According to Daily Mail, A 43-year-old woman has given birth to her own grandchildren. She successfully became a surrogate mother to twins on behalf of her infertile daughter.
She struck an extraordinary deal with her London-based daughter and son-in-law to help them become parents. But the birth will spark an outcry among religious groups and reignite the debate about the booming fertility industry.
Reproductive ethics campaigners reacted with shock - questioning how the children would cope with the bizarre circumstances of their birth. The grandmother, who lives in Gujarat, India, agreed to act as a surrogate after her daughter and son-in-law failed to find anyone in Britain who was prepared to carry their babies. The embryo was implanted in the woman's womb last year and she gave birth to a healthy boy and girl yesterday.
Today the young London couple - who spent four years searching in vain for a surrogate in the UK - were said to be "ecstatic" at finally becoming parents. The grandfather of the twins said: "Everyone is so overjoyed. We are all so happy." Dr Nayana Patel, the Indian IVF specialist behind the birth, said: "They are very, very happy. They don't feel there is anything wrong with what has happened. They wanted children so badly and could not find anyone else to help them." Although the young woman and her husband were able to use IVF treatment to produce embryos, she could not carry the babies.
This is because she suffers from Rokitansky syndrome - a rare congenital condition that causes the uterus to develop abnormally. Decision backed by fertility doctors The couple, who live in Ilford, made the decision with the backing of Dr Patel, a private fertility doctor in Gujarat, where they have relatives. Dr Patel said she had encouraged the couple to ask the young woman's own mother to be a surrogate, and then helped persuade the older woman.
Na wah oh! Members of same families now acting as surrogates? Dang!
Wouldn't It be very difficult for these children to come to terms with their situation?
na wa o, i can do it for any of my. loving family sha, but to God be the glory... we have too many babies in our wombs! none has ever been barren in my family
ReplyDelete...when a blog name contains the 8 parts of speech#
Deletelol
DeleteWow! Thats........ Nothing to say. #awkward
ReplyDeleteKai.
ReplyDeleteNa wah ooooo.
Can't deal..
Serious issue...
She's not 2 blame, she cudnt find a surrogate mother, but then those kids need 2 b prepared 4 wat dey myt face in future
ReplyDeletePlease where can I find a reputable eye clinic in Abuja, central area?
DeleteHmnnnnn nawa oooooo. OBIAROBIGUOLOME
ReplyDeleteYea stealla,I prefer it to a stranger.
ReplyDeleteBut how is this awkward?
DeleteThe kids have no ties whatsoever to the granny other than that of a grandmother to her grandkids.
Being a surrogate is like being an oven.....eggs and sperMs will be gotten from the couple and d grand mother's womb will be used.
Abeg, congrats to the new parents
a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
ReplyDelete.
This is so damn awkward i swear...... Congrats to them though..... #NowPlaying>> kogbagidi: mayano....
But it's better than nothing Na. My 2cents sha.
ReplyDeletelove of a mother
ReplyDeleteHope grandma don't do funny thing in future, like Claiming the children .
ReplyDeleteThis is second time am hearing it.
ReplyDeleteNa wa...they r nt even helping by making it public knowledge
DeleteHian!! They would have used someone else na
ReplyDeleteI prefer this to having a total stranger as surrogate.
ReplyDeletePrecisely I would rather a family member too. Stella wentin dey dere nah. Haba y are u saying it like it's some kind of a taboo. I would gladly be a surrogate my sister.
DeleteIt's ok provided it's not d mothers eggs but her daughters own.
ReplyDeleteThis gist is some how.
ReplyDelete1st of, the couple claim to have been trying to conceive for years
2ndly we are being told she has rokitansky syndrome!!! How den was she planning on conceiving without a uterus or even a vagina opening in most cases?
Na waa o.
Is it a taboo? I really dnt know neither do we.
I just feel we Africans are too religious and as such get clouded with our stance.
Only God knows and can judge.
As for d kids,they'd get use to it with time albeit might even have a psychological consequence on them.
I feel mayer rokitansky kuster hauser syndrome needs to be given more awareness than it has.
This syndrome abounds within and isn't far fetched,althoug rare bt it does occur.
In 2012 a woman came to d hospital back complaining of not menstruating,dt she's dating bt she and her boify haven't had sex bt are waiting till their wedding 9t and all bt feels it wld mar her chances of giving birth in d future.
Na so i say mk i get to work and examine her,lo and behold,d lady had no vagina opening. I was ecstatic,you know y? Cos I finally got to see this syndrome iv often read about for years.
D problem now became how to explain to her although I had to ask if she has never noticed anything odd bout her perineum,babe said no ooo.
Omo i had to tell her to come with her boify cos I need to counsel them both
Weird... How can someone not have a vagina opening and she isnt aware she dosnt have it? Am freaked out just by imagining something like that. Doctors and medical practitioners see things sha.
DeleteWhy would she come with boyfriend. He's not her husband.
DeleteA boyfriend or fiancé is not d same thing as HUSBAND.
DeleteThat's a privilege information of doc/px na im u wan cary tel 'boify'.
Hmmmm ur own personal profesional ethics I bow o.
Y u no give her written report n explen in ur best. Leave d rest to her. Pls next time no becom enthusiastic over estatic. Did u perform d VE or sighting alone witout a female presence? We Nigerians don't know our rights. U wud ve sent her to a radiologist/sonographer, on sighting, they wud make their report. All on records to corroborate urs.
Hmmmm
ReplyDeleteStrange...
Who am I to judge?
HmMnnnn Nawa ooooo. OBIAROBIGUOLOME.
ReplyDeleteMust dey be told how dey were birthed? Afterall sisters help out, what diff does it make if its d mother???
ReplyDeleteVery interesting
ReplyDeleteNa wah o.
ReplyDeleteHummmm
ReplyDeleteDid anyone think years back that it was possible to fertilise eggs outside d human body? Or to choose the sex of d child u want and "grow" d child outside d body? Or that someone else can carry ur seed (sperm n eggs complete) in dem and have kids that are 100% urs? World is evolving, it'll be come a normal thing soon enough. The kids will get over/used to it.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations to them, let people talk jare. I don't see anything wrong in the mum trying to help her daughter. My opinion anyways.
ReplyDeleteEh..
ReplyDeleteUnbelievable!
Wonders of the end time
ReplyDeleteCrazy world we live in
ReplyDeleteOoooooooh my...!
ReplyDeleteMotherly luv or wot?
This life enh
Hmnnnn!This one no follow abeg! That means the twins supposed mum is actually their sister. WTF!
ReplyDeleteHow is she their sister? It not her eggs that were fertilized. Her son-in-law didn't have sex with her either. She was just a surrogate, and I'm still here wondering what is wrote with that. Her daughter and son-in-law's eggs were fertilized and put into her uterus. She was just the oven, so......?
DeleteY am I not surprise? I will bang my mother in law if I were in d same situation. Its just for procreation na, no string attach. I might close my eyes while doing it sha coz i would rather have an imaginary pix of wia my wify came from.
ReplyDeleteNo banging involved horny u!
DeleteAbeg no vex oh! You sure say you read the story at all? Ok wait a minute! I get it! You read it but you couldn't comprehend it hence your comment.
DeleteMy advise, next time when you don't seem to understand this type of comprehension after reading, pls give it to someone beside u to read and explain to you. Or better still to interpret in a language you will understand. Hian!
The grandmother is 43 years old? She's young.Her daughter should be in her twenties. Hmmmmmm.
ReplyDeleteOooooooh my...!
ReplyDeleteSooner will nt find bareness in *rich man's dictionary*
Anyway money does everything.
Nothing wrong with this joor.
ReplyDeleteThe grandmother is only a carrier.
The egg and sperm belongs to the couple.
Exactly what I wanted to type. I don't see any moral or ethical issues in this case
DeleteThings we do for love
ReplyDeleteEven sisters act as surrogate for each other. .. I've heard of a twin acting as a surrogate for her other one. ..
ReplyDeleteOMG..
ReplyDeleteUnbelievable!
Strange.
ReplyDeleteVery strange.
DeleteI pass.
To be honest, I really don't see any situation there. If I were the womans mum I will do the same for my child. The granny will even be happy to have grand kids. Alot of couples suffer from infertility, if being a surrogate will put a smile on other's face.....then its a good idea. The kids will adjust to it with time. Its their mums egg and their dads sperm so na their mama born them
ReplyDeleteTo be honest, I really don't see any situation there. If I were the womans mum I will do the same for my child. The granny will even be happy to have grand kids. Alot of couples suffer from infertility, if being a surrogate will put a smile on other's face.....then its a good idea. The kids will adjust to it with time. Its their mums egg and their dads sperm so na their mama born them
ReplyDeleteIs ok 4 them white!
ReplyDeleteImagine push her own daughter frm her toto....she will be so attached to the child.
Oyibo shall..
The love of a mother for her child is all I see
ReplyDeleteAm indifferent to this, not sure its such a bad thing. A surrogate mother can be anyone. Its not the granny's eggs or anything. And this way they get to save lots of money. Hian, what do i know sef.
ReplyDeletePeople don't know what surrogate means? Was it her eggs? If it wasn't then they should Stfu!
ReplyDeleteKratos
There's nothing new the white people want to do again.To them,anything goes ni.
ReplyDeleteEMMBEN
ReplyDeleteI wish it can happen in Nigeria.
I see nothing wrong with this
ReplyDeleteCongrats to them
This is completely strange..
ReplyDeleteSeen
ReplyDeleteGot u Stella. You go girl
ReplyDeleteI'm feeling so angry and disappointed,
ReplyDeleteImagine after all the sweats and pains one pass tru to look for clients, at the d end of the day you are not paid your monthly commision and allowances.
I just found out today that our branch manager is the man behind the non payment of my money for the past three months. God why are men dis wicked
I saw on Wazobia TV this morning and was both confused and happy...
ReplyDeleteWetin I no go hear
ReplyDeleteI hope there's nothing wrong with me cos I really don't see what the fuss is all about.
ReplyDeleteI personally would prefer a blood relative being a surrogate if I ever needed that (hopefully not by God's Grace) and the closer the blood relationship, I believe the better.
I think the couple were lucky to have the wife's mom able and willing to help.
I've seen a case on BBc lifestyle or so where a girl did same for her twin sister.
There is nothing wrong with you.
DeleteI will so prefer my blood to do this for me.
Like the couple are so lucky!
Even the Granny was able to use it to help herself medically. It is a win-win situation here.
I think that this is awesome and safer.. Yes! Knowing that your own person is the one carrying your child and there is no way that her mother would change her mind about giving the children back to their parents unlike those random people that one don't know who might just get too emotionally attached to the babies and then refuse to give them back to their parents who paid them.
ReplyDeleteBesides I think that other grandmothers who are capable of carying a child to a full term should help their children wether son or daughter. It's wonderful to help somebody to create a life, it's a great way of going into the world to multiply.
The kind of things you hear happening in india eh!...hmmm
ReplyDelete**vianson**
What situation? Nothing wrong with this, Stella are you sure you understand what surrogate means?
ReplyDeleteOge insult yourself. ..kpalikwa onwe gi
DeleteExactly, I don't really think that Stella and just like most people really understand what surrogacy means. The granny is just like a 'rented oven' cos the daughter cannot carry them. The eggs and sperms are from the couple. Bikoo it is not a rocket science oooo! Congrats to the family! Its a win win situation for them!
DeleteI think I actually prefer this
ReplyDeleteThe keyword is 'they are happy to be parents'
ReplyDeleteRented oven or not,whoever carries a child for 9months feels a bond with that child.it is easy to become a rented oven for someone you will never see again but it wont be easy with a child you will watch everyday......That child will bond with the mother unless they move miles away and do not see often.
ReplyDeletemy two cents.