The Federal Government has approved N400 million for the payment of upkeep allowances of Nigerian students on foreign scholarships.
The acting Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Hindatu Abdullahi, made the disclosure in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja on Wednesday.
Ms. Abdullahi attributed the delay to non-release of capital allowance and the change in government which delayed the release of capital allocation for 2015.
She explained that the upkeep allowance of the scholars did not come as overhead allocation but capital allocation.
According to her, the allowance payable to the scholars outside the country is from January to December and it is calculated and captured in the budget every year.
She said the plight of the students was being taken seriously, adding that “we just have an approval of about N400 million, we are now working with the Federal Ministry of Finance to obtain it.
“After that, we will head to the Budget Office and the Central Bank of Nigeria to ensure that the money is remitted as soon as possible to the missions.
“In terms of the paper work, we have concluded; we want to pay something so that their hardship will be minimised.
Ms. Abdullahi said the entitlements were being worked out from January to December, adding that in 2014, the students got all allowances for the year between July and August.
“Whenever we receive capital allocation in the ministry, we work out the scholarship money and pay into CBN.
“CBN will now remit same in line with the information we have given them; it will remit to embassies which will remit to the scholars.
The acting permanent secretary said that if there was any delay in the release of capital allocation, it would affect scholars’ upkeep allowances.
(NAN)
Jesis thank sir!
ReplyDeleteGood! Good! Good!
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
JESUS *
ReplyDeleteAnother good News
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
They'd still return back home job-hunting with the rest of the masses, that's the sad truth. Even Masters abroad these days dsnt give u an edge over an average LASU graduate.
ReplyDeleteYou lie! It does my dear
DeleteExactly. It's all about who you know now. The UK cert is even worst than others
DeleteIt does. Even if Na 100k job, them go pick them before a Nigerian graduate. You have a point that there are less jobs for graduate, but I put it to you that many of our graduates are not even equipped enough for the labour market. But those who school in countries where there are no short cuts to an 'A' are
DeleteNice one. ...
ReplyDeleteInstead of them to improve our educational system, they continue to enrich foreign lands.
ReplyDeleteNa dem sabi.
Good move!
ReplyDeleteThose Rivers student would be very happy to hear this.
ReplyDeleteSadly this is just for students on federal govt scholarship abroad. Fed. Govt. has been owing since December 2014. Rivers state students will continue to be in trouble until their governor does something.
DeleteThnk God
ReplyDeleteThank God. Now Baba is working *shines teeth*
ReplyDeleteNice one
ReplyDeleteIs it for every nigerian student abroad or a selected few?i need to know
ReplyDeleteFor those on federal government scholarship run by federal ministry of education. Sadly, 400m will only relieve the situation a lil bcos them boys are being owed since Dec.2014.
DeleteOk
ReplyDeleteOk
ReplyDeleteNice 1
ReplyDeleteNice one but they should create more jobs here to reduce the massive unemployment here.
ReplyDeleteGood news
ReplyDeleteHow much was released for students suffering in Nigerian universities?