Monday, September 07, 2015

Legal Remedies For Delayed Flights

Air travellers in Nigeria oftentimes have been cheated by airline operators by delays without explanation, loss of baggage and unruly behaviour from both on-ground and cabin crew members just to name a few. Most Nigerians go through these hurdles everyday without the simplest apology from the airlines.

Many airline passengers are not conscious of the fact that they can be helped by the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) when airlines infringe on their rights especially issues regarding delayed flights.

For a passenger who has booked a flight departing and landing within the domestic territory of Nigeria and has confirmed reservation on the flight and also check in at the scheduled time or no later than 1 hour before departure time is protected by Part 19 of the NCAA Consumer Protection Regulations which provides for Passengers' Rights and Responsibilities and Airlines’ Obligations to Passengers. It addresses consumer protection issues, including, compensation for denied boarding, delays and cancellations of flights.

For domestic flights, when an operating air carrier reasonably expects a flight to be delayed beyond its scheduled time of departure, it shall provide the passengers with reason(s) for the delay within 30 minutes after the scheduled departure time and the assistance of:

(i) After  two hours, refreshments such as water, soft drinks, confectioneries / snacks and access to telephone calls, SMS and E-mails.

(ii) Beyond two hours, immediate reimbursement of flight fare in cash.

(iii)    Between the hours of 10pm till 4am, or at a time when the airport is closed at the point of departure or final destination, the assistance of a meal, hotel accommodation and transport between the airport and place of accommodation (hotel or other accommodation) must be provided.
Aside the immediate reimbursement in cash, the passenger can claim from 25% of the flight fare as compensation.

Complaint Procedure
Every airline shall have a designated officer for the purpose of receiving and resolving complaints from its passengers. Such designated officers may liaise with the Authority where necessary.

A Passenger may make a complaint with the Authority against an airline in relation to the breach of air passenger rights as provided in the Regulations by filling and submitting a Complaint Form(available online and at all airports), after the consumer must have notified the air carrier of such a breach and the complaint remains unresolved.

A complaint shall be made in writing or electronically and transmitted to the Authority.

Every complaint shall be accompanied by:

(i) A copy of the airline ticket (where applicable);
(ii) A copy of the letter to the air carrier stating a claim for breach of air passenger rights;
(iii) Any response or responses or correspondence thereto;
(iv) Any other relevant document(s).

If the Consumer Protection Directorate of the NCAA rejects your review, you may refer the matter to the Consumer Protection Council (CPC). Finally, if the CPC fails to uphold your complaint, you may take the matter to Federal High court. 

The airlines and operators have responsibilities to make sure that the service they provide is of quality. When next your flight is delayed simply smile back to the bank, it is very easy.

By SOGO AKINOLA

45 comments:

1. This can only happen outside naija.

The money alone wey I go take type documents and fuel/transport fare to waka all the waka and time wey I go waste for come tomorrow and all I'll jejely sit in my house.

Nothing works in this obodo nigeria jor

2. Hmm! Faulty plane go begin enter sky. Will airlines like arik agree to refund money? They'll rather die on the line on that day.

3. Stella this information is displayed at the local Airport (MM1), but who implements it???!??
      We know how to pass laws in Nigeria but nobody cares to implement them.

The last time Aero delayed my flight for about 2 hours, we the passengers had to harass them before they provided refreshments to calm us down. But the refreshments were the same cake and juice box they give inflight so no one was interested.... But they listened to us.

4. Hmmm. I know wetin my eye see for that naija airport when I was leaving Nigeria with the family. Ours wasn't as bad a a woman with a baby.. heat nearly killed us on the tarmac and there was no explanation as to why the air wasn't put on. No remorse or apology. We complained tire, for where? Grammar no do the trick.. we have a long way to go.

2. Arik air Una dey hear so??? yeye airline

3. Oh wow! Thanks Mr. Sogo for d enlightenment, knowledge is power. We no sabi b4

4. Ok
    This is for regular fliers na
    Not once a year like us

5. Change has come... Hope the system works..

6. Oriegwu...
    This cannot work in Nigeria...
    Air peace is the best!...

1. So I heard about air peace though I've not used it.

2. For where, air peace delayed my flight during xmas biko

3. for now, Air Peace is the best...

4. Lol @ Air piece being the best. Well maybe for now, at least. Rate them again after about 5 yrs in operation.

7. Long story. All these are easier said than done.

8. Replies
    1. Sounds nice but naija factor wud surely mess dis up

9. Stella as if you know it, Arik Air are frustrating people this morning. Not even an explanation, people are stranded at their terminal not even an explanation from them. What a rubbish. Must it be Arik? Other Airlines are fully booked by now.

10. This na story for the gods Biko, lmao

11. This is good information. no knowledge is lost

12. On top domestic flight??? No time for this long process...

13. ok. noted. saved too. to be utilized when i reach d level.

14. This one will not work in this country. We lack manners and courtesy in dealing with issues. Arik that will serve you water once its 6pm like na dem know your tummy pass yourself.

15. My problem is not even flight delay. My problem is safety of these airlines, I just SMH for these airlines. To the extent where domestic air travel I don't even want to do again. My fiancé lives and works in kaduna, how will I drive all the way there. I normally visit once a month but since dat bristow airline crashed along with the kaduna one, I'm not sure I can handle my heart beating on a flight. My fiance had to do the last visit, but he's busier than me since I own my own biz. When he was leaving and said am I coming during sala end of month. I say I no sure o, I no fit die for man wey never marry me. My family is just 2kids abeg. And men of Nways leave dem too long, na trouble you dey find. Nigeria pls do smthn about airline safety, we have lost so many young souls that wld have been the leaders of tomorrow.

16. Arik get ready to be sued. That should improve the system tho.

17. So has this rule been operational or they are just including it in d NCAA rules?
    Sounds very interesting dou,cant wait for the next airline that will offend me#grins#

1. I'm sure it's been there but no enforcement. Passengers too no get energy to dey pursue dem up and down. Now wey sai baba dey, people r seating up.

18. Abeg make we hear word, will it still change the delayed flight??? Submitting a complaint doesn't guarantee that the issue would be resolved..... For now they know what the airlines are doing,... Abeg

19. Aero Contactractors take note o... Am definitely coming for u guys.. Jus delay my flight again.. Una go hear am...

1. Aero compensates. Aero complies with regulations seriously. As soon as this bill was passed, all ground staff & station managers were briefed.
      Aero is a well structured company wey no get power for wahala. How do u think they've survived thus far in without political godfathers?
      I'm not saying the company is perfect o. But in comparism with others (not d baby airlines) dem dey try.

20. all dis long process??? ayaf tayad alrdy*side-eyes*

21. Sogo, thank you for this! Absolutely enlightening, it feels refreshing to know that when push comes to shove, there are some laws to protect us. Weldone

22. We hardly enforce laws in Nigeria. We were given a free return ticket, food and accommodation when our flight was cancelled in London by Arik, the fear of EU laws was the beginning of wisdom wish naija airline will fear our laws/implementation. Can't wait to use mine