Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: SENATE PRESIDENCY - PDP Positions Mark, Ekweremadu, Akpabio

Sunday, September 27, 2015

SENATE PRESIDENCY - PDP Positions Mark, Ekweremadu, Akpabio

As speculations mount over the future of embattled Senate President Bukola Saraki, plots by the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to supplant the majority All Progressives Congress (APC) and take over leadership of the senate are intensifying.

The Nation had reported a few days ago the PDP was plotting a sensational take-over of the upper chamber of the National Assembly in the event that Saraki is consumed by his ongoing trial by the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT).
The party is mobilising its members in the Senate to ensure one of its own replaces Saraki if the presidency of the senate becomes vacant. With that as a goal, it is said to be seriously considering one of the trio of former Senate President David Mark, Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu and Senate Minority Leader, Godswill Akpabio, as possible candidates for the position. The Nation also learnt that the three senators are being supported by various groups within the party and the senate.

The opposition party’s calculation is that some APC senators, especially those in the pro-Saraki’s Likeminds group, may either defect to the PDP or work with the party to once again produce the president of the senate if Saraki is convicted by the CCT.
“The party hopes to win to its side some APC senators to vote for our candidate along with the PDP senators. This is based on our belief that many senators across party lines are unhappy with the ongoing trial of the Senate President and we all know where this is coming from,” a PDP senator told The Nation.

Reliable sources said a meeting of PDP senators and members of Saraki’s Like minds has been scheduled for tomorrow in Abuja to discuss recent developments within the upper chamber and decide how the pro-Saraki lawmakers will react.

“While I know we will be discussing how to stall any plan to remove Saraki from office, I am also aware that we will be talking about how to ensure that APC doesn’t take over the leadership of the senate even if Saraki has to go. Already we are positioning our men in readiness for another political battle on the floor of the senate. If Saraki is forced out, we will replace him with one of our own,” another source said.

The Nation learnt that those pushing the candidacy of Ekweremadu are of the opinion that being the current Deputy Senate President, it is only normal that he be supported by PDP senators and Saraki’s loyalists to emerge as the Senate President should the latter lose the battle to remain in office.

“Ekweremadu is the current Deputy Senate President. He has shown loyalty to his boss and he is a loyal party man too. Many of us are of the opinion that it is natural that he be supported by PDP senators and Saraki’s loyalists to emerge as the Senate President should the latter lose his position as a result of his ongoing trial.

“We have made this clear to the caucus and the party leadership and he is seriously being considered by all stakeholders as a good candidate for the job. Ekweremadu’s experience as a Deputy Senate President of many years is also a great advantage. He is well suited for the job and he is well loved by many of his colleagues,” our source said.

Another factor working in favour of Ekweremadu, The Nation learnt is the quest by the South East geo-political zone to be represented among the top political office holders in the land. “The fact that he is from the South East is another factor working for him. Many senators will reason with the need to give the zone some sense of representation in the current arrangement,” our source added.
For Akpabio, the possibility of replacing Saraki as the next Senate President is being pushed largely by those opposed to Ekweremadu’s emergence. He is also said to be enjoying the backing of former governors now in PDP and Likeminds senators.

“Akpabio is the choice of those opposed to Ekweremadu for one reason or the other. He is also the candidate of his fellow ex-governors who are in Saraki’s camp or in PDP senate caucus. Their desire to ensure Ekweremadu is stopped from becoming Senate President may split the camp of pro-Saraki lawmakers,” our source added.
Meanwhile, a third group is said to be rooting for the return of David Mark as the Senate President to forestall further friction between the pro-Ekweremadu and pro-Akpabio camps. According to reports, the former Senate President’s status as the unofficial leader of the party in the National Assembly largely informed the decision to draft him into the race.

“Senator Mark is the real leader of the PDP caucus in the National Assembly. So, many of us feel he is the best man to be returned to the position after Saraki. His choice will also end the dangerous rivalry between the other groups and ensure that we do not lose the contest should the need arise,” our source added.

39 comments:

1. Senator Mark kwa? Again??????
    These people sef.
    Ekwermmmadu?
    I refuse to go for Mark in as much as I like d Dude.

Akpabio? OK. Maybe.

After all,all na speculations. Cos Saraki is coming back.Right ?

Or maybe not.
    Hmmmmmmm

Watch ya back "The Performing Governor Wike"
    A little Birdie told me dis is wots gonna happen to u.and dey say u know dat already.

*Thinking*

Politics ain't nice.
    And Def not for the faint-hearted.

1. Yes ooo. Its good 4 them. Shey saraki emerged and they wanna trouble him, maybe when they lose the seat to pdp them wisdom will come upon them. Idiots trying 2 show power over everyone

2. Saraki forgot the adage- "he who must dine with the devil should use a long spoon". When he was making deals with the PDP senators, what was he expecting? They also wanted the seat so they used him to make it easier for themselves. They didn't even allow him enjoy the seat small before rolling out their battle plan in a way that people might even blame Tinubu for their mischief. All these political evil geniuses self!! Una too much.

2. We're watching, let's see how the drama will end.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

3. Bukola Saraki, you have seen where desperation has brought you! You decided to remove yourself from the broom bunch. PDP will always see you as a traitor that you are. This is a lesson for people that disobey and belittle their parents.
    Akpabio! Akpabio, Mark, how many times did I call you both? Hehehehehe, he who must replace the embattled senate president must come with clean hands oooooooooooooo!

4. Interesting...

If Ekweremadu will be the new senate president, let Saraki just resign.

1. Ole. Your people want to use back door to get what they did not deserve. Kojo. APC are not fools. We are talking of people that are sound in politics not ego le.

5. Na siddon dey look I dey. I pray in case Saraki is removed, that the seat is retained by Ekweremadu.

6. Na siddon dey look I dey. I pray in case Saraki is removed, that the seat is retained by Ekweremadu.

7. I don't want David Mark to return. I want Ekweremadu instead,but am still rooting for Saraki. I think he's going to fight this.

8. Yetinde says and they fink the opposition is asleep,I kuku no blame them wen apc decided to accept every tom,dick and harry,wen PDP was there,was opposition given chance to hold any major office?NO,so dear PDPigs,desperation for seats not meant for yhur party is stupidity & APC shld nt go for 1 yeye meeting again o,after saraki,dino melaye is next,awon bastard fathers,if he's nt careful,smart adeyemi would return 2d senate,they fink apc is pdp ,dat disloyalty in their blood ehn,apc would teach dem loyalty.morning stella.

9. Hnmmm replace Saraki with one of their own. Same 'kworrupt' sect. God help Naija.

10. From frying pan to fire

11. New drama unfolding!

12. Power-drunk greedy fools.... David Mark shouldn't even be an option. Foolish man that can't even do anything for his own village since all these years. He shouldn't even be in that Senate house..
    On the other hand, I don't even pity Saraki. He should be prosecuted accordingly if found guilty. People are suffering yet they keep stealing for their 10th generation. Many more politicians should face the CCT. Even that David Mark can't account for all he has stolen.

13. Nonsense ! Was it not wayo method they use in voting for saraki that time. But now, everyone will be seated and let's see how they will vote their choice . Stupid set of old people.

14. Saraki should be left alone abeg. But incase they succeed in removing him, den I prefer Ekweremadu or Akpabio. Who is Mark? Sum1 dat couldn't even help his community? Mbah o

15. Lol,ds people are dreamers sha,so u think Apc will be looking @ u without strategising abi?

16. It shouldn't be Mark again nau

17. Our president has distance himself from this saraki wahala.......he hasn't said anything sense this problem started

18. Our president has distance himself from this saraki wahala.......he hasn't said anything sense this problem started

19. Na then then if you cause any problem face it & see hw sweet 🍬 it is we need people with conscience & corrupt free if we have them may God bless Nigeria

20. Impossible! Where on earth would a minority lead run d senate? APC still have their seat..

21. If enibodi who knws dis psycho-path of a man called Tinubu 'ld Pls call him nd tlk sme senses in2 dat bamboo of skull he calls head.
    Why on heaven sake 'ld dis man, who claim 2 b a Yoruba leader always b an anti yoruba agenda.
    He did d smetin 2 Mulikat Akande wen d postion ws zoned 2 south west in d JEG administratn wch lead 2 d emergence of Tambulwa a northerner as speaker House of Rep. The interest of d Yoruba race 'ld nt b sacrificed b'cos of one man who's so egoistic called Tinubu. And who blif efritin in d south west must start nd end with him.
    Mind u in d JEG administratn d numba 2 positn dwn 2 numba 4 postn ws occupied by d north nobody raised an eyebrow so why 'ld Tinubu who claims 2 b a Yoruba leader alwys b at d forefront 2 scuttle enitin dat 'll Favour d Yoruba race at d Fed level.
    Mind u d post of d VP is only ceremonial. We dnt wnt a situatn wia tomolo a group of Yoruba leaders 'll say dia interest is nt bin respresented as dey complained during d JEG's administratn.
    Yoruba leaders of tot 'ld call dis maniac of a man 2 order. The south west 'ld nt b seen 2 b playing d role of 2nd fiddle in d political equatn of Nigeria.
    Arise! Arise!!. Enough is Enough.

22. Hmmm...drama unfolding, if these same set of people mentioned above mistakenly get there, means we yet to experience the change we desire.

23. Oh! Let the drama unfolds! @theSenate, always fighting for one thing or the other.

1. The drama has unfolds since when haven't you notices? Hehehehehe

24. I am a hausa man from danbata local govt in kano state...a die hard Apc surporter...but again a realist....there is no person in that senate more deserving of The seat than Ekweremadu..a simple, loyal and humble man...and its only fair that S.E have a spot...PDP will also be able to check Apc when they go out of line...killing alot of birds with one stone... No to sectionalism, no to corrupt leaders, yes to a rich democracy and great Nigeria...#Ekeremadu4presido....p.s saraki just gerrarahia for real menn

25. I am a hausa man from danbata local govt in kano state...a die hard Apc surporter...but again a realist....there is no person in that senate more deserving of The seat than Ekweremadu..a simple, loyal and humble man...and its only fair that S.E have a spot...PDP will also be able to check Apc when they go out of line...killing alot of birds with one stone... No to sectionalism, no to corrupt leaders, yes to a rich democracy and great Nigeria...#Ekeremadu4presido....p.s saraki just gerrarahia for real menn

26. Senator Mark should please go and sit down. Is that seat his birth right ? Someone else pls

27. Among d 3 names mentioned, Ekweremmadu seem to me like a better choice bcos Akpabio and Mark will have same problem that Saraki has, as per corruption charges.

28. I pray Saraki wins this battle but if he loses I prefer Ekweremadu to Mark. Akpabio shouldn't even be an option.