Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sight Testing.

Thursday, September 03, 2015

Sight Testing.

Research Says One million Nigerians Are Blind

The Ophthalmological Society of Nigeria (OSN) has said that about one million Nigerians suffer from one form of blindness or the other while over 50 per cent of the number is caused by cataract alone.

“This figure is based on a research conducted in 2008,” Professor Sebastian Nwosu, President of the society told newsmen in Jos, Plateau State, at the end of a weeklong conference.

Professor Sebastian said while cataract accounts for over 50 per cent of the cases of blindness, glaucoma, and several other factors are responsible for the remaining 50 per cent. The OSN president said three million Nigerians suffer partial blindness, a situation that could be corrected if proper treatment was done.

He said 42 out of every 1,000 Nigerians are blind, pointing out that the distribution varied from one geographical area of the country to the other. While cataract is age related, genetic factors as well as human life styles also result to blindness in some cases, he said.

-The Sun

129 comments:

1. That's their own,i cnt see any horse still I'm nt blind

1. Lol. Those are definitely not horses coated with brown and white strips.
      In a more Factual note, it is a Land in Jos, flowing with milk and Undiluted Honey...

That place is just opposite Shere Hills.

2. Yes they are. But na three horses me see.

1. No you're not, I saw 4 too.

2. Saw 4 too. We are not blind. In fact I have perfect schematic eyes. Visual acuity of 6/4.5(N4).

4. Stella why u too no answer?

Anyways I see 4.

5. i seee five.........God pls i need a surprise package before the end of this week............u said u'll never let me walk alone,see me through

6. D pictures are not bright
    Am out.
    Next

1. Lol. Biko look again.

I can see 4 horses.

2. Add one little horse to d list equals 5 horses.

7. Five! four horses and a baby horse.

1. Good eyes! Same here

2. You are right

3. It is not called baby horse d name is puppy

4. Anony na u come worse pass. Na dog? No be only puppy. Olodo!

8. Four. Even if I have cataract in my eyes, as long it doesn't stop me from seeing, touching, counting and owning money, i'm game. Hehehehe

9. I saw the same number of horses in the picture u posted above!

10. Very disturbing but might be true.

11. Am not blind yet I can't categorically tell u how many horses are there.

12. 5horses,dere a small one by d side!

13. i see 5 horses
    2 goats
    3 monkeys and 1 donkey.. lol

14. Replies
    1. 5. A baby horse is no less. Still a horse

2. Nope @Precious a baby horse is a foal.
      There's a reason you can't call a baby an "adult"

15. Replies
    1. Five horses
      pls oh whts with mtn and this number verification directive?I went to a centre today and d crowd I met was scary,i had to leave...how many customers are they planning to deactivate?na dem sabi

16. Five?

"All men are dogs, all of them!" she ranted, almost hitting her brother "Wow! Excuse me! the last time I checked Daddy was a man and so am I, so if all men are dogs that make you a female dog because the apple doesn't fall far from the tree..... Kindly click

Relationship Series 2: When the Heart is Kept in a Safe.

Raped at Gunpoint.

Gentlemen: Rules to Keep Your Heart Safe from Heartbreak Stories.

17. This is not about blindness now.Common.

18. ex president girlfriend3 September 2015 at 16:42

I see 3 horses ooo..my eyes is very sharp

19. Five?

"All men are dogs, all of them!" she ranted, almost hitting her brother "Wow! Excuse me! the last time I checked Daddy was a man and so am I, so if all men are dogs that make you a female dog because the apple doesn't fall far from the tree..... Kindly click

Relationship Series 2: When the Heart is Kept in a Safe.

Raped at Gunpoint.

Gentlemen: Rules to Keep Your Heart Safe from Heartbreak Stories.

20. I saw five

Then I saw six

Then I got confused cos I'm not sure anymore...

In my eyes...5horses.

21. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Who get that tym abeg..... #NowPlaying>> gbesoke: ftk....

1. To be counting horses? Abegii, they can be 200 for all I care.

Whirlwind

22. 5 horses..i'm not blind! hehehee

23. Who you wan blind?

24. I see 5. Am I blind?

Eastwestern

25. 5 horses....4big and one small one......the big ones have a huge white line running from top to bottom of their faces while the little one has an all white face...#clue : start counting withe legs, move up to d trunk then u can see their faces

26. Ahhhh
    Its like am seeing four.
    Comments pls.....

27. Owk them don try! Me I see four horses!!!

28. I know my sight is poor and I need glasses which I can't afford for now. I managed to count 4 sha.

29. Five horses.

Hope I got it.

The study is probably right though.

The rate at which people have eye defects these days is amazing.

Without my glasses outside, please don't vex if I don't recognise you till you call my name or click very close...lol.

God help us.

30. There are six(6) horses there ooooooo.

31. There are six(6) horses there ooooo.

32. There are six(6) horses there ooooo.

33. There are six(6) horses there ooooo.

34. there are 6 horses.

35. The pesin wen carry out dt research dey craze; if you say deaf, I fit believe small bcos of generator noise. Eeh if I hear we can see for Africa!

36. 3 horses all the way.

That is all my eyes could see.

37. 5 horses
    4 horses and 1 baby horse.

38. 5 horses... pesin way see 6 na vision

39. So what is the point of telling us how many Nigerians are blind when there are no tips provided to deal with prevention in preventable cases?

40. They are 5 in number

41. Oooooooooh my....!
    Dis is simple arithmetic
    Five horses

42. I can see 6 horses....

43. Stella please help us o, nigerian immigration recruited us early this year and we went through the normal process, and we were undergoing induction in our various zones and we were even taught how to handle fire arms, and now we have been sent back home citing orders from the presidency to cancel our training, please alot of us have invested so much on this, I quit my job when I was shortlisted, we have been there for three months under going physical and physiological training, please give us a voice, the process was free and fair, about 5,000 youths were gainfully employed and taken off the streets, help us tell them that you can't just train people in arms and then turn them out, give us a voice please. Help us save our jobs.

1. Hmmmm, that really sad.

44. I saw 5 horses, 1 at the left side and 4 at the right side!