Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NYSC DEPLOYS BIOMETRIC TECHNOLOGY TO MONITOR CORPS MEMBERS

Tuesday, September 08, 2015

NYSC DEPLOYS BIOMETRIC TECHNOLOGY TO MONITOR CORPS MEMBERS

The National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) has developed a biometric data capturing technology that will help in monitoring corps members nationwide.

The Director-General of the corps, Brig.-Gen. Johnson Olawumi, said this during the inauguration and practical demonstration of the programme at the Kuje Area Council, Abuja.

“It is going to make sure that corps members stay in their places of primary assignment. It will reduce the rate at which they travel. It will help the core employers to benefit from the services of these corps members maximally because they will now remain in their places of primary assignment,” he said.
The DG said that six members of staff were presently facing possible dismissal from the scheme after being caught engaging and conniving with corps members to leave their places of primary assignment.

He said that the disciplinary measure being taken was in line with the public service rule and the NYSC condition of service.
He said that the biometric technology made provision for corps members who may genuinely fall sick or have reasons to be away from their areas of assignments during the course of the service year.
Olawumi said that the biometrics would first be deployed for use in Lagos and Abuja adding that it will be fully adopted by other states of the federation next year.

“This exercise will start this September with corps members of batch C 2014 who will be passing out soon and batch A 2015 and it is going to start this September in Lagos state and the entire FCT.
“Batch B 2015, those who will be in Lagos and FCT this biometrics will be applied for them throughout their service year. By next year we will try to extend it to all the other states in the federation,” he added.

NAN.

What are they monitoring them for?

62 comments:

1. Hahahaha corp members will still beat it with all ds their corrupt L.I and ZI

2. Let them increase the allawee abeg

3. Good Job, thank God i'm done with NYSC!! But no matter what Nigerians would find a way to beat the technology Eg the Card Reader they used during election.

4. Nysc is just a huge joke...this is just abother avenue for som1 somwher to cart away billions in d name of a useless project...on top 19,800 they paying...using som1 for cheap labour

5. L.I and Z.I money don plenty be that

1. All this so employers can maximise the slavery? Cause you still pay corpers money the can't survive on. And employers still pay rubbish and don't provide what they should provide corpers with

2. Dem don start o, first it was that their nonsensical head count and now na biometric data capture for monitoring. The whole money wey dem go use do this white elephant project make them use am increase allowee nw.

3. If u know how much this people dey thief in d name of nysc ehn...ur mouth go open...nysc continu

4. Biometric wetin...money wey dey use increase allowee....funny country...I thot der treasury is empty

3. Lol, biometric or not there will still be ghost corpers

1. *Grinning from ear to ear* My advice to graduates yet to be mobilized, if you got something important to do, y'all better free NYSC or just GHOST; )) #ghostandproud

4. Ok oo!Let them keep wasting money on Onyokomita. Guys must rotate. Nothing mega!

5. Mtsheeeeeew. After all d restrictions, u will still carry 19800 and give dem.

6. Increase Allowee abeg. Leave 3D monitoring for Jesus.

1. This cracked me up.best comment.hahahahaha

2. Hahaha dis cray babe u r on fire dis mornin. Se ko si?

7. Monitoring adults? As far as they're are always present when needed what's NYSC's business.

1. Abeg help me ask dem NYSC ooo. This biometric can never stop corp members frm travelling

8. Hmmmmm, for dis obodo Nigeria? Ok now but remember when a hunter learnsto shoot without stoping, d birds will also learn to fly withou perching.

9. Y now of all times. Y should we be monitored

1. I don't just get it!!!!!!!! Well thankGod nxt month am out

10. Hmmmmmm I wonder o.although is risky for them to be leaving their place of primary assignment they should try and fix them where they would be comfortable with.

11. Lolzzzz they will device another means.....

Chincobee.blogspot.com

12. I agree with reducing the risk involved in traveling always. The roads are not safe enough. Also most of them just sign and disappear and only resurface for their allowances. Well na dem sabi. We don do this matter tey tey. Lol

1. You cnt blame them o, some communities are not it at all, I knew how much I used in treating typhoid while serving and how I have to risk my life travelling to the capital for transaction seriously I dnt blame people for nt staying, I wish I knew better myself though the memories are priceless

13. Stella d ans is in the article na, no be u post am abi u no read am.

14. I tire with the monitoring spirit o, are they terrorist?

15. Em' but some PPAs can be so boring and dry as a desert but the only advantage I'm seeing here is that this might help to reduce accidents and deaths of corp members when they don't travel often.

16. So will it be like a chip attached to our body? I laugh in german, we must travel ooo even if you like send soldiers to live with us. So funny abeg, u guys just want to waste FG's money

17. I wonder o. Monitoring adults mtscheww. This one OAU no even mobilise na to find work sure pass o ehn Stella just negodu hian.

18. All na wash! If dey like dey shu put tracking devices on dem. Corpers that want to travel will travel!

19. Nigerians!!!making things that aren't a problem relevant since 1901.What is this supposed to be for?They'll spend billions on this rubbish and not even use it at the end of the day?Why don't you increase allowee first?better still,attach an incentive for corp members who report to their PPA and carry out their duties everyday or distribute food items to corp members every month if you people are looking for how to spend money,yeye dey smell...

20. Don't mind them. They are looking for a way to take dia allawee or extend dia Nysc year.

21. Good talk @ur first few paragraphs

@ur last paragraph, tan bi e lere

22. Abi o. Na nigeria money need the biometric pass.

23. I know where the biometrics will be really needed.monitor our politicians past n present and get back our money then increase allawee.because of d small allawee they r paying dey want 2 put us under microscope. Those that looted millions dem no look dat side

24. No matter the devices they intend using, students are always smarter than the lecturers. Travelling is constant abeg!!!

25. Lmfao @they should put the biometric technology on nigeria ' s money., let's monitor our money and it's movement

26. They forget that students are smarter than technology.

27. Instead of them to think of ways to create jobs after the service year,na to monitor corp members dey important to dem..ok o..naija we hail thee

28. What rubbish!!! Monitoring spirits!
    Hian! Instead of them to increase our money they r sending monitoring spirits!!!!

Benin sucks!!!! Hate that I'm serving here!!!

29. Yeye dey smell. I sight another failure, may work in years to come. Nigeria b casting bills in matters of irrelevance.

30. They should increase their allowance and stop being monitoring spirits. Why won't they travel? When all they do now is ask corpers to go around registering oeople for U-report. And the stupid ureport never stops sending messages!!!!
    Aunty Ella, Sarah,LI in Amuwo Odofin LG at 41road festac Town Lagos, take note!!!!

31. Another avenue to siphon money.
    Taking biometeric data to monitor who again?
    All these people just keep coming up with different schemes to steal money. Just remember it's no longer business as usual.

32. Thank God I'm done with them. Monitoring or not, pple that want to travel will still travel. Simple. They should increase allowee instead.

evitaspeaks.blogspot.com

33. I laugh in japanese, see ehn, nysc, I fully intend to enjoy my service year, as I know say I dey go suffer, I will suffer on my terms, no monitoring/stalking spirit in form of biometric can stop me!!! Nonsense, because of 19,800 u pipo wantu ground somborri! Mtcheeeew!!!