubby but it is high time companies, corporation etc are made to understand they have case to answer esp where it concerns negligence. Too much laxity in this country.

9. Life , full of sweet & bitter pills ! Untimely deaths is d worst thing dat could happen to anybody , but we can't question God wen it happens .
    Madam , I tink it'll b d best if yu can change ur wards school dat is if d money is no longer there to fund their education cux judgement takes time to come in 9ja especially in cases like these . May ur late hubby's soul continue to rest in peace .

10. RIP to the dead . but if they pay only you that much, what about others? Or was he the only one in the air craft? hmmmmmm...the loss if a loved one is never easy to deal with.

11. Eyaa. I cannot even imagine the pain she is going through. God heal ur pains.

12. That amount is too much Aunty.
    RIP to the dead.

13. I remembered all the deaths while accompanying the remains of Agagu. All these death eh... was this normal. RIP to the dead.

1. Secret society things

2. In fact, that Agagu's badluck was epic. I remember the father and son who were undertaking the burial...the MIC boss and son. God rest their souls.

14. Darling Ese! It is well with you. I wish death didn't take Deji. You guys were so good together. She is not lacking but I believe its the callous way the airline treated them that made her make this move.

15. Darling Ese! It is well with you. I wish death didn't take Deji. You guys were so good together. She is not lacking but I believe its the callous way the airline treated them that made her make this move.

16. Deji you will always be missed. Take Mrs Esee and ur kids.

17. May dead continue 2 Rip.

*****MhizDerbyViaIG*****