VARIETY WITH MUTTON BY OMALICHA!
It was a warm Saturday afternoon,we were done with the house chores and the general clean-up,this was not the average Saturday,our taste buds were itching for something exciting.
After a little dilly-dallying I came up with this recipe. It was awesome and everyone loved it. As usual,it's subject to alterations and you can always add and subtract as you wish. Enjoy!
~INGREDIENTS~
•Rice - 2 de rica
•Onion -3 medium bulbs
•pepper -(like a plate I guess,didn't
Count,just knew it was
Plenty. lol)
•runner beans -a small basket.(I love runner
beans)
•dry fish -16 pieces (the small ones)
•chicken stock - a medium sized bowl
•shrimps - a small pack
•chicken sausages -a pack
•mutton -1 and a half kilo
•vegetable oil -a cooking spoon
•seasoning
•salt to taste
~METHOD~
•wash and arrange everything you need to prepare your food. Dice everything that needs to be diced. I washed my rice 5 times to get rid of the starch.
•The mutton had already been seasoned previously and even half dried. i put in a pan,added ground pepper and a pinch of salt and allowed to heat and cook completely before setting aside.
•The chicken stock was gotten from a previous meal,I brought it out of the fridge to defrost and set aside.
•Put a dry pot on medium heat. Add your vegetable oil. After 5mins,your oil should be very hot,add pepper and onion stir fry. We wanted the rice peppery so don't scream when you see how much pepper I used. lol,but if u fry your pepper properly,it reduces the hotness.
•Add your dry fish. When I make rice with dry fish I usually put it in the beginning and not when the rice is cooked as some people prefer to do. I do this so that the fish can get sauced properly and if its really dry,you don't have to bother about it scattering.
•Add little salt and seasoning. This solely depends on how seasoned your stock is. You don't want it too spicy.
•mix well and keep frying,after 5min,add your washed rice. I brought this down from the heat and stirred well,endeavor to use a wooden spoon.this way,it doesn't get burnt. Mix properly,and let all your ingredients work their way to the top.
•Add your stock,taste for seasoning and leave to cook.
•when almost cooked,add shrimps and diced sausages.(They are tender and do not need to over cook),its safe to turn @ this stage,using your wooden spoon and taken from bottom to top.
•when completely cooked,add runner beans. This is my favorite ingredient. :).I love it crunchy,so I turn again,and turn of heat. Never over cook your vegetables the heat from the food should do this.
•i didn't forget my mutton. it was served as a side dish. (Don't mind me o,na just meat)
•This sounds stressful,but ignore my long epistle. its really easy and tastes way better than it looks. enjoy!
Ingredients for peppered variety rice, sausages, shrips, fish, onion, pepper , runner beans |
Seasoned and half dried mutton |
Vegetable oil |
Washed rice |
Chicken stock |
Stir fry pepper and onions, frying pepper reduces the hotness |
Adding washed dry fish to stir fried pepper and onion |
Adding rice, seasoning and salt to taste |
Stirring rice with a wooden spoon |
Adding chicken stock to pot of rice |
Adding sausages and shrimps to almost cooked rice |
Adding runner beans to cooked rice |
Peppered variety rice served with a side of mutton |
...............................................................................................................................................................
DELICIOUS PLANTAIN PANCAKE
Hi Stella, you might want to share my recipe with the house.
Here is what I had this morning with my family..
PLANTAIN PANCAKE
2 Ripe/overipe Plantains
- 200 gr Plain Flour or Wheat flour
- 2 raw Eggs
- 2 to 3 tablespoonful evaporated milk or powdered milk or condensed milk
- 1to 2 Tablespoonful Sugar
- 100ml Water (more or less)
- Chili pepper or Scotch bonnet(atarodo)
- 1 tablespoonful Onions (minced)(to taste)
- A pinch of Salt
- A pinch of grated nutmeg(optional)
- 1/2 teaspoon baking powder or baking soda(to make it fluffy)
- 2 to 3 tablespoonful vegetable oil (for greasing the pan)
- 200 gr Plain Flour or Wheat flour
- 2 raw Eggs
- 2 to 3 tablespoonful evaporated milk or powdered milk or condensed milk
- 1to 2 Tablespoonful Sugar
- 100ml Water (more or less)
- Chili pepper or Scotch bonnet(atarodo)
- 1 tablespoonful Onions (minced)(to taste)
- A pinch of Salt
- A pinch of grated nutmeg(optional)
- 1/2 teaspoon baking powder or baking soda(to make it fluffy)
- 2 to 3 tablespoonful vegetable oil (for greasing the pan)
Tip: you can substitute the water in the recipe for whole milk
Preparation
Preparation
* Mash the plantains until smooth and without lumps
To get a smooth consistency, you can puree in a blender or mix the mashed plantains thoroughly with a little water, pass it through a tight sieve and mash any lumpy plantains with a spoon.
*Break the eggs into a wide bowl,add the milk,sugar and mashed or blended plantains, mix together using a whisk or a fork.
To get a smooth consistency, you can puree in a blender or mix the mashed plantains thoroughly with a little water, pass it through a tight sieve and mash any lumpy plantains with a spoon.
*Break the eggs into a wide bowl,add the milk,sugar and mashed or blended plantains, mix together using a whisk or a fork.
* Add the grated nutmeg(optional), the minced onions, pepper and salt.
* Gradually sift in the baking soda and flour and keep on whisking. The mixture would begin to thicken and look lumpy.
* Add the water and continue stirring until the pancake batter is smooth with a runny consistency, but not too watery.
Leave the batter to rest for 15 minutes.
Tip: Note that the lighter you make the batter, the thinner the pancakes will turn out.
* Pour a little oil on a pan, enough to grease the pan; spread the oil with a brush to grease the whole surface and heat up.
* Using a soup spoon, scoop up some of the pancake batter and pour into the hot pan.
Gently tilt the pan, so that the batter can evenly coat the surface of the pan.
* Cook one side of the Pancake (on low heat) for a few seconds; as you begin to see air bubbles and the sides of the pancake turning dark;flip over and cook the other side.
Repeat this process for the remaining pancake batter. Always grease the pan before use.
......and boom your Plantain pancake is ready. I garnished mine with strawberries and grape.
Tip : You can also puree all the ingredients in a blender and cook as written above.
You can enjoy your pancake with any drink of your choice... for me i made strawberry and grape smoothie.
Recipe from myfoodtv.. .
Hmmm! Yummy.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Use non stick pan for d pancakes....else na oil u go chop...n it's best to smear d pan with butter rather than oil.
DeleteStella, it's still FRIDAY here in Nigeria o!
ReplyDeleteVery delicious.
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Yummy
DeleteI will try them out...but i dont know if its only me yea..after having a slice if pancake,i then feel the rest is irritating
ReplyDeleteGlowyshoe blog
Same here o...I can't go beyond a slice no matter how I force myself.
DeleteThat makes 2 of us...I hardly ever eat pancakes nd when I do its a struggle...Nice recipes.
DeleteYou are not alone in this,I never got beyond a slice..
DeleteTrue
DeleteSame here
DeleteI usually Force myself to eat 2
It has been a while since I ate it
I think that's cos pancakes are filling.
DeleteVery nice
ReplyDeleteYummy
ReplyDeleteMake mesef try am
Omalicha! So you sabi cook like this? Chai.
ReplyDeleteThis is really good.
I love food a lot, and love it when a lady is a good cook, it's an added advantage when I'll pick a soul mate.
Your comment will be visible after approval.
We knw peeps wey go carry this cook for their head! This food looks yummy unlike that amadioha plantain dish nyama! Nice recipe omalicha.....
ReplyDeleteFirst recipe/ food, this is our normal jollof rice nau. U just cooked in a different way and gave it another name.
ReplyDeleteOr rather concoction rice.
DeleteGbogbo bigz girlz, that's the word: Concoction rice. One serving of rice would have dried fish, shrimps, sausage, chicken stock and mutton. That's too much nah.
DeleteJasmine that's nor jollof o. Jollof rice has tomatoes and tin tomato
Bleh..
ReplyDeleteNri na asa afo..
I love the peppered rice though.
I love peppery food,the kind that makes your eyes water and your nose runny
Will try the plantain pancake. The rice is looking very sweet but too stressful.
ReplyDeleteBanana pancake iss nice too
DeleteInteresting...
ReplyDeletePlease I n red novels, who has to spare?
ReplyDelete*need novels
DeleteWhere do u stay?
DeleteMail me with ur location....i hv more than enough
DeleteI'm a walking encyclopedia of recipes. But I ain't sharing with none of ya! Call me selfish. Lmao!
ReplyDeleteSelfish. Tongue out
DeleteWat?
DeletePlease change your name
Xhlrted, why?
DeleteI prefer the first one that is what will call sharing recipe just like Dooney
ReplyDeleteExactly. The step by step pics are soo like dooney. Nice recipe.
DeleteThat rice is the truth...off to prepare it.
ReplyDeleteYeah very nice.
DeleteOne mistake though.
The oil from the chicken store should serve for the onion and vegetable saute. No extra oil needed.
Goodjob Omalicha
Odiegwu
ReplyDeleteHow to make tea
Ingredients
Water -one cup
Milk-as desired
Milo-as desired
Sugar- to taste
Method
Poor boiling water in a cup
Add milk
Add milo
Add sugar
Ready to drink
Hope u enjoyed it?
Lol
DeleteLol, do u mind I RICH d water???
DeleteMay God forgive you.
DeleteClownish much.
Hahaha
Hehehehehee... you got me rotf! You be yeye race to the power 2 I swear!!! Thanks for making me laff...
DeleteLmao
DeleteRotflmao
DeleteD pancake looks nice.
ReplyDeleteAll these oyibo food no dey turn me on...
ReplyDeleteLet me share recipe for Okpa!...
Grinded okpa...
Salt....
Grinded mkpuru uziza...
Palm oil...
Pepper...
Warm water for mixing...
Preparation...
Put Okpa in a bowel.add palm oil and mix with your hand to avoid having lumps...
Add salt,pepper,uziza and mix with your hand thoroughly again to avoid lumps...
Add warm water little by little and mix again untill it's like pap...
Put in a waterproof and put inside already boiling water...
Cook for 1 hour...and your Okpa is ready...
You can eat it with chilled coke or pap...
Cool
DeleteBOWEL!!! Chai, Linda egbuola mmadu. Don't you ever call anyone illiterate again, inugo? That'll be like pot calling the kettle black. LMAOOOOOOOOOO
DeleteI remember Independence Layout.
Delete8am and your hear " owere oye shoro okpa?".
Those hawkers?
Very timely.
Na how to smuggle the okpa remain.
Enugu has food abeg.
Ukwa hawkers appear from 2 pm.
Hahaha.
Thanks. I tried it once but I added the water before adding oil n when it was done some part dey red some dey white, but i still eat am like that sha.
DeleteI#teamlocal#
Linda nwanne m uziza kwa? I thought it's solely for soup/pepper soup? Pls reply
DeleteHahahaha...
DeleteXP,I import all the local foods I want from the east...
No anony,you don't add warm water before oil....that's why you didn't get it right...
Belles,uziza will give it that local Okpa taste...I learnt it way back from my Enugu neighbor...it's optional though...why don't you check it out...
That first food looks delicious, but with all the ingredients e fit purge belle.
ReplyDeletena wa o
ReplyDeleteHhhmmmm...too much ingredients in that rice. Doesn't look like what i would try.I love simple recipes biko. Looks good tho.
ReplyDeleteAeegurl...
Lol Aeegurl you can try the rice recipe but reduce the meats added. You can use only smoked fish, or only mutton, or only shrimps or only sausages . It's just like personalised fried rice
DeleteWill try out that pepper rice.
ReplyDeleteThanks
Nau I'm hungry
ReplyDeleteyummy
ReplyDeletewill try dis ova the weekend
Rice looks yummy but I dont like runner beans.I will definitely try this method of pancake without the pepper & onions.have a fun filled weekend y'all
ReplyDeleteOk. Thanks
ReplyDeleteLet me write this down
ReplyDeleteWow love this post. Nwunye general get in here, XP ur needed here, more recipe biko. My cooking book is out. Hahaha
ReplyDeleteNNE next week. I send step by step like this with photo.
DeleteCurrently afugam double.
I got over full house.
Chief in law and his Care Assistant
Mama in law
Sister in law and her little son
All my kids plus the ones in boarding schools came for hols.
Na sign language sure pass now, because all screams ends in tease. My voice wan park.
Efe adiro chaa chaa.
Find The Genetal' s Wife...if BlogLord go gree release am. Make she troway recipes.
The Mutton rice is good. But the pancake came from a bad frying pan.
Omalicha failed that one. Get a good non- stick.
Weldon babes.
Hahahaha xp sorry oh, I dont wish to be u now, I send more strength ur way
DeleteHahahaha xp sorry oh, I dont wish to be u now, I send more strength ur way
DeleteThat plantain pancake I can try. Variety rice hummm will attempt it without the pepper oh cos I don't eat pepper. Might add carrots and spring onions to mine.
ReplyDeletethanks.i will try d plantain pancake
ReplyDeleteYummy
ReplyDeleteRipe plantain, 2eggs,sardine, onion, pepper, oil, seasoning, any veg for garnish is allowed..
ReplyDeleteMethod
-wash, Peel and dice plantain add salt to taste
-then fry for few seconds do nt let it turn golden
-break eggs In a plate add Vegs, sardine n plantain then season. Mix
Add very little oil/fat in a pan cuz d sardine has its own oil.
-fry d mix, n turn as soon as one side is cooked. Keep checkin
-out of fire n food is ready.. Lime or lemon juice can b added to d mix b4 frying 4 flavour too..
I call this my dodo special.. Ate it once in ibadan d chef no gree gimme receipe " his job tho" I no fit blame am. So I decided to form mine.. I like colourful meals that's y I added d Vegs for garnish..
This will def taste nice. I'll try it. Thanks Shilz.
DeleteI'm down for any plantain dish . Sounds delicious
DeleteYummy **in my daughter 's voice ***.
ReplyDeletethe only thing i see in that rice is just pepper,and that rice looks too soaked for my liking,the pancake am gonna try it
ReplyDelete*drooling* I love d sight of good food but I don't usually hv appetite t eat yet I want t add som flesh. Wetin slim shady go do?
ReplyDeleteThanks..
ReplyDeleteI lovee d rice
ReplyDeleteWell done ladies, poster 1, peppered rice, I love the way you brought out the flavours, you sabi the act of cooking
ReplyDelete*Art*
DeleteLove the plantain pancake.
ReplyDeleteYummy foods here o.
ReplyDeleteWait, shrimps, 1 and half kilo of goat meat, 16 dry fish all in just 2 cups of rice? Hahahahahhahahahahahah and you want bv that can't even afford to buy lunch pack and beg for underwear to cook this? With what exactly? you people will be oppressing some people here and unconsciously showing off. That's how the other one declared she used 7k to buy only snail for a pot of soup, not mentioning the other animals she included too cos no be only snail she go use na. The type of people on this blog tho
ReplyDeleteYou must be a fool..do you know how small 7k snail is?...
DeleteWhat is 7k sef...
I cook with snails all the time and I know how expensive it is...
Biko tell God to remove poverty from your life...
Dont be too fast to comment, hence being Daft!!!!, she said two derica, go figure
DeleteKelvin dat Edo Boi
BVs can cook this dish nah. I believe the peppered rice would taste even better with lesser meats. Sometimes simple meals are the best.
DeleteThey both look good.
ReplyDeleteWill try d rice recipe
ReplyDeleteY is d plantain looking burnt?
ReplyDeleteWill try dis out. Gracias...
ReplyDeleteRecipe for Ayaraya ọka or Otipiri
ReplyDelete*
Brb
Are you from Nsukka?...
DeletePlease share the recipe...there is something I ate at Obollo....it's made with egusi wrapped in a plantain leaf...I have forgotten what it's called...
Can you share the recipe too...I love it!...
Local delicacies is the ish mehn...
Linda it's called agbalaatii **idnt knw if I for d spelling well ** but I thought it's Anambra snack cos I used to eat it a lot at bazaars at Anambra then. Choi local delicacies is d truth.
DeleteConcoction rice with a flair. I will try the pancake.
ReplyDeleteU can try making pancakes with that juice, mineral, yogurt u like,. Trust me u ll love it. I ve made 7up,chivita pineapple, Fanta pancakes n It was nice.
ReplyDeletePancakes are double quick match to diabetes, be aware.
ReplyDeleteLooks yummy, will definitely try this.
ReplyDeleteThat's my rice yaay! I made that and it tastes like heaven. Thank you Stella for posting it..get ready bvs for mooooreeeeee