Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Angel Blaze Replies Blog Visitor's Mentoring Questions -Part 3

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Angel Blaze Replies Blog Visitor's Mentoring Questions -Part 3

These questions were sent in by blog visitors needing career path and business ideas mentoring and Angel blaze tries to be a super man by replying and giving the best advise he knows....you are free to add your bit to each question as well cos ''two heads are better than one''

Read Part One Here
Read Part Two Here

This is the final part of the mentoring questions...

Angel Blaze's opening Note
Thanks Stella for the opportunity to sow little seeds in the hope that more people find success with less
Mistakes than some of us confronted.

I am going to try and finish the remaining questions now:

Blog visitor says -''Hi Mr Angel Blaze, May God bless you for the smiles you've put on people's faces.please Sir, a friend of mine wants me to write a proposal on what I can supply or do for Enugu state government since her uncle is the governor. Please Sir, can you give me an idea on what I can supply or do for the government for them go grant my proposals. Thank you and may God bless you Sir. Do have a blessed day.

Blaze answers - amen to your prayer. I hope everyone learns to invest their own little (relative to capacity) to pass on the smiles.

Hmmm one of the biggest bane to success is the lure of easy money. If it looks easy, feels easy, ask yourself why everyone else with that opportunity aren't rushing there.

Nigeria is going through a major shift and governments have less money to throw around so be careful. Having said that, success is also about seizing Windows when they open up.

Forget about supplies, do some research what are the major areas of need in Enugu? Which ones can you design simplified solutions that cost the state little in upfront investments to dabble into?

Ask questions and look closely only then should you put a proposal together. 

............................................................................................................

Blog visitor says - ''Good day Stella and Angel blaze, 
I just saw your mail on Tuesday about free mentoring. It took a lot for me to write this because I'm naturally the shy type but I do need your advice please. I am an upcoming fashion designer,I love it with a passion. I reside in Abuja and I do make some clothes every now and then, it's a home based business for now debtor lack of funds. My main problem is how to get clients to sell to as I am the shy type and not too good with marketing.

Please advise me on the right path to follow as I am a determined young girl.
Blaze answers- Dear determined lady, the best place to start is your dining table so that's not a problem. Fact is some of the biggest businesses today started that exact way! 

How do you get clients? So easy for you! Become your own model! Create unique NICE outfits and wear them out! You will be surprised how many ladies will stop to comment, keep small complimentary cards ready and handy assuring them you can do same for then.

Secondly, find some friends who seem popular and make a sample outfit that's nice for them to showcase. 

Most Hollywood and now Nollywood stars are walking bill boards for some designers.

Avoid over doing it so you don't go broke spending your funds on "marketing"

Lastly make your designs NICE UNIQUE and extremely affordable. I have found out that's all it takes to start but don't over trade cos that will destroy your budding reputation fast.

............................................................................................................

Blog visitor says - Good day Angel Blaze, 
      Thank you for undertaking to assist people to be happily independent. I am a B.A holder, my job experience is mostly in banking.

Now the other side is that the first tsunami in the banking sector which led to job loss which affected me.. Afterwards to make ends meet I had to take up non core staff positions to at least pay my bills. 

Now in the banking industry,being a contract staff is extremely restricting as you are barred from access to applications and internal mail especially if you are a marketer on contract. Then the recent tsunami affected me again so now I'm back to job hunting. 
I have always been keen about customer service delivery. I understand what it feels like to receive shabby services or to be totally ignored when you need after sales service s. I also do understand what it feels like to lose a customer because of poor service delivery. I have worked at some point as a sales person,a marketer,customer service representative and a teller. 

Now the challenge is I have taken a firm decision not to lie about my age and also not to falsify work experience. Getting a job has been tedious irrespective of trainings I had undergone. I am very keen in pursuing a career in customer services. My questions are do you think it is normal to falsify my age to fit in job applications? Do you think I should delve into another career path?
Yours Sincerely.

Blaze answers - firstly ,don't lie to get a job! You will be cut in the end and it's a fast track back to the job market.
Secondly if you are good with customer service, go into business.
I know two aburos who were bankers in exact same position, today one runs one of the most popular salons in Lagos and the other is one of the good fashion wear makers in Lagos.
I know someone else who trades in Packaged plantain chips started in her kitchen and now mega successful.
None of them were silver spoon kids but simply tenacious.
If you can talk then you can earn.
So stop closing out your mind otherwise you will get caught in a bad trap.
Hope the above helps.

Angel Blaze's end Note

On a general note, thanks for the various comments, I appreciate the sincere, the sarcastic and the plain playful.
I believe that most on this platform can excel and all I want to do is coach those wiling and ready to seek counsel.

Have a great day everyone and keep your mind's eye open so you don't miss the opportunities passing you by!

43 comments:

1. Thank you Angel Blaze..God bless you

2. Wow nice one. Am still job hunting, by God's grace when I get one, will save up to practice all these tips.

3. More grease to your elbow, Angel Blaze.

4. Helpful answers. God bless U Angel blazem

5. Thanks Angel Blaze, I think I have learnt one or two things from your advice section...

6. Enough of this already

7. Thank you for stating that there is no money in Nigeria to be thrown around again,at least that will make people to work hard this time around and leave begging as a major source of income ..

8. Helpful answers. God bless U Angel blazem

9. This man is intelligent!!!! God bless you

10. Iphie and TGW let's send our questions to Angel Blaze on how to become public office holders and win elections as a woman in this country.

11. Thank you sir,i learnt a lot from this

12. A million thanks to you sir, i have learnt so many things from bv's questions and i appreciate your genuine and enlightening answers. God bless....

13. Nice One! Remain lifted&Blessed Mr Blaze, this so inspiring. Highly commendable.

14. Angel Blaze You Last Line Killed Me,your God sent to Human, Your Motivation Words Is the Bomb God Bless who Ever You Are

15. Good one angel blaze...God bless you, but in these days where employers are looking for 20yr olds wit 30yr experience and you as a recent graduate have no experience at all, I find that adding a few false work experience sometimes might help. Just saying

16. Thanks Angel blaze, applying these at once. Your end note is so on point.
    God bless you

17. Honestly i've really gained a lot though i didn't ask any question but i'm seeing some questions that i would have asked and Angel blaze you've really done Justice to those questions. Thanks. Ideas they say rules the world. I'm really enlightened.

18. Helpful answers. Thnx Angel blaze

19. I love Angel Blaze's end note, I wish many BVs can have that outlook towards most of the mean comments posted by some people. God bless you Angel Blaze! |

20. The shy Poster 2, why dnt u. hire an online Marketer like me(weekly or monthly), wud advertise your clothes to over 20,000 potential customers daily, send dia contacts 2 U, and u agree on price, dey pay and u send d products 2 them #shikenah

21. I love the massage sent to the fashion designer

22. Great advise! I like Angel Blaze's tone. He (she?)sounds eclectic and mature... Just like Aboki na Mallam from years back. Stells, I still miss all of em. Always luv SDKB! Yaggaaaaa!!!!!!!!! Lol

23. Graduated with a 3rd class due to health issue as I was nt always in skol, now trying to get a job in owerri is very hard, I want to go into business and I don't have any money to start upn I also learnt makeup nd I dnt even have any single kobo in my account to start up.... I tried begging for maeup product dt mua are nt using again nd I couldn't get any...how do I even go abt it.

24. I wish I'm business oriented, I just wish.
    I need a job,
    not everyone is good "enterpreneurally" and it seems that I am part of those not good enterpreneurally.

1. Darling, everyone can be business oriented.
      It's all about meeting needs and getting value 4 your deeds...
      You too can meet needs.
      There is a business opportunity in every problem! Njoy

25. Poster 1: Enugu state need so many things o. Look wella and u'll see. Time for u to chop the national cake too. Don't dull o

26. Wao! You are too sound, I have a soft spot for extremely sound guys.
    Weldone!

27. Angel blaze couldnt av sed t better... the determined lady dt sews.. always wear ur own cloth.. that's ur brand.. and if u av frnds dt r party rockers.. always get em to giv u their aso ebi to sew for em.. sew it for free for starters. . Just get em to pay for the material.. dey can buy it demselves sef.. ur work wld speak for u.. tell em to send u pictures. . Put on ur instagram page.. ur brand is goin places gradually. .

28. I've really been enriched by your intelligent responses and I intend to apply those which are perculiar to me. Thanks so much Angel Blaze

29. GracieSDKblog'sCuteness15 October 2015 at 15:43

Thank you Angel Blaze, the take home lesson for me today is "Don't over trade as that will destroy a buisness budding reputation". Can we be friends Angel Blaze? I will send my contact if I get a yes.