Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NDLEA Cries Out That The Rate At Which Married Women Are Getting Hooked On Drugs Is Alarming

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

NDLEA Cries Out That The Rate At Which Married Women Are Getting Hooked On Drugs Is Alarming

The rate at which married women are getting hooked on substance abuse has become very worrisome and alarming. Indeed, the Sokoto State Command of the National Drugs Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) is crying out loud. Allegedly based on some phantom claims that it would enhance their sexual appetite, these women take cough syrups that contain codeine which, unknown to them, is harmful to their health.

The Sokoto state Command of the NDLEA  made this observation and public alert recently and said it should be noted that it is not a problem restricted to the state.
This is a national social problem that has to be addressed as heroin and amphetamine-type stimulants and over-the-counter drugs are being increasingly abused across the country today.

Not too long ago, the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) and the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNDOC) called for the strengthening of legislations and an aggressive public education in the war against illicit drugs in Nigeria. This followed a report that about 1.5 million cocaine users are in West and Central Africa while cannabis has maintained its criminal place as the most widely cultivated, trafficked and abused substance within the sub-region.

Even so, there are some observable trends. Nigeria is one of the largest growers of cannabis. Hectares of cannabis plantations have been discovered in Edo and some areas in the South West, particularly Osun State where NDLEA reportedly destroyed a forest reserve of the weed in 2009. And because the weed is grown locally, it is easily available, cheap and therefore the most abused of the illegal drugs in the country. That perhaps explains why about eight per cent of the population reportedly abuses the substance that, in the past, used to be smoked in dark street corners and hide-outs.

Today, many young men and women openly wrap the substance, also called “pot,” and puff away, anywhere – at car wash spots, in public parks, on the streets, to get “stoned” and sometimes with even law enforcement agents looking away. Cocaine, heroin and amphetamines and ecstacy, are also available at the asking and many are increasingly dependent and hooked. 

Mr. Femi Ajayi, the former Director- General of NDLEA laments on the pervasiveness of these mind-blowing drugs, some with evidence of increasing the risk of psychotic illness: “We tend to pretend that we are only a transit country, not drug-using country. But that is not true. You have so much cannabis everywhere. Same goes for heroine and others, so the problem is here."

Now that so many married women are getting involved in the habit of substance abuse, the authorities have to take bolder steps to fight the scourge that is already creating social problems in many homes across the country. While statistics may be hard to come by, it stands to reason that there is a correlation between the abuse of drugs and most of the crimes that are now prevalent in the country today and more heartbreaking is the rate at which women are now doing it.

-Edited from This Day

Codeine enhances how one has sex?WTF!

40 comments:

1. Domestic voilence, inferiority complex, lack of fear of God I guess

1. abeg whr can som one get d ecstasy drug frm? av herg good things about it

2. See woman in the north andd run. They can get high on anything even lizard shit and vulcanizer gum or whatever it's called.

Only those that do it knows why.

3. What a man can do, a woman can do better.

4. Dont mind these fake northern women....they commit all kinds of rubbush under hijabs and jalabiyas....they can smoke too, then they like all this small small juju to manipulate men.....after dem go dey form na dem holy pass...

5. Shou..y r u bitter mr/miss/mrs anon..na hijab de do u?even Mary cover with hijab..nonsense fool..juju no de ur side but u sabi d name come,carry d meaningjoinabi?better take ur tym idiat..msww..proud northerner

2. Married men nko? Why face only the women?

3. WOMEN/BABES ARE NOT SMILIN....TOMJERRYSWIT

4. Cocaine enhances sex?So why are the married women getting addicted to it?Na only them sabi sex?

5. Married women takes drug to run from emotional abuse by horsebands.

6. Aunty Stella na frustration dey cause am o..many married women just dey endure marriage these days. A friend of mine got hooked to alcohol cos of her wizard of a husband. Not just any alcohol o,BEER. No day passes without her taking at least 2 bottles. It is well

1. Unemployment too is another problem

2. Same goes for a very close friend of mine.she graduated from beer to dry gin and the rate she goes with some mixtures ehn I fear she might get worse sooner than I think.
      It will only take little or nothing to get such women into drugs. My friend wasn't into drinking before now and No thanks to her cheating horseband who is the cause of this. She finds solace in alcohol whenever she catches him cheating.

7. Replies
    1. Some women are frustrated in their marriages! Alhaji go marry 4 wives and get mistress for outside. E go even flaunt her for their faces.

Some women marry angels that later turn devils! No job, no hope, kids to cater for and an ungrateful husband! What do u expect?

8. Make dem leave weed alone o. The medicinal benefits are highly underrated. It's high time they legalise igbo. Anybody wey wan use am kill himself, let him. Pikin wey go die go still die.

9. It's good for mind blowing and outta ds galaxy sex!

10. Some men take that cough syrup thing too or even the most. I saw one guy gulping a cough syrup he just bought from a chemist, he emptied the thing within few secs. My bro was like na so some dey take get high nau. I was so shocked that day.
    I guess some women take it to free their minds from worries they get at home apart from the sex thing.

11. Maybe for *some depressed and frustrated minds...my opinion though

12. Drug nah but out of fustrastion maybe due to marriage or hardship

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Those stuff is rare to see down here though......

14. Peer pressure is the no1 reason why people take. Drugs, I had a lot of pressure during my uni days, most people including my roommate succumbed at one point and are still hooked till date (their lips black pass Ghanaian vegetable soup), but not me that have natural highness, if I high join this one I go disintegrate be that, I'm resistant to peer pressure, Parents need to monitor and counsel they kids more

15. But even in the U.S., cannabis is gradually being utilised for medicinal purposes... http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2014/07/23/back-pain-natural-remedies.aspx.
    There is also talk about trials for cancer treatment.

As usual, we will end up exporting our resource cheaply and importing the finished product at 100 times the export price like we've been doing with oil, cocoa and others.

16. Na wa,thought it was just to make someone high,never knew it enhances sex.

17. Those that tow that path do so because they want to, or don't want to fight it.

Nobody who really wants to stop abusing substances fail.
    I've seen many instances, so don't understand these cheating and unemployment excuses.

I suppose what we see in movies don't help matters.

18. Am a married woman, and I smoke weed occassionally, helps calm the nerves and i usually have d best bang after it. The effect is mind blowing.
    is not necessary u like it, but it works for me and my bobo.

1. And that is how people rather than relying on the true source of all good things - GOD
      Start to justify ADDICTIONS!

19. U don't need to be told, the best sex is after taking weed that nigga will never leave you for no other..or try monkey tail too if ya head carry am..

20. Na so. Ur head dey game. Luv u for that.

21. na wao nothing we no go hear, so married women de take drug for stupid reasons.