Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obasanjo And Tinubu Allegedly in Heated Row Over President Buhari's Ministerial List

Friday, September 18, 2015

Obasanjo And Tinubu Allegedly in Heated Row Over President Buhari's Ministerial List

The yet to be released Ministerial list of President Muhammadu Buhari is reportedly sparking controversy amongst the nation's political big guns. 

Former President Chief Olusegun Obasanjo and former Lagos State governor, Bola Tinubu, are reportedly at logger heads over the formation of President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet.

It was learnt that the first casualty in the war between the two politicians was the former Lagos state commissioner for finance and a nominee of Tinubu into the cabinet, Wale Edun.

According to New Telegraph Edun, who Tinubu had suggested to Buhari as minister of finance, has been overlooked despite being screened by the security service.

He is to be replaced by the former Lagos state commissioner for budget and economic planning, Yemi Cardoso, as a Lagos representative in the cabinet. Obasanjo, together with Ibikunle Amosun, the Ogun state governor, also reportedly opposed Tinubu’s decision to ensure Edun became the Ogun state appointee.

The former president reportedly called Tinubu and urged him to stop pushing Edun as the Ogun state nominee. He was said to have cautioned that Ogun people would not let Tinubu fill the slot of the state with somebody whose work and career were rooted in Lagos state.

Obasanjo and Amosun have decided to give the state’s slot in the cabinet to a former PDP national auditor, Chief Bode Mustapha. Insiders said the two recent visits of Obasanjo to Buhari in Abuja were first to submit his ministerial list and for further discussions.

Appointees of the former president in Buhari’s cabinet comprise the former Osun state governor, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola (Osun); the former governor of Ekiti state and now the deputy national chairman (South) of the APC, Chief Segun Oni (Ekiti); Mustapha (Ogun), the former minister of education, Oby Ezekwesili and the erstwhile governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Prof. Chukwuma Soludo.

The source further said: “Tinubu and Akande’s visit to President Buhari on September 9 was an impromptu meeting. An influential official in the presidency told them of Obasanjo’s surreptitious moves to corner the ministerial nominees from the South-West. This is why the two leaders visited.”

“On Obasanjo’s ministerial list, former Governor Oyinlola featured just as his name featured from the list submitted from the state. There was no resistance to Oyinlola’s nominee because that was part of the agreement before his defection from the PDP to the APC. The party has fulfilled one leg of the agreement by ceding the senatorial slot to Senator Isiaka Adeleke who also defected from PDP to the APC,” a significant member of the APC said.

The source added that based on Tinubu’s grievance, the president pledged to look into the issue. 

New Telegraph extract.

SMH
*I cant wait for this list to be announced...LOL,I hope it will not turn into physical altercation between the politicians when the list does come out.Na wah.

34 comments:

1. Hmm. No wonder they've been having backyard meetings with him. Power can be intoxicating. Abeg they should leave bubu to do his work.

1. Lols,so Tinubu and Obasanjo are submitting list of noise makers? Hahahaha

2. Old men clinging to power. They should please do and retire jare.

2. As in? I cannot wait for the list also. To be honest though, as long as President Bubu (in Stella's voice) appoints the right men for the job, I have no problem. North, East, West or South, Nigeria is still my country.

1. @oluyomi,yes.He should appoint all of them from daura.They are saints.

3. these people should pack well jare, their news tire me

4. Their business biko. I don tire for their matter

5. Still d criminals ! God help us in dz country .

6. So the acclaimed incorruptible, powerful and fearless Buhari is collecting the list of his ministers. from renowned corrupt politicians.

Wonders shall never end.

7. They shld do and release the list jare!
    I'm sure bubu already knw the pple he wants.

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Two biggest god fathers in the game no doubt...

1. @ed dreamz,
      Yes, welcome to the era of godfatherism.

9. Th buhari list, is like waiting on God,witout knowing wat he does next. Do have a great weekend guys. Stella u are a great soul, keep it up.

10. Let it turn to physical combating exercise .. it's nt my bizzz

11. Not interested in there quarrel but need PMB to fulfill seventy percent of his messiahic campaign promises.

Chinwe Uba

12. Old wine in new wine skin? What happened to bringing new faces? Let a wolf wear sheep clothing, it will still act like a wolf. Bubu should be careful o

13. Na them pursue jona. they should deal with themselves, nothing concern me

14. September is almost gone and BUBU and his godfathers are still haggling over the contents of the list. Obasanjo and Tinubu feud didn't start today. Let them continue

15. It is well with my country

16. Na dem sabi just appoint people that will work n make ds nation great.

17. I am not surprised.

18. Old men acting childish..Baba go fall una hand yakata!
    WATCHOUT!!!

19. I can't shake the feeling that Buhari is way ahead of the game. He's the master puppeteer. He'll simply nod and acquiesce but still do whatever he wants.

I can almost picture the sardonic look on Buhari's face as he watches Tinubu and OBJ at loggerheads over the 'power or sway' they think they hold over him- an illusion.

I don't care about the list but the drama that will ensure when it's released. Who knew Nigerian politics could ever be this interesting?

20. Same Hausa people on the list
    Mtcheeeeeeew

21. Abeg d should go and sleep..

God wil soon tidy their mata..mtchhheeeewwww

22. Ogienagbon Gboyega.18 September 2015 at 14:57

The average northern 'ld only respect a south west person only if dat person is a force man either retired or active.
    BAT 'll bite his finger at d end of dis all.

23. THIS IS VERY VERY UNPRESIDENTIAL. I CALL IT MOTOR PARK GOVERNMENT OR GOVERNMENT MADE IN KAURA NAMODA.

24. Wat of DAT IBO man that used to be CPC chairman. DAT udorji football club man. Nobody dey hear from am. Abi buhhari don dump am abi e don decamp