Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Universities Not Listed In World’s First 700

Friday, September 18, 2015

Nigerian Universities Not Listed In World’s First 700

No Nigerian university is in the first 700 higher institutions of learning in the world and the first 18 in Africa, according to the QS World University Rankings 2015/16.

However, South Africa has nine institutions while Egypt has five. Ghana, Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania have one institution each.

“This is the 12th edition of QS’s annual ranking of the world’s top universities, which uses six performance indicators to assess institutions’ global reputation, research impact, staffing levels and international complexion,” the report said.

In Africa, the University of Cape Town, South Africa, is ranked first on the continent and 171st in the world. The Stellenbosch University, South Africa, is rated second in Africa and 302nd in the world. The University of the Witwatersrand is the third on the continent and 331st globally.

On the global scale, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States, scored 100 per cent to retain its top spot in the QS rankings for the fourth year consecutively. Harvard University (US) climbed two places to rank second, followed by the University of Cambridge (United Kingdom), and Stanford University (US) in joint third. MIT came first in the 2012 global rating – a position which Harvard and Cambridge universities had once occupied – and has remained there ever since.

“The primary aim of the QS World University Rankings is to help students make informed comparisons of leading universities around the world,” stated the report.

-Daily Times

The Standard of education in Nigeria is at a gutter level.

50 comments:

1. ... just as expected. tbh it's not surprising. The educational standard is way too low.

2. Na waah.
    The ball is in Buhari s court.
    Let's experience "change" in our education sector.

3. If not MIT in first position then none.

Nigeria which way???

4. How will Nigerian universities be among? When the lecturers are busy raping and extorting students instead of making meaningful impacts while those in charge of making things better steal and send their kids to the best universities...not the least surprised in anyway jare.

Aeegurl...

5. Na today yansh dey back?! Small time now Nigerians will be forming..."I can't travel and be a 2nd class citizen in another man's country".
    In Nigeria, are you even 10th class?! A country where NOTHING works! Security-zero, economy-zero, education-zero, basic amenities-zero! I just read the story where a wife was killed for just 50 naira by a policeman and I just wept!
    If you have the opportunity to empower and enlighten yourself by schooling and working abroad, don't take it o, you hear?! Continue forming "1st class" citizen in the gutter!!

1. Zimbabwe is also like that, nothing works;Africa in general...

2. Good points. I came for summer,and all the places we went was either one bribery or the other. To even check a case for listing at the supreme court in abuja,we bribed the staff. Its so pathetic that they have destroyed every sector of our great country. At the airport,all the staff were begging,and if you refuse,they delay.Common luggage trolley,its N150 and N400 being pushed by men in uniform,who should be doing some other useful things.I was so angry with the system,I snapped but didn't achieve nothing.May God help us and turn things around positively.

6. No wonder they keep pushing half baked graduates in2 d labour market.
    Some can't even construct a simple sentence to save their life.
    Bt wait o...what about d likes of unilag and UI *nde akacha amalu*
    When u go to univ of ibadan and see the way an exam is being held *most especially their med sch*, u'd think they are all professors already bt yet even with their gra gra,top 700 dem no dey.
    Mtcheeeew

7. Pass gutter na so so certificate people dey gather except very few schools and individuals.

8. AND DIA CUT OFF POINT FOR POST UME BE LYK 7OO...TOMJERRYSWIT

9. So with all their stress and 'gra gra' it is sad

10. Gutter level is an underestimation!
    Imagine that it's only in nigeria dat students are being tot programming language of 1920s(pascal,fortran,basics)etc and u are expected to graduate with it as a BSC holder of computer science!
    Aside from continuous sexual and financial harassment from the same lecturers that should be in d lab or online researching,but no!they must be all up in ur space like bugs...now dese two can only even happen if school is in session and ASUU isn't on strike as usual.how can such a country have anything good to offer educationally at d end of d day?

11. Not surprised at all. We just have a long way to go in this country. We need Gods divine intervention

12. Then what is the point of jamb, and post ume? High jamb score to gain admission. On top, lectures won't let female students be and study. The only thing I hear about is project project handouts handouts. Odiegwu!

13. Chai......This just saddened me!

But wait....Dis report odifu nwa correct???

14. Before nko....what do you expect!
    We are not surprised......
    Imagine the mail sent 2 you by a nigeria graduate yesterday.

15. What do you expect amidst the every minute strike in our varsities?

16. Is not that bad, stella Werrin happen?
    Besides what happen to our private universities were students pay millions of naira?
    It is well

17. who is QS World University Rankings 2015/16. to hell with their ranking! they are not factual

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I no surprise at all.....

19. Nigerian lecturer are busy raping and harassing students instead of lecturing.

20. What's the criteria for the ranking? They should go and sit down joor

21. How dem wan take dey the list? How do we intend making the list when lecturers be holding students to ransom for various non academic reasons.

22. If na corruption now, Nigeria go be no 1. It is well with us

23. All the Federal, state and all them privates nko? Na wayo analysis.

24. Smh..
    I'm so ashamed of my country..

25. Nigerian universities ke when their lecturers are busy raping students. Even the students produced by the schools are so half-baked. An example is the guy in yesterday's ihn that begged bvs to rest his father's flat. The construction of his English was so incoherent.

26. With the low standard of education in Nigeria....that doesnt mean there are no goood unis...Fuck this list...No wonder Nigerians look down on their fellow Nigerians who skool in Nigeria...

27. Wow.... Na WA o.. Not even the great federal schools

28. Hmmmm! Don't knw y this piece got me feeling so sad now, oh well thank God I'm standard in my own view verbally&academically frm my Nigerian Uni where I graduated frm.
    So where those who graduated from world's best universities stand& talk I wud still stand tall.