Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: China Adopts 'Two - Child' Policy After 35 Years To Curb Aging Population.

Friday, October 30, 2015

China Adopts 'Two - Child' Policy After 35 Years To Curb Aging Population.

China has decided to end its decades-long one-child policy, BBC reports.
Couples will now be allowed to have two children, it said, citing a statement from the Communist Party.

The controversial policy was introduced nationally in 1979, to slow the population growth rate. It is estimated to have prevented about 400 million births. However concerns at China's ageing population led to pressure for
change. Couples who violated the one-child policy faced a variety of punishments, from fines and the loss of employment to forced abortions.

Over time, the policy has been relaxed in some provinces, as demographers and
sociologists raised concerns about rising social costs and falling worker numbers.

The decision to allow families to have two children was designed "to improve the balanced development of population'' and to deal with an aging population, according to the statement from the Community Party's Central Committee carried by the official Xinhua News Agency (in Chinese) on Thursday.

Currently about 30% of China's population is over the age of 50. The total population of the country is around 1.36 billion. The Communist Party began formally relaxing national rules two years ago, allowing couples in which at least one of the pair is an only child to have a second child.

30 comments:

1. Very interesting *typing with MM phone*

2. Mehn, I cant live in China o. Only 2 children?

1. See ur mouth after breeding like 6 u will come to SDK to beg for used clothes, used diapers and money to feed them.

2. Lol...
      Tell am o...

3. Well said....Indigo

3. Okay to 2 kids. Now I can start making passes at my Chinko crush

Guys please don't forget to vote Stella Dimoko Korkus as the BLOGGER OF THE YEAR for the 2015 edition of Nigerian Writers/Bloggers awards.

To vote, send Stella Dimoko Korkus as an email with the title BLOGGER OF THE YEAR (which is her category) to nominate@nigerianwritersawards.com

Please hasten up as voting ends on the 14th of November 2015.

Also remember to click on the reply link to verify that you are human for your nomination to pull through.

Lets do it the SDK way!

Gracias!

4. Thank God I ain't Chinese!

I had originally planned on having 9 kids before before.so if to say i be Chinese and dey somewhat got to find out,na gas chamber thingz o.hahahhaha

Seriously,I understand their one-child and now 2-kids policy cos of d their rapidly- gowing population but mehn,I can't deal!

5. This a nation of purpose of growth. When they realise their economy will not be able to sustain their growth they 1 child per family decision and make sure people comply and it help them but if it were to be Nigeria the the rich and powerful will violate it but the masses will be made has sacrifices for their policies.
    Hope how leaders can start leading by examples and I wish China families well as they can now welcome more babies in their homes.

1. Choi, English iyaf suffered. I weep for its massacre!

2. Haba!!!.work on this your English ooo. Too bad . Hain??!??!??.

6. Goodluck to them. Afterall they are better than our government that dont have policy. they dont stick to any policy in Nigeria. Anyone that is good for them they follow

7. They need more soldiers for the coming world war

1. Lol. Which war???

Chinese leaders and experts now see that the policy has fueled massive economic and social problems. Limiting births has contributed to unfavorable demographics, with a shrinking number of people (work-force) supporting an ever-growing retired population. The country’s economy once benefited from a swollen working-age population, but China is starting to pay that debt down in the form of slowing growth and higher spending on health and retirements.

So, the policy in my opinion has done more harm than good to China's economy.

Proudly an Environmental Manager!

8. Imagine, they determines the number of child a couple will have!
    Hia!!!!!
    I think we need it here in nigeria especially the poor Nigerians that can birth 8 children with no means of survival.

9. What happens when one give birth to triplet in this country

10. Hahahhaaha
    If I was living there,i will be guilty as charged!!!

Two ke?
    Me that likes poopin em like it is going out of fashion...

11. Thats good. I wish a law will BE made in Nigeria for average couple not to have more than three children. There's this neighbor of mine, she has five kids and pregnant now. Upon the fact that she sent two of her children to stay in her relatives house. She & the husband couldn't pay the school fees of the remaining three. N4000 for each. They've been at home for two weeks now. Every morning the husband will be quoting psalm 127 vs 3-5 for God while praying.

12. Very interesting *side eyes at someone*

13. Thats good. I wish a law will BE made in Nigeria for average couple not to have more than three children. There's this neighbor of mine, she has five kids and pregnant now. Upon the fact that she sent two of her children to stay in her relatives house. She & the husband couldn't pay the school fees of the remaining three. N4000 for each. They've been at home for two weeks now. Every morning the husband will be quoting psalm 127 vs 3-5 for God while praying.

14. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Kikikikiki
    What a rubbish policy,they wud have continued with the 1child policy and watch how EXTINCT their country will be in few yrs 2 come..
    Go into the world and multiply,so says the holy book..kikikiki
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

15. Some parents in Nigeria can be very irrational.My Parents gave birth to 6 children, Husband and wife are petty traders with a monthly income of less than N15,000.00. They will bring the children into this world to suffer. Their excuses will always be "God will provide"The eldest is faced with alot of responsibility before age 16. Selling all manner of things ranging from pure water to gala in order to support the family to eat. All struggled through school with her effort. Still thank them for refusing to rotate us to distant relatives as house helps. Even though things have changed for good. I am still sad. Age is running fast on the eldest. She was soo engrossed with our well being that she refused to say yes to marriage as a younger woman. Love u sis.What a world.

1. God bless you for recognizing your elder sis suffering for you guys. I have seen cases where the older one sacrifices their lives only for the younger ones to rub it in later on

16. You can have more than one before but you pay a fine. I have a friend who has siblings and her parents paid a lot of fine for it and provided prove they could take care of the kids

17. they've achieved the aim of the one child policy, that is the only reason they will be relaxing the policy.
    chinese ndi obi akpo

Variance Analysis Calculation

18. That's good, since they have seen the effect on their economy, they decided to change; this is a country well planned. Just in US where you can't birth a disabled child. I think Nigeria should also look for a way to curb this growing population without means of livelihood..