A scanned copy of a British passport purportedly belonging to the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, was forged, UK authorities have stated.
The authorities however admitted that Mr. Saraki holds a valid British passport.
The controversial passport, with the name Olybukola Saraki, and number 306077175 was published by a news website as evidence of Mr. Saraki’s dual citizenship and subsequent ineligibility to hold public office in Nigeria.
In a statement released by his special assistant on new media, Bamikole Omishore, the senate president said he instructed his attorney to contact the UK Passport Office to investigate what he termed an “act of criminality.”
Mr. Saraki further explained that only those who voluntarily obtained the citizenship of another country are disqualified from holding public office.
“It is important to state that the requirement to forfeit Nigerian nationality/citizenship upon acquisition of the nationality/citizenship of another country does not apply to persons who are Nigerians by birth within the definition of Section 25 of the Constitution. This section also acknowledges and protects the right to hold citizenship by birth of another country.
“Citizens of a country by birth do not need to swear to an oath of allegiance to that country. It is only a citizenship acquired through naturalisation and registration that has the requirement to take an oath of allegiance,” he said on Facebook.
In response to inquiry into the matter by Mr. Saraki’s lawyer, Andrew Stephenson of Discreet Law, London, Her Majesty Passport Office confirmed that the published passport was forged.
The letter, made available to PREMIUM TIMES by Mr .Saraki’s media aide, Yusuph Olaniyonu, with reference number, Disc/Info/SARAKI/030915 and signed by C. Emery of Disclosure of Information department of HM Passport Office, confirmed that Mr. Saraki was issued a British passport on June 29, 2006, which will expire on 29 June, 2016. The number of Saraki’s genuine passport was, however, redacted in the letter.
The letter confirmed that the number on the scanned published passport does not relate to Mr. Saraki.
“I can further confirm that the number on the copy of the passport you supplied (marked 2 by yourselves) does not relate to Mr. Saraki,” the letter stated.
It however declined to provide detail on who owns the passport number on the published passport saying that it can only disclose such information “upon production of a United Kingdom court order” directing the department to release the information.
Hian!...so how do they know one who voluntarily obtained citizenship?I have dual citizenship but it was given as my right via Marriage!
Anyways Saraki has said that he isnt hiding.This drama is not even about Saraki,I think there is more,something unfolding,powerful in the hands of power drunk idiots.
No weapon fashioned against Sarako shall prosper. Tinubu and co make una kontinuu
ReplyDeleteDouble wahala for saraki.
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Ppl don realy rise up for saraki matter..o,but they won't pull him down.I believe they see him as a threat.the pursuit of power in 9ja is something else entirely.
DeleteNawa oooh
DeleteNa them sabi.
ReplyDeleteThey should dine in d drama created by themselves.
One day new drama.
Abeg buhari should send all ds people to jail already.
D likes of saraki,umar,tinubu,amaechi,atiku...infact d list is endless;need to be sent to jail
If he can do it,I will start taking him serious...
DeleteThis is getting more interesting
ReplyDeleteThey no y they are after him because he's the only one that can challenge them....yoruba's should better wise up because even the VP can't do anything neither dose he no anything when it comes to politics!!! they want to frustrate him.
DeleteI love Bukola despite the fact that he's not pure but his bold, confident an knows what he's doing!!
He's the only one I see there that can challenge even the president.
LEAVE HIM ALONE
Lmao.........can't just stop laughing
ReplyDeleteThis saraki wahala never end
ReplyDeleteGood morning everyone.
ReplyDeleteThey should leave Saraki alone na. Haba
ReplyDeleteSaraki's problems began as soon as he was elected Senate president as opposed to what his party wanted. many more troubles in the pipeline. i pity him cos they won't rest until they get him out of that seat.
ReplyDeleteI'm telling you. But he was over zealous though. I like him because he's intelligent and all. But his sudden quest for authority at all cost has made that dwindle
DeleteNa them sabi
ReplyDeleteTomorrow, they will come and release another statement that that one didn't come from them. Biko, I'm tired of this issue jare
ReplyDeleteOne week, one trouble
ReplyDeleteGood Morning everyone
ReplyDeleteIts not new in Nigeria... even the so called human activists,
Even the bible says don't trust man.. na only God win o.
But whether him forge or not.
#Who He Help.
Make i Just dey read comments jare!
Tinubu tried frustrating Fash ola and that one went to beg now he has fashioned his arrow to Saraki Hmmmm I think we should start thinking of giving power back to PDP cos this APC drama is quiet disgraceful.
ReplyDeleteThey haven't thought of how to move the nation yet they are fighting between themselves while aboki is bringing his fellow aboki to the table. MAY GOD HELP OUR NATION NIGERIA
Na THIEFNUBU and SAHARA REPORTERS work. .......
ReplyDeleteStella just shut up!We all know you are married to a white,but must u rub it in our faces all the time?Haba
ReplyDeleteJesu!...
DeleteSee painment...
Your jealousy no get part 4..,
Hian! I can see you woke up on the wrong side of bed . Please go back to sleep.
DeleteLol.
DeleteDon't mind restless Stella. Wetin concern her P for this matter?
DeleteThey should leave Saraki alone.
ReplyDeleteEveryone cannot be an "Osinbajo" or a "Daura"
ie a political stooge.
Your stands on political issues is always very tribal filled....hateful word. Why nah
DeleteThey want him down by all means.
ReplyDeleteBut he's smarter and always ahead of them.
Wareva
ReplyDeleteWahala
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
This dude must be considering retiring nw but that money will always hold him down though no doubt...... #NowPlaying she: chyn.....
@sdk you show your dumbness every minute. how can you say this in this info age?....Hian!...so how do they know one who voluntarily obtained citizenship?I have dual citizenship but it was given as my right via Marriage! why won't they know? who asked you about your dual citizenship?
ReplyDeletethe power drunk idiot is Saraki himself.
Anon... abt ur last line,God bless u!! Saraki is drunk with power, he wanted senate president by all means n he got it even by dining with d opposition. ..d truth is Saraki doesn't bliv in any change ting all he's concerned abt is pwr! ! Or aw can one justify him giving dt position to ekweremadu?? It has never happened, pdp won't do such never, ges dts y PMB is rili annoyed! Saraki ' s whala never even start, dey just dey warm up for am. Dino him sef Don calm down else he wld av bin jam talking..lol. Am so enjoying all dis deir drama. .
DeleteI settle with your last line too. Saraki brought this upon himself. I can't reiterate this enough.
DeleteIt's like there is also an intl connivance against Saraki,he should just step down while d ovation is loudest.
ReplyDeleteHe caused all these himself;trying to outsmart his masters,thereby breaking one of the most vital laws of power!.....he was stylishly playing two parties thinking the APC is stupid. he should carry the cross.#says and turns away#
My thoughts exactly, biting the fingers that fed him..Resigning will be the best bet now if he's clever.
DeleteGbamest!
DeleteI don't think he should resign. Yes he outsmarted them....so what? It doesn't mean he can't get the job done.
DeleteI think it'll be better for Nigerians if we have the opposition party in the helm of affairs , otherwise the ruling party will run the country any way they like and anything done illegally will be swept under the rug.
Having the opposition there will keep them on their toes , knowing fully well they're waiting to expose their failure to Nigerians. I want good governance and I don't care if the person who delivers it is in APC or KOWA.
Thank u jare. I think he should be scapegoated in the appropriate way so to serve as a deterrent to other "traitors" like him. He really messed things up and almost made his party lose what they had been fighting for. He didn't allow the APC to enjoy their victory absolutely, because within their inner caucus is a PDP member. There's no privacy for them as it is. So I quite understand the President's anger and the rest of the party members.
DeleteNicole, u are right too. About having challenges from within to make them alert.
DeleteIts turn by turn. Fashola had his share weeks back, now its Saraki's turn.
ReplyDeleteSaraki shld go nd defend himself,it's well wt our country.
ReplyDeleteDrama everywhere.
ReplyDeletewww.ckjacob.com
This people and their wahala.Na them sabi.
ReplyDeleteEvery week,they come with different wahala,bunch of useless politicians.
Saraki is a thief. He cannot last on that seat.
ReplyDeleteSakari is too power drunk and proud. He used both pdp and Apc to get to where he is now thinking Apc wad stupid. In politics there are some toes you should not step on...he should go and ask Jonathan and learn. More wahala is coming except he goes to beg without that... mmmmmm